Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: World News Headlines Today - 6/1/2016

Wednesday, January 06, 2016

World News Headlines Today - 6/1/2016

Good Morning...First Wednesday in January 2016 and the news is as bad as it was in the last days of 2015...na wah!

THE CABLE

*Kano preacher to die by hanging for 'blaspheming' Prophet Mohammed

*PDP: EFCC under orders to poison Metuh

*Shi'ite women accuse soldiers of rape

*Dokpesi's son takes gift to Buhari in Aso Rock

*EFCC grills PDP spokesman, Metuh

*I'm not in Nigeria to negotiate IMF loan, says Lagarde

*PMB: Ministers will account for every govt kobo

*Lassa fever kills 5 in Taraba, Rivers

*FFK to Buhari: I respect your office but I'll never bow to you

*Refineries now producing 6.76m litres of petrol daily, says NNPC

*Weaker oil prices, slightly stronger naira' Nigeria's economy on first trading day

*Headies to 'address' destruction of valuables by Olamide's YBNL

*Kano Pillars sack 10 'unproductive' players

*Mourinho will replace Zidane if he fails, says Calderon

*PDP beating drums of war in Bayelsa, says APC

*PDP: Expect 'legitimate anger' if Bayelsa rerun is rigged

*Lagos population 'rises by 85 people per hour

*Obaigbena to EFCC: We didn't know compensations were paid from arms budget

*I am still Abia state governor, says Ikpeazu

*BBOG group to storm villa again for Chibok girls

*Sylva 'using Buhari's name to intimidate INEC

*No time to waste, says new army commander in Borno

*Hope rises for Nigeria as oil price jumps following Saudi Arabia-Iran tensions

*Shi'ia violence: Saudi, Bahrain, UAE, Sudan cut ties with Iran

DAILY TRUST

*Bayelsa guber poll: PDP asks Buhari to steer clear

*APC raises alarm over PDPs alleged plots to scare voters

*Why Senate insists on buying cars - Ndume

*Mass decamping to APC a blessing - Rep Fagen Gawo

*Rep insists PDP subverted due process in Taraba

*Food processing can earn huge forex for Nigeria

*Customs deploys 11 boats to fight piracy, smugglers

*Eagles beat University of Pretoria in pre-CHAN friendly

*No player has automatic shirt for Rio Olympics- Siasia

*Super Eagles battle Palancas Negras on Wednesday

THE NATION

*Anenih writes EFCC on how he shared N260m

*Court restricts Bello to hospital

*Alaafin installs Aregbesola as Omoluabi of Yoruba

*Fire destroys 52 shops in Ibadan, Ado-Ekiti markets

*Buhari to IMF: we're looking inwards to fix economy

*Ezekwesili urges Buhari to pardon convicted soldiers

*Maltreatment: Turkish Airlines compensates passengers

*Tension in Bayelsa over rerun poll

THIS DAY

*Delta Police Ban Public Processions, Demonstrations

*LASG Commences Transformation Of Oshodi Market, Bus-Stops

*Kogi Workers Accuse Wada over Salaries

*CBN's Forex Policy Gets Backing

*Share of World Living in Poverty to Fall Below 10%, Says World Bank

*IG Prohibits Officers from Illegally Accessing Peoples' Personal Mobile Phones

*Arms Deal: Haliru Bello Docked for Corruption Charges

*Disquiet in Oyo over Change in Educational Policy

*Haliru Bello Arraigned, Metuh Quizzed by EFCC

*We Executed Terrorists, Not Ordinary Criminals, Says Saudi Govt

*Buhari Didn't Withdraw 2016 Budget, Say Presidency, Senate

*Ooni Commences Thank You Visits Today

*Group Urges Dele Momodu, Davido, Others to Protect Imade from Media Warfare

*Ayade Locks out Commissioners for Lateness

*Kidnap: Doctors Protest in Asaba

BBC

*North Korea announces H-bomb test

*Protest over Cologne attacks on women

*Drowned man put wife's head in concrete

*Canada stable fire kills 43 horses

*Bodies washed on to Lesbos shoreline

*UK bookseller among Hong Kong missing

*Indian boy's record-breaking cricket match

*Russian stars sing for Syria troops near Latakia

*Charlie Hebdo lives on but 'in darkness

*Brotherly love: Colombian switched twins pull together

*Ghana's Boateng returns to AC Milan

*Sudan named as 2016 Cecafa Cup hosts

*Exercise therapy for prostate cancer
Aneurysm screening "helps thousands"

*MP fears Hinchingbrooke 'takeover

*The bionic eye that can restore sight

THE INDEPENDENT

*'People are dying every day': Tearful Obama makes emotional plea for gun
control

*Mayor of Cologne: Women need 'code
of conduct' to avoid assaults

*Jeb Bush blames Mexicans for his
daughter’s drug addiction

*Watson leads backlash against Corbyn after sacking of shadow

*Isis scientists developing new weaponry that could be 'capable of  shooting down passenger  jets'

*Isis murder journalist - then  pose as her to entrap other  opponents

*US special forces  'killed' and  helicopter shot down  in Afghanistan

*Tory ministers will be allowed to campaign to leave the EU

*Three bodies found at home of missing EastEnders  actress

*Guardiola reveals he  has had ‘several  offers’ from England

*It's official: Adele is more  popular than football - and  here's why...

*Isis 'loses 40% of Iraq  territory and 20% in Syria'

*NRA tweets image of  bullets next to  politicians who  backed gun control

*Transgender woman  accused of raping a  teenager before  transitioning

*Kurdish protesters  storm and occupy  Tory campaign HQ in London

*Artist accused of 'poverty  safari' for spending a year in  Glasgow

*Video shows huge  chunks of ice fall off  roof on to passers-by

*SWAT team storms  room to rescue  woman and 11  children held  hostage

*UK should work with  Saudis 'privately',  says Foreign Office  minister

*UK should resettle child  refugees 'as matter of  urgency', say MPs

ENTERTAINMENT

*Jay Z promises to make Harry  Styles 'the biggest artist in the  world' 'The Indipendent

*A man with no arms learned to master the guitar with his feet - Business Insider

*Actor: I got locked out of hotel room while naked - CNN

*Adele: More Than Words - Huffington Post

*Adorable photos of Wizkid, Tekno, Obafemi Martins, Reekado Banks and many extremely sexy ladies having fun at Quilox Ultra Pool Party - Splendor Magazine

*Anne Hathaway announces pregnancy, scoops paparazzi - CNN

*Ben Carson's Wife: Ben Delivered Our Son With a Bobby Pin - Gawker

*Bill Cosby: U.S. judge orders deposition of entertainer's wife kept under seal - Pulse

*Camille Cosby's lawyers: Stay or delay deposition - CNN

*Cynthia Morgan flaunts her new Range Rover

*Davido fights BabyMama, Dele Momodu - Nigerian Pilot

*Davido's baby-mama, Sophia Momodu contests 'cannabis' medical report

**Once an usher, Juliet Ibrahim will host 2015 Glo-CAF Awards. 'The Cable

SPORTS

*3 talking points as Liverpool move one step closer to Wembley cup final - Yahoo

*Amutu: I'm not far from my Arsenal dream - Nigerian Pilot

*Atletico Madrid president apologises to Rayo fans for outburst - Goal

*Bale 'Unhappy' At Benitez Sacking - Leadership

*Calabar remains venue for Sports Festival 'Minister - New Telegraph

*Carroll wants top-four wins for Tottenham - Goal

*Challenge for Zidane: This time, win as a coach - Guardian

*CHAN Eagles win 3-0 in first tune-up match - The Cable

*Come Get Me, Gaurdiola Calls To EPL Clubs - Leadership

*Delta Government names Moses Etu as Warri Wolves chairman - Goal

*Eagles battle Angola in Pretoria - Vanguard

*Eagles beat University of Pretoria in pre-CHAN friendly - Daily Trust

*Eguavoen to NFF: Get Tunisia, Algeria friendly for Eagles - New Telegraph

*FIFA Ethics Committee Recommends 9-year Ban On Jerome Valcke - Leadership

*Gerrard sad to see Benitez sacked at Madrid - Goal

*Glo-CAF Awards: Nigeria U-23, U-17, Amuneke, Etebo, Osimhen in line for honours - The Sun

*Guardiola confirms he  wants to manage in the  Premier League 'The Independent

35 comments:

1. PDP asino gini?

Poison Metuh kwa?

I totally refuse to believe that.

2. Seems the Lassa fever is slowly spreading before it can be contained.

Be careful, people.
    Any little symptom, as little as a rise in temperature, please run to the hospital o.

Because when one starts bleeding from all orifices, well, only a miracle can save them then.

God help us in this country.

1. Run to hospital when we have Docctor SDK? Lol

2. Lmao

Jasmine, you no well o.

3. 85 people per hour!

Maynne!

That's one place I can't live.

Grossly overpopulated.

I wonder what the air there is like.

4. Et tu Tony Anenih?!!

* smh *

Issoriat!

5. What's the use of talking about gun control now?

It wasn't nipped in the bud,and now everyone has a kind of gun.

6. This FFK has mind o!
    Anyways it's the era of democracy...

Dokpesi's son takes gift to Buhari? For what? Is it his birthday or a way of buying his love? Issorai.

I don't trust those pple in EFCC, it's so obvious they are working in favour of buhari and not according to constitution. MO

Please o is Wike still the governor of River state?

1. If you ask us,who we go ask?

Shebi he swore in a female judge the other day.

He's probably still sitting tight in the government house, same as Ikpeazu; from the headlines.

Lol.

This country is a circus, aswear!

2. Wike and. Ikpeazu r still governors till re-run

7. Kano preacher to die by hanging for 'blaspheming' Prophet Mohammed ( in 2016?)

*Shi'ite women accuse soldiers of rape (shut up, liars. y'all look so dirty and ugly)
    *It's official: Adele is more popular than football - and here's why...(What a lie)

8. ISIS is gaining strength and brutally by the day, and nobody seems to be able to do anything about it.

9. today's news is really bad,God help us

10. I would have thought that Momodu, as the elderly person in this whole messy drama, would have known better, to stop this public ish at some point, seeing as an innocent baby is involved.

Adim very surprised.

11. Nawa , not really a good news.

12. Good for Juliet Ibrahim.

Same way Kim was once Paris Hilton's PA.

Look at her now.

Change is constant, people.

13. I know next to nothing about football, so...

14. Good morning my good people . Tnx Stella for the infor.

15. Obama abeg spare me d tears jare!! Wat av u done for d black in ur tenure? Wat reforms did u put in place against d blacks dt were jst killed unjustly? Honestly water plenty for ur eyes #kmt

16. Dopkesi son taking gift to Buhari in Aso rock what for?

17. Dopkesi son taking gift to Buhari in Aso rock what for?

18. Stella pls post my comment

19. Good morning. So Anenih follow chop the money, na wa o. Metuh oya, that your mouth weh deh run like open tap go hear am. Dokpesi, na now day break abi? Zidane, the job ahead is not bread and butter o, Davido and his babymama saga continues, oh dear, Isis are upgrading, Lord have mercy. Obama, I can feel your pains and emotions. Ffk your time is coming

20. muslims can kill each other for all i freaking care.....violent controversial religion

21. I respect ur office but will never bow to you - FFK alias James Bond.

Lol

1. No be small James Bond.

Guy keeps running his mouth like a leaky faucet.

22. Too much sad news,God help us.

23. Sad news here and there. Imagine.