Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Buhari To Sack Finance Minister, Education Minister, Lai Mohamed in Cabinet Reshuffle (?)

Wednesday, March 02, 2016

Buhari To Sack Finance Minister, Education Minister, Lai Mohamed in Cabinet Reshuffle (?)

Before you start reading,I am sure you saw that question Mark in bracket up there and know what it means when attached to a headline?......Dont quote me!

President Muhammadu Buhari is poised to effect some changes in the federal cabinet in the next couple of weeks. The president is said to be under intense pressure from some ‘powerful’ forces, including his party, the All Progressives Congress (APC), to “undertake a cleansing of the Federal Executive Council (FEC),”

As part of the impending changes, the Minister of Finance, Mrs. Kemi Adeosun and her foreign affairs counterpart, Mr. Geoffrey Onyeama, may be moved to other ministries while Lai Mohammed will likely be replaced as Information minister

Also, the tripod of the Works, Housing and Power Ministry under former Lagos State Governor, Mr. Babatunde Fashola, may be split into three. Besides, the Transportation Ministry under Mr. Rotimi Amaechi might also be split into Transport and Aviation Ministries.Senator Hadi Sirika may fully man the Aviation Ministry if it is eventually severed from transportation.

For Fashola, whose volume of work is considered ‘unwieldy,’ he has already engaged the man who served as his Works Commissioner in Lagos State, Toyin Hamzat, as his Special Adviser on Works, while equally appointing Faud Oki as Adviser on Housing and Urban Development.
Oki served Fashola’s government in Lagos. Specifically, a source privy to the move hinted that the Finance Minister is seen as being ‘overwhelmed’ by her position and may give way for someone from the South- East considered more ‘grounded’ in economic and fiscal matters.

But it could not be confirmed if the plan to move the Finance Minister to another ministry has anything to do with the cold war between her and the Comptroller-General of the Nigerian Customs Service, Col. Hameed Ali (rtd). Contrary to established practice where the CG of Customs reported to the Finance Minister, the former military administrator of Kaduna State reports directly to the Presidency.

The Finance Minister has had it rough with about three ministers whose suggestions on the possible solutions to stem the nose-diving economy, especially the weak naira, have been interpreted as undermining her job. She was also said to have had an altercation with Transport Minister, Amaechi, while on a presidential delegation to China.

Adeosun, the immediate past Finance Commissioner in Ogun State, who rode on the back of Governor Ibikunle Amosun to get the ministerial position, is not alone in this category. Onyeama, who mans the Foreign Affairs Ministry, is likely to be affected in the cabinet change.
Already, the president recently appointed a former member of the House of Representatives, Mrs. Abike Dabiri-Erewa, as his Senior Special Assistant on Foreign Affairs. “Truly, both finance and foreign affairs ministers are having issues. The expected changes may affect them,” a minister told New Telegraph.

The education minister, Mallam Adamu Adamu, has also come under heavy criticism that he lacks the requisite knowledge and experience to supervise the ministry compared to a renowned educationist and former vice chancellor, Prof. Anthony Anwuka, who is junior minister in the ministry. Adamu is a journalist by profession.
Though it could not be independently confirmed if some ministers will be dropped, feelers are strong that the number of ministers of state might be reduced in the event that the president bows to the pressure currently on him as some of them are likely to man the split ministries under the envisaged regime.

On the delegation to the president, according to the source, were two former governors, now senators, a serving northern governor and two traditional rulers. The source said: “We cannot pretend that all is well, especially when there are brazen acts that can bring disrepute to the government of President Muhammadu Buhari.

“From what we have discovered, the need for the president to reorganise his cabinet is becoming increasingly necessary by the day, particularly when there are signs that some incompetent persons have found their ways to the cabinet.
“This is not to disparage or denigrate persons, but the truth need to be told this time that there are some round pegs in square holes and the need to arrest or stem this tide is now because, from all indications, if nothing is done now, more issues that will ridicule the president and government are likely to emerge in the next few months.

“For God’s sake, what is a journalist doing as education minister and supervising a professor of education? Is that thinkable at all? And you think people should not talk to the president? “So, the need to urgently do something came up and a few concerned persons had to approach the president to sound him out that something urgent must be done as far as his cabinet is concerned, those found to be incompetent must pave the way for those who can make things happen.

“In fairness to the last administration, aside the plundering of the nation’s finances, it had one of the best economic management team with sound ministers of finance at different times. “We are in an era that only ideas can make things work and, from our assessment of some of the ministers, they are just filling slots without inputs from them and we think such era is gone.

“It is our duty to let him know and it is his responsibility to do the needful because the whole world is watching us as a nation as we are battling with our economy and the security challenges.” It was learnt that Adamu may be moved to man the Information Ministry while Lai Mohammed moves to a new ministry.

***Interesting but i thought some people wanted to reduce the amount of ministers?Or did i not read it well when it was said?why are they splitting them now?I wonder how in heavens name anyone could have thought that one man can 'man' two ministries in the first place......Mscheeeew!!!

45 comments:

1. Confused government

May God help us

2. I bet you didn't even read your own post. If you did, how does splitting ministries and sending minister of states to man those new ministries equate to increasing number of ministers? I guess you're just being sensational at the expense of truth.

1. And u are being stupid in the name of fanaticism.

3. Lai should go that man has deceived Nigerians alot

4. Who these go help?
    Abeg am more concerned about getting a federal government job..
    Who can help me here biko

5. They have to split the ministries to compensate more people with ministerial positions. Im sure it will be filled by those who lost at the supreme court or their stooges. APC CHANGE

6. It's time for fashola and Co to come after buhari

7. And that's the problem with Nigerians. So a journalist must head information, a medical must head health, a VC must head Education , a scientist must head Science & Tech, a pilot must head Aviation etc? Ministers are ADMINISTRATORS! You don't have to be a teacher to be Minister of Education. Eyitayo Lambo, one of the best ministers of health we ever had wasn't a medical doctor

1. And that's the problem with close minded people like you! How do you preside over what you have no clue about? That a former VC is a subordinate to a journalist as education minister is acceptable? I'm guessing Adamu is your kinsman coz there's no other explanation. One time minister of state for defense under GEJ was a pharmacist & if Nigeria was to go to war, she'll be part of those making decisions for war!!! She further went on to become Aviation Minister. Fashola may have been the CEO of Lagos State but he had commissioners manning state ministries for him & then he's catapulted in Power, Works & Housing as a Lawyer...and those ministeries are expected to work effectively & efficiently? Sai Baba is clowning all of us and sadly we're yet to recognize it

2. Its not a 'must', its just what commonsense dictates.

3. Big bear hugs for u.....

8. Confused government,accidentally discharge government

9. Hahahahahaha. Okay so why do I find this funny? I guess Stella's comment provoked the laughter.
    The game always looks easier when you are not the one on the pitch.
    More grease to your elbow Mr President. Still waiting for the promised "CHANGE".

10. Replies
    1. We are in a digital world and the president need to remove those analog ministers like Lai,agric minister and petroleum minister which is himself.

11. It took Buhari eight (8) months to appoint a journalist to head the ministry of education! I thought Buhari's ass lickers said the waste of time was worth it because he selected the right hands for the job? Why are they realizing now that there are many square pegs in round holes!... Those of us who knew from the onset that Buhari has nothing to offer this country are still watching him with 3D and hoping that he proves us wrong!!!

12. Lol, all I see is more people collecting ministerial salaries

13. Ndi nzuzu! !. The joke is on apc and buhari.

14. Na dem sabi, des days I don't bloody care abt wat Buhari wants to do or is doing.

15. In my Hausa accent...walahi this one na change kwo (for) die! A civilian will be Chief of Army staff in this administration...mark my words. Bunch of egotistical idiots that "rule" by age & tribe

16. After using 3months to select ministers. Mtcheew

17. Well if this speculations are true,

Then I think someone isn't even think at all.

Change agents my ass

18. That fashola job is just too much for one person, he needs to relieved of two

19. They have padded mouths. Dullard vrs the 3 clueless brought into the government.

20. Lmaoooooo...... Naija tire me I swear. They should remove d information guy especially

21. All I can say is; I am looking forward to 2019 when APC will crash out like Naira lol.

Sipping my tea while waiting for 2019.....................................................

22. About time they do away with Liar Mohammed. His lies will sink this Buhari's government. Never at par with his boss. The whole world knew the budget was a disaster. Lying Mohammed was saying it wasn't padded even when Buhari came out to say the budget will be investigated. For Kemi she is clueless no economic policy from her office. Infact everyone appointed by Buhari is a clown. i can do a better job than that liar Mohammed. The 3 post for Fashola too much, i know Buhari was sending a message to Tinubu that he can do whatever he likes. Move Amaechi too. Infact Buhari you need me to structure things for you. Zhara abi what's your name go message your papa say he needs big help. Am willing to help free of charge.
    Stellz this dispensation is in a mess, they dont have a clue on what to do with Nigeria. Nigerians have seen that APC is fake and not the change Nigeria needs, e dey still pain my brothers that voted for Buhari.
    #thatnigerdeltagirl

23. It is ridiculous and unnecessary to instigate that the current Finance Minister; Mrs Kemi Adeosun be sacked from her jurisdiction. She's barely had ample time to utilise her expertise, so why call for her removal? There is no need to bring in sentiment here, give this woman a chance to deliver, period.

24. Dear President Buhari, those that are agitating for a change of our Finance Minister are our your enemies and are up to no good. Invariably, they are insinuating you didn't choose right, which also means you made a bad choice.

25. My fellow Nigerians, this is the strategy of the so called cabals to further destroy our economy. In recent time, we have witness our Naira gradually rising, those who are benefiting from its fall are requesting that the Finance Minister who is working non-stop to regulate our economy to be yanked off; it will not work. Mrs Kemi Adeosun is here to stay to complete and implement the job she started.

26. Why shift the blame of the free of Naira on the present Finance Minister? It shows how uninformed some people are, at least did deep into a matter before you draw conclusions. In fact, I give kudos to Mrs Kemi Adeosun for her tenacity to speedily brace up to the task ahead of her, she has really done well.

27. Why shift the blame of the free of Naira on the present Finance Minister? It shows how uninformed some people are, at least did deep into a matter before you draw conclusions. In fact, I give kudos to Mrs Kemi Adeosun for her tenacity to speedily brace up to the task ahead of her, she has really done well.

28. All these speculations are unnecessary; Buhari cannot sack or move Adeosun to another ministry because he knows why he chose her in the first place. She served well as the commissioner of finance in Ogun state; she is well experienced and she knows what she is doing. So, she definitely cannot be one of the ministers Buhari will consider moving to another ministry; maybe that’s what you are wishing for, but it can’t happen. Adeosun is definitely the woman for the job as minister of finance for this country.

29. People likes saying rubbish. Kemi Adeosun have started well and Nigerians needs to know that She is acting with strategy. Strategy is result oriented and not just a short fix it. It will be a wrong premise to put the whole blame on Kemi Adeosun. She is the right person for the job. Partisan politicians should keep quite.

30. I get annoyed when I seethe works of haters being read on the internet. No matter what they do the light will surely shine. The presence of mrs Kemi Adeosun have made NNPC behave themselve would you believe that even her short time in office, the NNPC have returned 6.3 billion naira to the federation account. Keep the good works Mrs. Adeosun.

31. Kemi Adeosun is definitely stepping on the toes of political godfathers who are promoting corrupt practices. This is the kind of person we want to look at them in the face and say you cannot have your way. She has definitely started well good work ma

32. President Biuhari is too busy to listen to the advise of haters. Corruption is trying to raise its ugly head by fighting back. Kemi Adeosun is the right person for the job. And the way you get to know is by what is going on. When people start clamoring for her removal. It means she is doing everything right.

33. Adegoke Adebolu10 March 2016 at 13:05

The Minister studied at the University of East London. Not Oxford, Cambridge, MIT or Harvard. Her predecessor schooled at MIT. For those of you do not know much about MIT, the university can boast of 80 Nobel Laureates. Nigeria has only one! In America, it seems Presidents go to such schools to look for their best professors to enter their cabinet. I know the University of East London very well, I lived very close to one its campuses as a student in London. I lived close to Stratford. It is not as posh as Imperial College London or Oxford. If this was one of the reasons the Magazine had in mind when it said she was not qualified, then, I think they were not fair to her.