Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: John Fashanu's Daughter Amal Says Some Footballers Are Trapped In A "Dark World"

Tuesday, March 08, 2016

John Fashanu's Daughter Amal Says Some Footballers Are Trapped In A "Dark World"

John Fashanu's daughter has admitted that she knows seven gay Premier League footballers.

But Amal - the niece of Justin  Fashanu, the player who came out before later killing himself - says that they are all trapped in a "dark world".
She believes that top level footballers are still struck by the fear of how people would react to their sexuality.

Amal's uncle Justin, formerly of Nottingham Forest is one of just two footballers, along with former Leeds player Robbie Rogers, to reveal that they are gay in the English senior game.
It was revealed earlier this season that two Premier League footballers, including an England international, are  set to come out as gay in the  near future.

Speaking to BBC Radio 5 Live, Amal said: "I actually know myself of seven. I will never, ever share their details.
"I’m not going to out them because I would never do that.
"You want to be honest, even to help them out, but you just can’t do that. The football world is extremely dark."
Amal believes that part of the problem is the publicity that not only the player will receive if they are to come out, but also their families and those close to them.
She said: "I don’t even want to imagine being a footballer, what it must be like."
In her revealing interview, Amal also admitted the toil that having a footballer father can have on a family.

She says that everyone was vying for a share of her father's attention.
"At times I find myself with a really big wall because you have to protect yourself," she said.
"At the time my dad was  playing for Aston Villa and on Gladiators, one of the biggest shows on a Saturday night.
"He used to come and present prizes at sports day. And I used to try and win them all just so that I could see him for a little while.
"I don’t think people realise how much families of footballers actually suffer.
"My mum would try to protect me. So I wouldn’t find out things. But nowadays, with the internet, all you need to do is type in your own name and you can see it. It’s horrible."

-mirror.co.uk

13 comments:

1. How did she know? Is she doing them also?

2. Life itself ain't fair.
    The Internet World is Cruel.
    The World is soo judgemental.
    And if u try to please people, u wil break.and dat itself wouldn't stil placate dem. So u see? At d end of d day,it's all about YOU.not them.

Be Fair to all.
    Be You.
    Be Happy.
    Do You.
    And leave d Rest to God.

1. Well said, mami! Well said
      The (internet) world is so judgemental that people 've been subjected to living in perpetual fear of other people's tots & opinion over them. We try to make others happy, sometimes, even to d detriment of our own happiness yet.....
      There's a saying dat goes" treat people how u wann be treated" I apply that but well, i give Me a "special treat" cos its all about ME lol - why not? Haters gonn hate anyway!

As for the gay footballers, whether u out them or not, whether they decide to come out or just remain in d closet, peeps will still judge. Be you!
      U re d original version of urself

3. They can't come out coz they r not proud of their sexuality and they know it's wrong. Every Mallam with his kettle sha. They should come out and face it once and for all.
    I hope my darling walcot and Ozil is not among sha

4. After my morning devotion and the next thing i run into is gay talks from a misguided young lady.
    Girl,bye.

1. Fish brain. I swear if you were white, you would be a blond. Did you even read the post at all?

5. football ain't music or movie o, let them come out, I dey wait with battle axe.

nonsense

6. Who she be?
    Y is she in the news.