Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Phone Thief Tells Police That He Derives Pleasure From Stealing...

Thursday, March 10, 2016

Phone Thief Tells Police That He Derives Pleasure From Stealing...

A suspected thief, Babatunde Ibrahim, who allegedly specialises in stealing phones, says he derives pleasure in the act.
The 28-year-old suspect told the police that he had been stealing since his childhood, confessing that he had stolen over 100 phones.

SUSPECTS.

PUNCH Metro learnt that Ibrahim was arrested on Sunday by operatives of Rapid Response Squad, Lagos State Police Command, at the Ikeja Along end of the Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway while he was returning from a burglary in the Ilupeju area of the state.

The suspect told the police that he had entered the building through the balcony door which was left ajar, and stole three phones and other valuables.
Ibrahim said he usually sold the stolen items to Sanni Azeez and Hakeem Kamoru, adding that his targets were mainly motorists trapped in gridlock.

He said, “The act of stealing has become part of me. I am a specialist in burgling people’s houses. I used to gain entrance into any house by breaking the door or cutting window net with a razor blade. I derive pleasure in taking what does not belong to me.”

“Apart from burglary, I also operate during traffic jams, especially on Ikorodu Road, Lagos-Abeokuta Expressway and Apapa-Oshodi Expressway. The last operation I went for was at Ilupeju where luck ran out on me. I stole two Nokia phones, one BlackBerry and other valuables. The receivers of the phones I stole are Sanni (Azeez) and Hakeem (Kamoru). They live on Akala Street, Mushin.”
Our correspondent learnt that Ibrahim’s confession, led to the arrest of the two accomplices.

The RRS, Commander, Olatunji Disu, said his men gave Ibrahim a chase after noticing that his movement was suspicious, adding that he was arrested when he could not give satisfactory answers to questions they asked him.
He said, “We noticed his suspicious movement. He wanted to drop his bag in one corner, but when he found out that we had seen him, he bolted. But we gave him a chase and caught up with him. We conducted a thorough check on his bag where we recovered the stolen items.”

The Lagos State Police Public Relations Officer, SP Dolapo Badmos, said the suspect would be charged to court after the conclusion of investigation.
She said, “The three suspects have been transferred to the Ilupeju Police Station. They will be charged to court.”

Punch reportage

Thieves confessing upandan!!!

19 comments:

1. D same way u should derive pleasure in spending many years in jail bro

2. Kleptomaniac. Be watchful, you have plenty of them around you, some are even close friends.

3. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

4. Stella post exchange rate report nau..

5. He will have more joy in jail

6. Thief
    Thiefer
    Thiefesssssstttttttt

7. Nigerians like stories too much. Good, bad, all kinds of stories.
    Why on earth do you interview thieves?? What do you wanna hear? That he is sorry?? I wouldn't believe him if he said he was sorry anyway, but I completely believe if he says he derives pleasure stealing cos that is far closer to the truth

What you do to a criminal is to lock them up, period
    Lock them up, the society is safer without them
    You can't appeal to the conscience of a criminal
    You can't really get them to be sorry or feel sorry for the people they robbed, raped and killed
    Try interviewing serial rapists, serial killers or terrorists
    They will look you in the face and say they enjoyed slitting the throats of their victims, kidnapping and maiming their victims etc

That's why we have laws. Lock them up in jail. Cos even if he admits to being sorry, as we Nigerians like to hear, then he would be lying, cos he will definitely steal again tomorrow. They're never sorry, dont be fooled. The society is safer when they rot in jail. Let's be a just and not sentimental society

8. Wow plz this guy doesn't have any reason to be on the streets but this is naija they wouud realease him even without rehabilitation.

9. Good for him. The cause of all these is lack of proper parental guidance/upbringing.

10. Your joy shall surely increase while in jail. Enjoy
    Who knows maybe he's even the one that stole my first bb
    I think today's news is all about thieves. Oya bring it on

11. The spirit has 'rooted' all over him, in fact the thieving spirit has unique cell in that guy's body

12. kleptomania.

13. Of course he does. I hope he derives pleasure in his jail term. True.

14. Pleasure qua? Oya start planning to have pleasure behind bars idiota