Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Wellbeing Foundation Africa at United Nations Conference for the Status of Women 2016

Saturday, March 26, 2016

Wellbeing Foundation Africa at United Nations Conference for the Status of Women 2016

Her Excellency Toyin Saraki, Founder of the Wellbeing Foundation Africa,yesterday spoke of the need for legal frameworks to protect the rights of women for a sustainable future at the Women in Sustainable Development: New Legal Frontiers side event at the United Nations Conference for the Status of Women.

“The long-term economic success and wellbeing of nations rest firmly on the shoulders of addressing structural issues of gender parity and equality,” Mrs Saraki said. “The international data speaks for itself.  If we strive for sustainable long-term economic development, then we must take a robust approach to address inequality," she further stated.

In discussion of the recent failure of the Gender and Equal Opportunities Bill in Nigeria last week, Mrs Saraki wryly noted that such an outcome was “Not surprising… [when] only 7 out of the 109 senators were women."

Nevertheless, Mrs Saraki remained optimistic to the future of Nigerian legality with regard to gender, stating, “The narrative on the importance of gender parity to sustainable economic growth and economic success is clear… Let us be smart about enshrining gender equality into all economic legislation, whether it’s a finance bill, or development bill or trade bill.  Let us work together to ensure that gender parity begins to be reflected in the day to day economic work of governments, legislature and judiciary.

Then, gender equality will no longer just be about women’s rights, but will also be about sustainable development and economic success. Cultures, religions, traditions and diversities can all still be upheld in parity, peace and dignity, but economies will not advance if their women cannot advance."
She concluded by stating, “The new legal frontiers for women are actually not new at all, but in fact right in front of us — in every country, whether in the United States of America, or my beloved Nigeria. But they are hidden behind the very dialogue embedded around them. It is therefore imperative that we do more." 

Mrs Saraki’s warm and effusive advocacy was commended by Renee Dopplick, moderator and co-chair of the NGO and Not-for-Profit Organizations Committee of the American Bar Association Section of International Law.

“The remarks are wonderfully written in substance, tone, eloquence, and call to action,” said Ms. Dopplick, “Attendees can relate directly with her in spirit, and be inspired to join in her commitment to a better future.”
Event organisers also thanked the Wellbeing Foundation Africa "for dedicated and ongoing efforts to advancing women’s rights".

15 comments:

1. Let Nigeria just be a better place, that's my prayers.
    Yes, gender equality and all, but truthfully, the same Nigerians shouting this won't vote a woman in to occupy political positions.

Gender equality gender equality, if they say a woman should go and be digging the road the way those Hausa men do, they'll say it's not fair, see what a woman is doing.
    My own is just that we should respect ourselves, stop giving men the right to treat us anyhow especially in marriage.
    If a man touches you, report to the police, take him to court and leave that house for that period.
    It's well.

2. All i see is a beautiful woman well dressed and convered up with out exposing her body parts and still looking kinky and classy with brain too. Nice one ma.

3. This woman don turn to Buhari. Na outside d country dem dey bring solution

4. Gender equity is more realistic than equality! My take as woman. It's just that our men are not men enough. Real man work for his family(wife n kids) and see to their well being. When a woman sees that her children n her matter matters to u, she will leave u to lead n will not have fear for the future. But most men treat women badly. And the instinctive nature in her will want to stand to protect her future as well as her children's

5. Gender equity is more realistic than equality! My take as woman. It's just that our men are not men enough. Real man work for his family(wife n kids) and see to their well being. When a woman sees that her children n her matter matters to u, she will leave u to lead n will not have fear for the future. But most men treat women badly. And the instinctive nature in her will want to stand to protect her future as well as her children's

6. Gender equity is more realistic than equality! My take as woman. It's just that our men are not men enough. Real man work for his family(wife n kids) and see to their well being. When a woman sees that her children n her matter matters to u, she will leave u to lead n will not have fear for the future. But most men treat women badly. And the instinctive nature in her will want to stand to protect her future as well as her children's. For a man that his wife is the one catering for 60% of the family need yet u are not making her happy but u are claiming that u are superior? You are not oo. In short she is superior. If she respect u sef, nah pity. God created women to be helpers in men's burden not the bearer of the burden. If men assume their role as crested by God, women will naturally follow.

7. Gender equity is more realistic than equality! My take as woman. It's just that our men are not men enough. Real man work for his family(wife n kids) and see to their well being. When a woman sees that her children n her matter matters to u, she will leave u to lead n will not have fear for the future. But most men treat women badly. And the instinctive nature in her will want to stand to protect her future as well as her children's. For a man that his wife is the one catering for 60% of the family need yet u are not making her happy but u are claiming that u are superior? You are not oo. In short she is superior. If she respect u sef, nah pity. God created women to be helpers in men's burden not the bearer of the burden. If men assume their role as crested by God, women will naturally follow.

8. Gender equity is more realistic than equality! My take as woman. It's just that our men are not men enough. Real man work for his family(wife n kids) and see to their well being. When a woman sees that her children n her matter matters to u, she will leave u to lead n will not have fear for the future. But most men treat women badly. And the instinctive nature in her will want to stand to protect her future as well as her children's. For a man that his wife is the one catering for 60% of the family need yet u are not making her happy but u are claiming that u are superior? You are not oo. In short she is superior. If she respect u sef, nah pity. God created women to be helpers in men's burden not the bearer of the burden. If men assume their role as crested by God, women will naturally follow.

9. a.k.a EDWIN CHINEDU AZUBUKO said...
    Last comment killed me tor tor....