Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Current Spate Of Violence And Insecurity In The Niger Delta Region

Tuesday, May 31, 2016

Current Spate Of Violence And Insecurity In The Niger Delta Region

It appears the stage is set. The decorations and rehearsals are done and the spectators ready for another round of war games in the Niger Delta.

War drums are beating, the combatants with painted faces and AK 47s have re-emerged from the creeks as threats and posturing from the federal authorities take a more menacing tone everyday. Service chiefs are mobilised to the region, troops remobilised and re-posted to the region even as oil and gas installations are being vandalised and blown up, and the travel advice from the diplomatic missions is a STAY AWAY (Red alert) from the region. 

Welcome, to yet another cycle of militancy and violence in the Niger Delta.

Once again we are faced with the very notion of near collapse of the relative peace in the Niger Delta. We are gravely concerned about the resurgence of violence along the littoral states resulting in the killing of more than 30 persons within the last three months. The recent spate of violence across the country especially in the Niger Delta at this time, is creating a lot of tension in the communities. 

The wanton destruction of lives and property cannot in any way be equated with atonement for any grievance we may want to address as currently canvassed by the new insurrectionist groups in the region. Rising cases of murder, piracy in the creeks, cult related killings, kidnappings, gas & oil pipeline explosions and attacks on citizens both military and civilian is dishonouring the dignity of the victims, their families and are an incalculable loss to the nation as a whole.

These developments give civil society organisations a lot of concern as over 15 years work has been put to sustain peaceful resolution of conflict within the region, appear to be wasted effort. We do recognise and accept that the underlying causes of the militancy in the region have not been addressed. Retrogression into the recent past where armed confrontation led to waste of human lives cannot be a solution at this time or any other time for that matter. We have observed the military/paramilitary operations and activities around and in some communities within the Niger Delta. We have never shied away from calling attention to these deviations from global best practice and rule of engagements. 

The intimidation of terrified members of host communities by both the armed groups and military put the communities in the middle of the conflict, causing widespread displacement of households, leading to all sorts of human right abuses. However, this should not be read as an approval of the atrocities of a few individuals who have no regard for the communities they endanger.
In order to prevent the continued dangers, including loss of life of hapless members of the communities in the line of fire from both agitators and the Nigerian Military, we call for caution on the part of all stakeholders. Reactionary violence has never been a sustainable solution to lasting peace anywhere in the world. 

The relative peace enjoyed just after the general elections in April 2015 was as a result of the peace initiatives of concerned Nigerians who saw the need for dialogue.
We therefore appeal to the Chiefs of communities, youth leaders, leaders of thought, security agencies and the political leadership including the Federal Government to use Alternative Dispute Resolution (ADR) mechanisms in speedily addressing the conflict, which if not properly tackled at this embryonic stage, can degenerate into a large-scale bloodshed . To the perpetrators of the violence, we also urge that they sheath their sword and embrace peace. 

“Remember, he who throws a stone in the market place, may end up hurting his relatives”.

Against this backdrop, we propose the following:

TO THE AGITATORS
  •   Sheath your swords and embrace peaceful resolution of conflict
  •   Remember the pipelines run along the communities and can easily destroy the environment and lead to grave consequences including further destruction of the already endangered human ecosystem of the Niger Delta
  •   Political actors at all levels of governance in the Niger Delta States should galvanise their efforts to ensuring peace and security so as to create the needed atmosphere for socio-economic and political revival and prosperity in the region.
  •   Peers and political allies to channel their efforts into ensuring peace and security by creating the needed atmosphere for socio-economic cum political revival in the region.
    TO THE LEADERS OF THE NIGER DELTA REGION
  •   Dialogue with the youths and find a way to lasting peace in your community.
  •   Lead the path to peace by working with the government in peace efforts
  •   Do the right thing by ensuring the dividends of democracy get to the local communities
  •   Practice transparency and accountability on management of state resources.
  •   Act as role models by ensuring that the dividends of democracy and extractives are
    allocated to collective needs rather than personal interests.
    TO THE NIGERIAN GOVERNMENT AND SECURITY AGENCIES

•   Convene a meeting involving stakeholders drawn from both the civil society, community leadership and the state actors including representations of women and gender experts in line with the UNSCR 1325 to discuss the way forward as a matter of urgency.
  •   Adopt a sustainable long-term approach of peacebuilding and conflict transformation in the Niger Delta that does not merely focus on reducing the symptoms of social restiveness.
  •   Review the strategy of invasion by the military and paramilitary agencies currently going on in most Niger Delta communities in order not to further escalate the conflict.
  •   There is an urgent need for multi-governmental security collaboration among the Federal, States and local governments, as well as the communities in the Niger Delta region for the adoption and implementation of a more efficient and effective security blueprint in the region,
  •   Tone down the narrative of “show of force” and explore alternative ways of dealing with the conflict.
  •   Ensure legal and financial support for the take-off of the Maritime University in Okerenkoko, desired by the vast majority of persons in the locale.
  •   Holistic implementation of the Ledum Mittee Technical Report as well as review the decision to expunge the Host Community fund clause in the PIB pending in the National Assembly.
    The federal authorities must understand that it will take more than security solutions to pacify the Niger Delta. They must recognise the need for socio-economic and infrastructural development, alternative livelihood solutions, diversification of the economy of the region and the urgent need for a coherent Niger Delta Developmental Action Plan.
    THE MEDIA
    The Media should step up efforts in always mirroring all security goings-on and human rights

breaches in the region, as well as timely dissemination of such information to the general public and relevant agencies of government, except those considered ‘classified’.
    THE INTERNATIONAL COMMUNITY & DEVELOPMENT PARTNERS
    We urge the international community and other development partners to lend their technical

and institutional support in the speedy resolution of the cascading conflicts in the region today.
    Partner with the Federal authorities to establish a socio-economic/rapid infrastructural development plan (marshal plan) in the Niger Delta region
    THE CIVIL SOCIETY ORGANISATIONS
    · Join hands to change the discourse of peace negotiations, steering away from individual

demands and (re)focusing on collective demands.
    · Continue to highlight the developmental, environmental, livelihood, security, electoral

(inconclusive elections) and governance challenges in the region
    · Continue to defend the fundamental rights of the people and be a watch dog against

human rights abuses as well as supporting participatory governance approaches.
    · Be a voice of reason and moderation in the midst of all the anger, despair and war

mongering by the different actors
    We are confident that with these measures put in place, a lasting solution will in the long run bring both the people of the Niger Delta region and her neighbours stability and economic prosperity.
    Signed by:
    Inemo Samiama- SDN
    Ken Henshaw - Social Action

Anyakwee Nsirimovu - Institute for Human Rights and Humanitarian Law Patrick Naagbanton - CEHRD
Fr. Edward Obi, MSP- NACGOND
Robinson kuroghobogha- Chairman BANGOF

Andy Ogbuigwe - Accord For Development Ibiba Don Pedro - National Point
Sofiri King Peter-Side
Nnimmo Bassey - HOMEF

Nenibarini Zabbey - CEHRD
Mimi Ogbanga - CEDSI
Comrade Nelson Nnanna Nwafor - FENRAD
Tamunoala Bright - Youth Awareness Project
Patrick Chiekwe -FOCONE.
Constance Meju - National Point
Ledum Mitee -
Nike Olaoye - Pronatura
Otive Igbuzor - Centre LSD
Inatimi Odio
FACE Initiative
Godson Jim Dorgu- Macjim Foundation
Okoho Umo - Peace Point Action
Ibaba Samuel Ibaba - Centre for Niger Delta Studies
Irimagha Thelma - Gender and Development Action (GADA) Legborsi Saro Pyagbara - MOSSOP
Emem Okon - Kebetkache Women Organisation
Maryam Isoun - Niger Delta Wetland Centre
Fidelis Allen - Centre for Conflict and Gender Studies, UNIPORT Patterson Ogon - 

42 comments:

1. Ochimooooo

Someone shld summarise pls

Whitey oya come and summarise

Yawns....

1. They are appealing to the agitators in the niger Delta area to sheath their sword and cease the violence. That the consequences of their continuous vandalism of the pipelines will inadvertently affect them also, because they have relatives scattered in the environment who'd be affected should "war' erupt. They want peace talks btw the government and the aggrieved. As time is of the essence and the situation of violence in the creeks is getting out of hand.

Na wetin dem talk be that o.

2. Ko ni da fun gbogbo yin!!!whose families will leave in penury?!

3. Yes the 5% are holding unto their own, let dullardinho go to his 95% and look for the resources to run the country.

1. Suicide boy, grow up.
      Omo ale.

2. Is it not laughable that the people that signed this wonderful write up are all the so called Niger Deltans.
      Why are. You writing this now? It is late my darlings!
      Let the Millitary show them shege!
      Which media wan go die unto reporting human right abuse? Abegi! Na wetin una call,una go see.
      In every war,there is casualty afterall the ones meted out on Biafrans, no one has been held responsible.
      It only a stupid person that will bring war to their homeland, the govt have nothing to lose. Make una write una will, you don't know who will live or die.

3. In a few words..... You are a fool

4. Retard Tony. And u will sit in Lagos or Abuja and be writing crap.

4. Ste please post comments.

5. To be frank I didnt read dis epistle o!... check out Maraji_ and be wowed!

Kelvin Dat Edo Boi ( Stellz Cousin )

6. May God help us in this Country.

1. There's a new militant group that just emerged! They call themselves - Niger Delta Suicide Squad!.... Indeed, Buhari is keeping to his promise of creating millions of job! As we all can see he is more jobs for militants!!!

7. I wonder how this militants reason,havent their people suffered enough, voilence helps no one.

1. Shut up sisi the old goat. Niger delta provides the money for this country yet it is not as developed as it should be. Because the north that contributes the least is short changing them because allocations are calculated based on no of LGAs, the niger delta do not have as much LGAs as the north. Go figure. Monkey dey work babboon dey chop. Violence is wrong yes but boys are desperate, even the amnesty is not being paid. So swerve you fake ass bitch

2. Then ur mama is the superior cow. Say hello to her for me!

8. They keep calling for help from the same international community whose Companies and investments they are destroying - Black Man.

9. Nigeria should learn to put a square peg in a square hole not a round peg in a square hole.

10. Chaiiiiiii the FG should take it easy with them
    Let them agree

11. "Amnesty is bribe, resource control is justice"

12. Hmmmmmm
    Let peace reign my ppl. Dialogue is d only way out.
    Let us forget dis end time ghen ghen war.

13. Bokoharm subsiding, fulani herdmen taking over, niger delta avenger, red scorpions, nepa, fuel; all these only one underdeveloped country's problem. This is too much, GOD please HAVE MERCY ON NIGERIA, TAKE OVER AND RULE; IN ANY AREA WE VE GONE ASTRAY, SHOW US AS A NATION MERCY AND SHOULD ANYONE REFUSED TO DESIST FROM COMMITTING THE EVIL THAT MAKES YOU ANGRY LORD, DEAL WITH SUCH PERSON PERSONAL IN JESUS'NAME.. AMEN.

14. Abeg, rain fire and brimstone on the rebels!

15. If they like they ahould keep blasting their regions. Who will suffer? While othera are developing theira they are busy finishing theirs. Na dem sabi oh. Already Niger Delta regions are now ghost towns.

16. I'm pleading, someone should help me Sub for the new month as I am dead broke and won't be able to afford it. The number is Zero seven zero six three one four five four one two. Thanks

1. Deji stop beggy beggy

2. Since you know who I am, why not recharge for me

3. Since you know who I am, why not recharge for me

17. They won't hear cause they angry with federal government.
    Fg never see anything.
    Why will the resources be coming from their land, but almost half of them are poor, but those that the resources are not even from their land keep living big and rich.
    Fg should better grant them armnesty

1. My dear it is obvious u are from the Niger delta. Do u knw how much these oil companies gv to LG chairmans,village heads and the state govts? Forget say dem dey drill d oil for our land. Our elders are wicked and d initial mistake d oil companies did wasn't taking up d projects themselves and completing it but rather gv dem to our leaders to award contracts or to share d money among d citizens. If all d money d oil companies had given to individual communities had bin used for d intend purpose, Niger delta for b like small London. All these avengers are not doing our villages any good,look @ ogoni land,it wld take 30 years to clean up. So for d next 30 yrs no development wld occur in that region. So destroying all these things isn't worth it. Instead tell d oil companies to come and develop d communities demselves and stop giving money to any individuals or grp of ppl. The amnesty program, it was still a few ppl dt benefitted. Govts shld do things that wld benefit entire towns and villages. Industries,light,water etc. not amnesty that wld just see a few ppl collect salary everymonth for them not to vandalize pipelines. Pls Niger deltans start to think abt ur kids future and not just d food dey wld eat now.

2. Anonymous 9:30. You are wise. Please tutor that son/daughter of a gun guised under anonymous 8:30 up there.

18. Anonymous 01:00
    Deji,is that you...I pity ur life

1. Lanre, you really don't have to pity me. Send the airtime if you're buoyant enoung

19. May God help this our beautiful country