Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Four Of The World’s Worst-Ranked Cities For Air Quality Are In Nigeria

Thursday, May 19, 2016

Four Of The World’s Worst-Ranked Cities For Air Quality Are In Nigeria

New data from the World Health Organization (WHO) show that four of the world’s 20 worst-ranked cities for air quality are in Nigeria (at least among cities of more than 100,000 inhabitants that monitor their air quality).

Onitsha, a densely-populated commercial center in Nigeria’s east, had the worst air quality tested, judged by the annual mean concentrations of particulate matter (PM10). Onitsha recorded 30 times more than the WHO’s recommended levels of particulate matter concentration. Three other Nigerian cities—Kaduna, Umuahia and Aba—also feature on the list of the 20 worst-ranked cities. Two of those, Aba and Onitsha, are manufacturing cities in the industrial hub of eastern Nigeria.

Around the world, the WHO says air pollution has risen by 8% over the last five years in the cities tested, with urban air quality data showing that 98% of cities with over 100,000 inhabitants in low and middle-income countries fall short of recommended guidelines. Among high-income countries, 56% of cities do not meet WHO recommended guidelines.

The list is dominated by cities in South East Asia and the Middle East. India, Iran, Pakistan and Saudi Arabia each have three cities on the list, while Bahrain and Afghanistan have two each. China, with well-documented air pollution problems, had only one city, Shijiazhuang, on the list.

For governments, fixing air pollution problems is crucial, as poor air quality increases the risks of heart and respiratory diseases and lung cancer. Estimates peg annual deaths caused by air pollution at 5.5 million—more than any other environmental risk.

culled.qz.com

*Chewing bitter kola!

60 comments:

1. Even if you give me a free house in Aba or Onitsha,I won't even pass a night there talkeless of living...
    I wonder how people survive in those towns!...
    Onitsha GRA is manageable but Aba own na fire!,..
    Some parts of Lagos suppose enter this list!...

2. That onitsha and aba own is too much.. oh they forgot Kano especially that sabongari is the dirtest city I have ever seen

1. Because sabon gari is densely populated by igbos, what do u expect

3. In Civilized countries they recycle trash, but for my own naijia them go heap am, therefore causing the whole place to be dirty and smelling.

4. No wonder the igbo tribalists come here to yarn dist. Their entire soul is polluted, Kwakwakwakwa!
    @queen
    @james and co

1. Dear anonymous this is no room for tribalistic talk....mumu ee...

2. Dear anonymous this is no room for tribalistic talk...na so we wan do the one Nigeria. STFKUP

5. Aba should be the first on the list.
    They should get their facts right.

6. I wonder why Lagos isn't on the list, with all this I pass my neighbor polluting everywhere.

1. Like you read my mind

2. They are'nt talking about noise pollution. Dumb ass.

7. Very dirty eeboh "I" borrow culture people, they are the dirtiest people in Nigeria that is why they can't stay in their places of origin. They keep roaming up and down Nigeria contaminating other regions.

1. Are you in your place of origin?? Is Lagos your home?? Go to your ogun, osun, ibadan, ekiti and other places and stop claiming Lagos..

Stop claiming madam.. Go to your mud houses please and leave Lagos alone for the owners.. You have gone to the east to confirm we all left there abi?? Those that are there are not human beings??

Is it our fault that we like going around?? Is it our fault thay we rather not lazy about but go to the end of the earth to look for things to

Haven't you heard of the saying that goes any where you enter and an Igbo man isn't there, leave thay place. Thay place isn't fertile??

Take your heart to an angle dirty thing

2. One trillion like anon!

8. Ghen ghen, dis post will surely go south!

9. James so you people are filthy, disease ridden and smell like this. No wonder you all talk trash, it is because you breath and live in trash. That explains the trashy, filthy, low life, illiterate comments.

1. Hmmm. Woow

So much hate.. Sorry o. Move around Lagos and see so much dirt.. Lagos was worst before I'm sure you know that..

Meanwhile this is common with areas that are filled with industries.. Kwakkakakakak

2. Before? Thank Goodness not again. Ibos are naturally dirty when it comes to environment cleaniness. Go to sabon garin in Kano, alaba in Lagos, oworonshoki in Lagos, okokomaiko in Lagos. All this areas are ibos dominated areas.

10. Most ci ties listed are industrial or commercial cities. Our government need to do more about industrial pollutions and waste management.

11. Most cities listed are industrial or commercial cities. Our government need to do more about industrial pollutions and waste management.

12. Onitsha is no longer like that.You can verify if want.Since the last few years i can't remember when last i saw this anywhere in onitsha.

1. You dey mind these idiots! Lagos i'm sure is more poluted than Onitsha now. Ndi nzuzu a na akogheri

2. Last I visited onitsha it wasn't like that so I'm shocked it's listed there. I haven't been to aba so can't tell

3. Onitsha is soo clean. Anambra as a whole is very clean.

There's no fresh air in Lagos, I don't know why it's not on the list.

13. Every one is a manufacturer in those cities , both fake and original products. I hope dirty Yorubas will not misunderstand it.

1. These Igbos will still have mouth to talk. I carry yansh for unna o.

Everybody is a manufacturer there loool

2. Anon 13:36 You are Cray I swear..Oga James,come and defend your place ooo .

14. Shantelle's Empire19 May 2016 at 13:13

Eeboh kwenu! The 'I' ppl keep taking the lead in bad bad things. Hahaha,Linda eze lovs billie jean will have my head for brunch o....Lmao! *dodge's linda's koi koi shoe*
    As for kaduna,what do you expect from abokis.

1. Shut ur gutter mouth osiso! Ezi ofia

2. What bad thing?? It was called industrial pollution for a reason.. How many countries have been able to manage their industrial pollution.. Even China is like that.. I'm. Shocked it's only one city thay is there. Go to areas with industries in China and you will wonder how they breath

3. Sometimes I just sit and wonder how some people can be so stupid with confidence

15. It is in your tribalistic, hateful and image tarnishing mind that Yoruba is dirty. The expert international WHO has revealed who the dirtiest people in the world are and Igbo people rank top on the list. Facts are facts whether you like it or not.

16. Thank God for clean Yoruba people who keep their environment and states clean otherwise this dirty Igbo people would have turned Yoruba states into their dirty, stinking, air polluted, HIV/AIDS Aba and Onitsha.

17. This report is full of many untruths. I have always doubted the credibilty of anything called World Bank, Health, United Nations whatever. Where would cities like New york, Shanghai, Tokyo et al rank if this cities mentioned here have the worst air pollution in the world?
    Y'all can take it to the bank when I say, the United States is a major culprit and even refused to sign a GHG treaty which required them to commit to its reduction by 5.2 percent annually. Many of the developed countries blantantly refused but arm twisted their slaving 3rd world "partners" to sign. Talk about corrupt data.

18. Let me also add that the major cause of air pollution isn't even a dirty environment but the effect of industrialization. Aba, Onitsha, Lagos maybe industrialized but to say they the worst in the world is a big lie. The aforementioned cities in Nigeria couldn't even rank in top 100 much more top 1000 cities with the exception of Lagos.

19. I dont if these research was even made two years back. who cares

20. But Onitsha is very clean and organized now na? 😬😡

21. When they say air quality is not just about the litters. It comprises mostly of incomplete combustion of fossil fuel with comes out from exhaust pipes of vehicles and motorcycle and generators. And I guess is because of the activities over there.

22. where is benin...where they take joy in heaping dirt on d road...even with all d sweeping of the street of benin....d place is still dirty

23. Ndi ofe mmanu Ndi dirty iya basiras dat wash der bumbum with water and still eat Amala with the same hands are neater than the average igbo man that may own just a shirt and trouser but will ensure he wash n irons it daily to look as neat as he can possibly look.Yorubas n tibalism na wah even in my office dey still wash der bum bum with wate n litter the whole rest room with plastic bottles leaving the toilet seat wet n d floor unkempt .

1. U wey u no dey wash your bumbum after using the restroom,ndo o,i hope u now know why you get smelly down below.Anofia,smelly pussies upandan.

24. See who is calling someone dirty when you have been proven to be the dirty ones.

Clean up your states then you won't have to move around.

You only need to see who the Oba's in Lagos are to know who comes from Lagos and it is definitely not Igbo people, so that your made up lies about who owns Lagos or who comes from Lagos does not fool anyone. You just talk rubbish and make up lies to make yourselves feel better.

You people who have no history want to talk about the history of Lagos. Go to your village and rant about your lies because that is all you know how to do.

1. Shut up..

What lies?? Are you from Lagos?? Go back to your state..

You don't see those from Accra asking those in komasi to go back to their place. Or does from New York asking those from Texas to go back to their place.. But in Lagos you will be shouting go back. Go back.. Are you from Lagos state?? Claimant

25. People are so ridiculous. Garbage is not what is affecting air quality, it's emissions from vehicles, factories, generators, fires, and industrial waste. So those places need to look at what their major pollutants are and fix it promptly.

26. Post the link of just one picture in New york, Shanghai or Tokyo the same as the picture shown in this post.

27. Shantelle's Empire19 May 2016 at 17:44

Lol @ the replies i got. Ya all take some comments too serious.life isnt that hard huh!

28. Igbo's find it easy to curse out other tribes but just gv dem a little dose and dey wld just start convulsing all over d comment section. U ppl shld learn to accept what u give. U are always quick to insult d Yorubas and Hausa's. U look down on other tribes and aren't very welcoming. U go to a place and colonise it bcos those ppl are hospitable. I doubt if a Yoruba or Hausa man has a plot of land in d east.

1. Liars..

You yorubas are quick call Igbo names and expect them to keep quiet. The reason for the hate I don't get.. Is it there fault that they like making money and go. Any where in search of it while the yorubas lazy around waiting for hands me down??

2. Lol!!!!!! You see why we are still backward in dis country. How are u sure it's a Yoruba person dt wrote this comment. U simply worked based on assumption. Pls learn to work with facts and not assumptions. Bcos u already hv a preconcieved notion that Yoruba ppl are bad u hv simply concluded dt all negative comments are from Yoruba's. But u hvnt realised dt a lot of oda tribes apart from d yoruba's cld dislike d Igbo's. Pls learn to kill tribalism in ur heart. Thank u.

3. This is the most stupid comment I have ever read on here and I have read many. Since when did migrating and becoming successful become a problem? Igbos never forget their roots. They know where home is and place importance on family and kin. that's why every christmas you see them returning home en masse. The average yoruba person doesn't know their village and if they do, they have never been there. For an igbo man to have a country home (village) and still be successful enough to own one where he is based is a great feat and testament to their hard work and resilience. I am an indigenous Lagosian from Isale Eko and we know our own. To all the migrants from Ogun, Oyo, Kwara, Ondo, Osun, Ekiti; you are not any better than the Igbos. please go back to your respective villages

29. Yes some Americans tell people to go back to their countries, this happens all over the world. Nigerians chased the Ghanaian away from Nigeria and told them to go back to their country. Go back to your igbo states because you are not Nigerians. You are Biafrans. Igbo claimu always claiming what is not theirs.

30. Your comment is even more stupid @ 01:47 and it doesn't change the fact you and the rest of your Igbo borrow culture people should stay in your villages when you go this Christmas and not go back to Lagos and all the other states throughout Nigeria that you go to contaminate with your filth. Use this years Christmas to clean up your states and stay there. At the end of the day you are not Nigerians but Biafrans so be proud of where you come from and stay there to make it a better place for yourselves so that you stop spreading your disease all over the place. Keep your diseases to yourself. Indigenous Lagosian from Isale Eko indeed your dirty fucking ass.