As part of the 15 days funeral rites of Omo N’Oba Erediauwa, late Oba of Benin, the traditional council of the kingdom has banned residents from cooking with fire on Sunday.
Frank Irabor, secretary of the council, disclosed this in a statement issued on Friday.
Irabor said Sunday would be the day of “Edenagberen-Mwiwu”, and as such, cooking with fire will be forbidden in accordance with Benin customs and tradition.
He called on indigenes and non-indigenes in the kingdom to observe the “Igberimwin rite”.
The burial activities kicked off from Edaiken of Uselu palace, the crown prince of Benin Kingdom, Eheneden Erediauwa, on May 25.
All burial ceremonies in the city were prohibited, while the public was advised to stay away from places where the rites will take place.
Male residents were also asked to shave their heads.
Erediauwa’s death was made public on April 29. He ascended the throne on March 23, 1979, becoming the 38th Oba of Benin at the age of 56 years.
Ok noted..
ReplyDeleteYou can use your water heaters to boil. Electric stoves, also, microwaves can cook stuff as well. You'll survive don't worry.
DeleteBut they can use stove abi!
DeleteBenin people shebi una don hear.
ReplyDeleteDoes that include gas or stove? Hian!
ReplyDeleteAre you dum? Are they not fire as well
DeleteAnon it's just a question
Delete"Dum" kwa?
DeleteFaceless troll.
OK. They should cook with air.
ReplyDeleteLolzzz....jamessssss
DeleteYes oh that's the tradition, they even ban the roasting of yam in Benin City. Long live the King.
ReplyDeleteLol..@long live the king .The reigning oba or the dead one?
DeleteLol @Orela, good question. Kilikikikikikkk
DeleteThis comment has been removed by the author.
DeleteA stone age and outdated tradition
ReplyDeleteYa a fool!!! If queen of england tell u now u wee rush and do it. Olodo
DeleteNa wah o, I hope British folks won't demand for such when the queen kicks the bucket. Na biscuit and mineral get una for Benin be that
ReplyDeleteWhat a tradition.
ReplyDeleteGala&la casera ti take over
There is one program I watched in spice tv, spice origin about Edo people. Initiation to adulthood abi wetin sef. They will strip the young ladies, rub nonsense on their bodies, cook nonsense and give them in a calabash. Stupid tradition. After initiating them in witchcraft, they will be asking why people call them witches or why they have witch tendencies. After watching that program, if I see anyone from Edo, I will be scared of the unknown. It's like Edo people and Yoruba people still value those babaric traditions a lot. God forbid bad thing
ReplyDeleteStella did you undergo such ritual?
You are an ignorant fool. Proudly Edo and if you do anyhow you go see anyhow.
DeleteHisses
DeleteYour Mumu level is above the level of any measurement known to man, past or present .
DeletePorous brain
DeleteWhy such public display of stupidity tho?
DeleteI'm from Edo state, born and bred in Benin city and I have never heard of dis so called "initiation into adulthood".
Maybe it happened in d past (of which I seriously doubt) but not anymore.
So next time, think twice before typing trash about others. Tribalistic buffoon!kmt
@anon 7:42 do you not feel guilty? That God gave you a brain and all you can use it for is chase flies?
DeleteI watched it. It still happens in Esoso or something like that
Delete@anon 7:42, why spew trash out of your mouth? if you don't have something meaningful to say, just read the story, read comments and move along. It's not a must to comment.
DeleteAnonymous4 June 2016 at 08:49 pls y go anon?
DeleteBe proud n bold to post such comment.
I gez dts for public scene. For doz who r not die-hard traditionalist, dey can cook wit FIRE in dia compound and kitchen.
DeleteIt's time all of you begin to realize that Edo does not quate Bini. Bini people are from Edo but not all Edo people are Bini. If you watched something about people in Ososo they are Edo but not Bini.
DeleteSo if you want to bath your baby or aged parents you will use cold water? Your baby's food nko? Is it cold water you will use in preparing their cereal?nawa!
ReplyDeleteDont use fire,maybe they should use sand.
Electric cooker and kettle
DeleteElectric heaters no dey?
DeleteNa wa to u ooo! Microwave, ring boiler, electric kettle n stove etc.
DeleteLol. .use ring boiler and hot plate ..
DeleteAt least that no be fire
Besides maybe they mean fire wood and not gas.who knows?
At least when this tradition started no gas cooker.im just saying o
What if they dont have the aforementioned? Just what if?
DeleteTrust me,some ppl are 'rich' like that.
ShanzEmpire
All of you saying ring boiler, microwave, hot plate gbogbotigbo una don de work for phcn atink?
DeleteMy own be say if someone cooks with fire (maybe she forgets) WETIN GO HAPPEN?
Taa..African and their stupid mentality
ReplyDeleteAre you not an African ? Goat. Should we abandon our traditions because we want to go with the tide?
DeleteHian!!
ReplyDeleteSo what should they now use to cook
Sunlight???
All this archaic traditions sef
Who e epp???
Bwahahahaha. .maybe they should have out rightly said everyone should fast for the dead and the peaceful transition of the dead oba...I'm just try to make sense of the post
DeleteSo how will people eat that day??
ReplyDeleteThey are on dry fast..shakaribobo santayaba
DeleteNo problem. Your rule's for those who BELIEVE.
ReplyDeleteMicrowave oven ti take over.
Oba atopêê
Wey the light to use am?
DeleteMadam In house news anonymous you are here commenting,your children did not go to write common entrance exam again?
DeleteAnony 09:00 keep disgracing yourself. I'm sure we know each other, hun? You wish!
DeleteFrom knowing where they'll be to knowing venue to knowing it is common entrance. Be monkeying around looking for what you will never get.
I read all yesterday night, all posts, all comments. Thank you. One promise, whoever is your 'informant' by now I'm sure will be looking for my add on. The way you going on you will soon sack me when it is discovered I dodged official duties to go for personal duties.
I have time to post comments? You have my ID straight up. Ain't got time for some miserable humans. God gat me!
09:00 so how did you now know it is common entrance for children. That is if you are not the person typing the comment yesterday.
DeleteThat is why it is not good to make friends with lowlifes xp block all their dirty ass even that emjay is a suspect
Please what happens if they do?really want to know
ReplyDeleteThey get burnt! And shout!
DeleteThe thing u re cooking will turn to snake and bite u in d yansh
DeleteThe fire will roast you to Ashes
DeleteHmmm....
ReplyDeleteHmmm....
ReplyDeleteGood for them.
ReplyDeleteIn this day and age people still do this??? Anyway the kinda things I have heard these Lekki Benin babes do eh I don't doubt that there might be consequences for defying especially if you are not a strong child of God but lord knows I will so fry my bacons and eat in the morning.
ReplyDeleteDon't believe these things can work on me if not that fake onigbese itohan would have harmed me years ago.Nawa
Wow! What a tradition! Long Live The King ooooo!!!!
ReplyDeleteAbsolute Rubbish. To think lots of these people are Christians and Muslims
ReplyDeleteLol!
ReplyDeleteStory!
In other words, do not eat on that day.
That's not for Christains and those who don't believe in their tradition.
It I were there, I go cook with gas o.
Good for them.
electric cooker or microwave oven should be handy then
ReplyDeletePeople will east microwave cooked noodles and electric kettle boiled water for tea that day. They should beg NEPA to give them light. In this age and time, what a tradition!
ReplyDeleteWow. Will they cook with water? Ah! I know we have an amazing culture and a host of traditions but Nigerians should move with the times please. I'm sorry but this sounds 'somehow' in my ears.
ReplyDeleteAncient city
ReplyDeleteNonsense so if I cook in my kitchen how will they kw n wat will happen? I should eat raw food abi? Thank God am not there I wouldn't have observed this. Now that is tradition they will announce it all over the place but wouldn't adhere to the commandments of God in the bible.
ReplyDeleteDon't use fire wood to cook.. they are not talking about stove or gas.. fire wood do generate smoke.
ReplyDeleteNwunye korkus, I tire for your people matter abeg, too many traditions....the way I left my esan fiance ehnn, choi...I didn't look back
ReplyDeleteHow would they identify people who cook with fire today,will they go to everyone's house to check?
ReplyDeleteSome of these cultures have no place in our age.
ReplyDeleteOptions plenty nau: hotplate to cook, electric kettle to boil water, microwave to warm pre-cooke meals...
ReplyDeleteToo many options jor. I'm sure they'll get around it
DeleteIce cream ti take over
ReplyDeleteThey said dont use fire wood!