Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Patience Jonathan sues SERAP, says $15m is gift

Friday, October 21, 2016

Patience Jonathan sues SERAP, says $15m is gift

Wife of ex-President Goodluck Jonathan, Patience, has urged a Federal High Court in Lagos to restrain a human rights organisation, Socio-Economic Rights and Accountability Project, from coercing the Attorney General of the Federation to prosecute her over “unfounded and malicious allegations that she stole $15m.”

Patience claimed that the $15m over which SERAP allegedly asked the AGF to prosecute her was a gift she received over the last 15 years from friends and well-wishers.
The Executive Director of SERAP, Adetokunbo Mumuni, said in a statement on Thursday that the organisation had been served with court papers in Patience’s suit marked, FHC/L/CS/1349/2016.

According to Mumuni, the suit was filed by members of the Union of Niger Delta Youth Organisation for Equity, Justice and Good Governance on behalf of themselves and Patience.
The plaintiffs sought a court order of interim injunction restraining SERAP from using any judicial process to coerce the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice to prosecute Patience for “owning legitimate private property.”

The plaintiffs also urged the court to restrain SERAP from “taking any further steps in further vilification, condemnation and conviction of the former First Lady, Dame Patience Jonathan, in all public media.”
In the affidavit filed in support of the suit, the plaintiffs accused SERAP of engaging in a campaign of calumny against Patience.

The plaintiffs averred, “There has been a running battle between the Economic and Financial Crimes Commission and Mrs. Jonathan with respect to the release of her legitimately earned funds, which were deposited in accounts opened in the names of certain companies by one of her husband’s aides without her authorisation.

“The funds in question were legitimate gifts from her friends and well-wishers over the last 15 years which she had been saving in order to utilise to upgrade family businesses and concerns which had been somewhat dormant by reasons of the long period of her husband service as a public officer in Nigeria.
“The gifts were given in small contributions by several persons, some of whom she cannot even now recall over this period of 15 years sometimes in as small a gift as N250,000.

“In order to preserve the value of these funds, which she did not require for any purpose at the time, she changed them into foreign exchange and kept them as cash for a long period in her home safe in Port Harcourt and Abuja.
“It was when the family home in Otuoke was burnt down by hoodlums under the instigation of political adversaries in 2010 that she began to think about banking these gifts, which had now grown to large sums in the United States dollars.

“In 2010 she therefore summoned one of her husband’s domestic aids, Waripamo-Owei Emmanuel Dudafa, to assist her in opening bank accounts into which the funds could be deposited.
“Unknown to her, the said Dudafa, in a bid to be discreet about the owner of the funds, decided to bank the funds in the names of companies owned by him.

“When she discovered this, she was constrained to continue with the names of the companies when she was advised that it did not make any difference as to the ownership of the funds since the director of the company would appoint her as sole signatory to the accounts in question.”
punch-

42 comments:

1. Really a gift? $15m,,,,,,I need a gift to

1. Ah ah ah see explanation oh. Cash gifts of over 15years? Interesting

2. This woman has breasts! (not balls since she is female). Sue?! Insult upon jury, jury. (injury) six finger discounts everywhere.

3. Why won't they leave this lady alone? Buhari that is stealing all the cash in the country, is he not a free man? Please they should rest abeg..
    Allergic to bullshit

1. Didn't she say it was inheritance from her late mother before? Hope she has given you your share out of it. Shut up your stinking brain! You deserve not to think at all

2. The topic is Patience...focus. You can mention Buhari when he is brought up.

1. You never can tell, she might be a very close friend to Santa Claus

2. Hahhahahaha abi o @ James'
      Mama Peace has Bn a very good girl for 15 years and counting,hence d Santa spoils. Toor!

5. Mama Peace hahahahahaha..i raise Beyonce hands for you..missylynn..

6. Heyyy ! Again. Make this woman and her set of huhgry lawyers shut up abeg.

Na so criminal go dey run from pillar to post. Nigerian judges are having a bad day, so you can't buy court injunction now.

7. Someone should gift me just 1million too naa, mama Peace biko send me your money bag!

8. Mama P. Gift abi? there is God o. I beg tell the person make them give me too. owu want finish me.

1. She said it was inheritance before o. From her late mum. Her lawyers have schooled her on what to say

9. Mama peace, please I know good lawyers
    Your are doing a poor job
    Fire them and contact me.
    I know bad ads lawyers

Oh lord, bless me with the kind of Friebds mama peace has. That would give me 1m dollars every year..

10. She's obviously lying bur can they leave this woman alone???

1. Can you read your comment again and have a SELAH moment?

11. This is very possible, maybe not saved over the years but even in this recession companies and people are sorting oga change has come. It happens everywhere

12. Yimu tell dat story to d gods nonsense woman.God go judge all of una oo

13. All these people steal millions and billions of dollars,money that is meant for the whole Nigeria.Yet they are not in jail instead they are threatening to sue who confront them about the money they stole.thats how the whole live robbery will just end and we won't hear anything again thief thief politicians and greedy leaders.a small girl once stole pepper to feed her siblings and they jungle justice her and poured pepper in her private.Nigerians will just sit down and be shouting recession ohhh,hunger ohhh dollar ohhh,you will not get up and jungle justice the stupid greedy politicians that are ruining your lives.

14. All these people steal millions and billions of dollars,money that is meant for the whole Nigeria.Yet they are not in jail instead they are threatening to sue who confront them about the money they stole.thats how the whole live robbery will just end and we won't hear anything again thief thief politicians and greedy leaders.a small girl once stole pepper to feed her siblings and they jungle justice her and poured pepper in her private.Nigerians will just sit down and be shouting recession ohhh,hunger ohhh dollar ohhh,you will not get up and jungle justice the stupid greedy politicians that are ruining your lives.

1. Plenty likes for this your commentπŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘πŸ‘

2. That's why Efcc must go after the Judiciary system and the corrupt attorney general for turning a blind eye. We go after the people at the top, when we start throwing their dumb asses in jail the new ones will be scared to steal.
      Bitch is still talking bcos of our fuck up judicial system, try this shit in China or western countries na death or jail the illiterate woman and her stupid husband go dey sing.

15. Replies
    1. Bring your share! Empress Mumu of this blog

2. Which yeye action woman be that? What's the action here?

3. You are very stupid motherfucker! Stupid slave!

16. What effontery. The balls on this woman ehn. Please stop talking! Sheesh!

17. Hmm mama p lie small small Na first u say Na ur mama own later u say Na for medical trip now Na gift y u f**k up like this

18. The same Aisha gets her gift, was same she was gifted with 15m$. is her savings