Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria To Build Nuclear Plants

Thursday, December 22, 2016

Nigeria To Build Nuclear Plants

According to Ogbonnaya Onu, the Minister of Science and Technology,The Federal Government  will embark on building of nuclear plants and careful application of nuclear energy to meet the needs of the country.

Mr. Onu said that nuclear energy would bridge the energy gap needed to enhance agriculture, advance health, improve education and boost manufacturing in the country.

He said that the Federal Government had started making arrangement with the Russian State Nuclear Corporation, Rosatom, to actualise its dream of application of nuclear energy.

He said that the reason the country chose the Russian state nuclear corporation was because of its essential experience in nuclear technology.

According to the minister, Rosatom will prepare the agreement on the construction of a nuclear power plant in the country.

Onu said that the country would in turn prepare an agreement on the development of the project which would determine further steps on the construction of the nuclear power plant.

“Nuclear power is considered a prominent alternative and a more environmentally beneficial solution since it emits far less greenhouse gases during electricity generation than coal or other traditional power plants.

“It is a manageable source of generating electricity and has large power-generating capacity that can meet industrial and city needs.

“It is not like the low-power technologies such as solar that might meet only local, residential or office needs but cannot generate power for heavy manufacturing,“ he said.

He said that the envisaged project would be a success because the plant would be fed from the uranium deposit in the country.

NAN

34 comments:

1. Good
    But let them not start what they can't finish.

2. Very risky and expensive technology.
    Naija shouldn't invest any money.
    Are we able to run a steel factory or oil refinery? Do you want a new chernobyl or fukusima? Mr Abati we need your advice.

1. Exactly! Go and ask Japan what nuclear power plant did to them. Those things take about 15 years to build and a shit load of cash to maintain. Which money so they want to use? Have they finished maintaining their roads? In 15 years will NEPA abi PHED be sleeping? I'm expecting them to grow, to improve....wtf! Talking about nuclear plants when your country is in recession...just wow.

3. When common roads can't be built. Schools, hospitals. Misplaced priority. Mschewww

4. Anything Dia doing they shuld be fast. Mbok

5. Oh finally Nigerian government has received sense! I wonder why a country rich in uranium wouldn't consider nuclear energy. We have the correct isotope wasting away year in year out. They literally placed a ban on it when the topic was raised back then. I'm glad sensible and EDUCATED people are finally occupying the right positions.

This is a welcome development.

6. PMB want to sack some ministers,its now this one is saying something that will never happen in Nigeria.
    What state will the nuclear plant be?with this unpatriotic Nigerians that we have,wont they do something destructive,when the govt doesn't give them what they want?
    See the militant in the Niger delta.
    Ogbonaya Onu,abeg find something else to excite PMB,cause this ain't gonna work.

7. Stella y d emoji u tink we scientists in nigeria can't do more than d americans,I pray I get a job in that ministry nd show my talent....miss sexypantie

1. With a name like Sexy pantie I doubt you can do much...i may be wrong but...

2. God bless ur hustle bro...job u gon get by the Grace of God...Belee mehn...

8. D shouldn't just procrastinate about dis thn. .d should mk it happen

9. finally atleast men go chop from government next year...oshee

10. 😁 😁 Mon dieu ! 😁 😁. Mon dieu !

11. Blood of Zachariah fear 😱 dey catch meooo

12. Really wonderful, is this even on the list of issues facing this country. Let's even forget about the waste of money, what happens when this nuclear elements gets into the hands of the boko haramites or even the Niger Delta Avengers? When are going to start getting out priorities right? We have no external enemies that we need nuclear weapons to fight against, our biggest enemies are the enemies within. Do you know what uranium does? For example a boko haramite goes and blows himself up kills 6-20 people, however if a drop of uranium is added to the mix it becomes a dirty bomb and the 6-20 people become 500 not only that the area of the incident and within 5 miles radius will be polluted for years. Are we really capable of dealing with the responsibilities that come with going nuclear?

1. Thank you anon...To answer your question, We're not ready. These guys are just too clueless.

13. Nigerians play too much.
    When they cannot even manufacture common toothpick & pencil.

14. Laughing in my native igbotic dialect...

Mr Onu, ima kwa ihe inekwu????

Issorait we are waiting for the actualization of this your day dreaming hallucination

15. This comment has been removed by the author.

16. guess i didn't even read. my bad

17. @Corisande your comment dey make me laugh sha lol

18. we sha like to overdo for this country.

1. You seriously believe this? It will be another avenue to steal money.

2. true talk, that one join too. Yeye polithiefcians.

19. Proposal as usual,pmb will use it to campaign come 2019. Nigeria been deceiving herself since 1914

20. The Nigerian government has failed to solve the poor electricity situation in Nigeria. Now they want to go nuclear. Just Negodu!

21. The Nigerian government has failed to solve the epileptic electricity situation in Nigeria. Now they are planning to go nuclear. Just Negodu!

22. Odeh!not only nuclear its oldclear.