Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: EU Comments On Kanu's Trial And Biafra's Agitation

Thursday, February 23, 2017

EU Comments On Kanu's Trial And Biafra's Agitation

The European Union has responded to the issue of the continued detention of Nnamdi Kanu and other Biafra agitators and said it is monitoring his trial.

This was contained in a letter signed by Federica Mogherini who is the vice president of the European Commission to Members of the European Parliament who were signatories to a letter to him sent in December 2016 accusing Nigeria of human rights abuse.

Julie Ward who is a member of the EU has been supporter and advocate of Biafra and has spoken strongly against the detention of Kanu.

In his response dated February 13, Mogherini said since the beginning of Kanu’s trial, the EU has been monitoring it and said Biafra agitators should be allowed to protest and express themselves as long as it is within the scope of the constitution.

She wrote: “I fully share your concern on the violence that has erupted in relation to the Biafra movement. Individuals should be allowed to protest and express themselves freely as long as they exercise this right in a peaceful manner. Their prosecution, if founded on facts, should be carried out in full compliance of the rule of law, their human rights and judicial due process.”

The European Commission vice president said with the European Development Fund, Nigeria is expected to fulfil human rights commitments as 166 million euros was allocated to support the “fairness, transparency and accessibility of the justice sector governance reform and the fight against corruption.”

Mogherini said the EU raises human rights concern with Nigeria at every opportunity and promised that this will also be reiterated “through concerted effort, including parliamentary contacts.”

From Naija

31 comments:

1. No mention of his attempt to smuggle in arms into nigeria to overthrow the government or his illegal pirate radio or of his treasonable offences....he's gonna rot in that cell...

1. Anonymous Shut up your stupid mouth please.

2. Do you have proof, or you're just saying trash with your dirty stinking mouth?

3. All I see is "as 166 million euros was allocated to support the “fairness, transparency and accessibility of the justice sector governance reform and the fight against corruption.”" what? Who did they give the money to? I want my cut biko nu

4. Bia ewu anon. Can u prove what u wrote?

2. Biafra is coming soon. I'm sick and tired of this zoo called Nigeria.

Stella you know you are one of us. Lol

Sandy Neky even if you don't support Biafra just know that you a Biafran lady as Nwa afo that you IS nau. Lol.

3. Only in Naija will you still detain someone after the court had freed you

4. *Lips tightly sealed*
    Buharia over to you and your DSS

You guys Better hurry to EU and start arresting and interrogation ooh. Ndi ara Monday

5. Wish they will listen.#Gbam###

6. Good...let Buhari know that he's not bigger than EU, Even if he feels he's bigger than AU and nobody can call him to order.Too bad he's not around,would ve love to see his reaction to this.

7. Nigeria judicial system is corrupt already, they'er not just getting this right in this regim

8. ls Nigerian part of EU,

1. My thoughts exactly. Amebos

9. This line summarised it all "Their prosecution, if founded on facts, should be carried out in full compliance of the rule of law, their human rights and judicial due process."
    So if the government has enough fact on kanu they can prosecute him

10. Y'all can move to Cameron or Ghana and start printing Biafra currency, but not in Nigeria.

11. Zoo must fall though it has fall already.

12. It's funny EU always have a say over African issues but not EU problems. Like the harm they caused africa is not enough

13. Anonymous tnk you vry much... can they mind their business, lets mind our. They always want to be in control of everything.

1. When you speak their language and try to be like them you are already under their control

14. They should not let that young man die in detention.....Federal government obey court order.....smh

15. 166 million euros and this government keeps claiming there is no money!!!!! Buhari has squandered the money already on his plenty travels.why would he keep a man that the court has seen as innocent.why is buhari so afraid of his antisupporters.why is he sending efcc only after pdp officials whereas he leaves apc corrupt politician alone.this government needs deliverance from spirit of backbiting and hatred!

16. 166 million euros and this government keeps claiming there is no money!!!!! Buhari has squandered the money already on his plenty travels.why would he keep a man that the court has seen as innocent.why is buhari so afraid of his antisupporters.why is he sending efcc only after pdp officials whereas he leaves apc corrupt politician alone.this government needs deliverance from spirit of backbiting and hatred!

17. Free nnamdi kanu this vuhari president!!!!

18. what is EU's own with Africa? They should go and mind their own problems. since when has pro-Biafra protest been peaceful? please, just mind your business. Even the pro-biafrans are motivated by hatred. "Igbo man deceive another Igbo man" is something that is very common. Abeg jor!!