Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: NDLEA Agents Arrest Grandma Attempting To Smuggle Cocaine To Jeddah

Sunday, March 12, 2017

NDLEA Agents Arrest Grandma Attempting To Smuggle Cocaine To Jeddah

Nigeria's National Drug Law Enforcement Agency (NDLEA) has arrested a 57-year old grandmother, Mrs. Morayo Omolara Odeyemi while attempting to smuggle cocaine to Jeddah, Saudi Arabia.

A statement signed by Mr. Mitchell Ofoyeju, NDLEA spokesman,  said Mrs. Odeyemi was caught over the weekend with 1.595kilograms of cocaine, two parcels of which were concealed in her luggage, at the Murtala Muhammed International Airport, MMIA, Lagos.

The suspect was traveling to Jeddah for pilgrimage and was dressed like a pilgrim. Mrs. Odeyemi, an indigene of Ogun State, is a textile trader at Balogun Market on the Lagos Island. Mr. Ofoyeju explained that the drug was hidden in the false bottom of the suspect's bag, but was discovered during a routine check on passengers at the departure hall. 

He added that NDLEA officers had to cut the bag open to find the drug because it was carefully concealed. In her statement, Mrs. Odeyemi, who is currently under investigation, said she did not know there was drug in the bag, as it was handed to her by a  friend and customer.

“I have two children, and my daughter is married with children. Recently, I told my friend that I'd love to go on pilgrimage this year and she promised to sponsor my trip. That was how she collected my international passport, processed my travel documents and bought a return ticket on Egypt Airline. 

“The only favor she requested from me was that I should take a bag to Saudi. She also told me that somebody would collect the bag from me at Jeddah. It was an empty bag, so I kept my personal effects inside it. On getting to the airport, officers discovered cocaine inside the bag during search, and I was arrested,” said Mrs. Odeyemi. Chief Executive of the NDLEA, Colonel Muhammad Mustapha Abdallah, described the suspect's action as condemnable. 

"Smuggling cocaine to Saudi Arabia under any guise is condemnable. It is good that she was arrested here because drug trafficking attracts capital punishment in Saudi Arabia. Apart from saving her from execution in Saudi, the prompt arrest also protected our country from disrepute. The Agency will not relent in the fight against illicit drug production, trafficking, and abuse,".
From Sahara reporters

*This sory breaks my heart.....Grand ma why????

35 comments:

1. Stella it's not grandma's fault na. She just trusted too much. End time friends. No such thing as friendship to me anymore. I watch my back myself. Although nana should have enquired to know y d 'friend' was sending an empty bag to Saudi. D person nor fit buy am there? 😠

1. Mhizvee is officially a dunce!!!!
      Adonbilivit

2. Yinmu!
      If I hear say she knows nufin abt it.....

3. Imagine. How can your friend give you an empty bag to travel with? Is it that they cannot find a bag to buy in Saudi that she needed to send an empty one?

Ahn madame why na? See how good you look, and then this disgrace. Smh

2. Greed in its excess

3. Ok na, so the friend doesnt have name??? Issorait
    On the other hand abeg how do they get the drugs ? I might be interested

4. So your friend asked you to carry an empty bag to Jeddah and common sense didn't tell you to ask why?

I put it to you that you are a liar.

End time grand ma!

1. Tales by moonlight!
      Mama, this is the on you tell your grand kids, so save it.

2. I have carried an empty bag for someone before

3. Exactly. How can u give me an empty bag to travel with without me asking u serious questions? Makes no sense

5. Lol.....
    We know the modus operandi.
    Mama's groove don burst!

6. Its either she's naive or got caught up in d game..

7. mama mama,na only wen they catch sharp guy e go become thief

8. Grand ma is lying!..
    Most of them in that balogun market are drug peddlers!..
    Especially all those women that sells gold,lace etc..
    Drug is their trademark and everyone knows!...
    I don't blame the woman sha.she might be the breadwinner in her home!..
    I'm sure she is the one feeding her married daughter and husband!....
    Oriegwu!...

1. You know this!! That's why they're very hardened.

2. Thank you jare, that balogun market that so many use as fronts for drugs. That's how a friend back in 2004 wanted us to travel together all expence paid when she knows that I know that her bf is into drugs. She knows those shops at Balogun market where they do their things. Rich girl! I refused to go oh. My contract job then at the bank was OK for me. Grandma be lying oh!

9. friend KO friend ni. she and her accomplish have concort a story to tell so as to get a lighter sentence.

10. Stella the new trend now is for old women to commit crime cause you will hardly suspect them. She knew. She should thank her stars they arrested her in Nigeria.

11. Those of u that bleach, this is how u will look like in your 50s

12. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

13. I am so happy she was arrested here and not in Saudia. The woman must truly be prayerful and God wanted to spare her life.

14. I don't believe grandma story, most of the mama that sells things in that island are into drug trafficking

15. End time grandma!

Krix signing out via iPhone 7+

16. Their women are more hardened. Family burden always on them.

17. Stell
    Where's my comment?
    Watapun?
    Did u use it to make jellof?