Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigeria Not Listed Among Best English Speaking African Countries

Thursday, August 31, 2017

Nigeria Not Listed Among Best English Speaking African Countries

How did they arrive at this list?From our On Air Personalities or from the streets?

60 comments:

1. Very true, most nigerians do not know grammer. I am nigerian as well, not until i left nigeria that i got to know that our grammer, pronounciations et al cannot be understood well outside the shores of Nigeria.

1. Where did you go to? I hope it's not one of those Asian countries. Because the British and Americans I speak with understand very well. Abi you went to UAE, those ones that English is not even their second language.

2. Anon 11:37, it is

* Pronunciation
      *.. cannot be understood outside..('well' isn't necessary)

3. Nigerians, ghanians etc. Not there?

Nonsense list!
      Onto d next post!

2. lol...i can take zimbabwe and uganda but malawi and south africa i wont agree....when u cant see a south african on tv speaking all english without mixing up zulu except the white south africans tho.

1. All of you correcting our English. Una see una life? He he. You no even sabi the English speak. We are in this together...

Bheti wait oh... Even Ghana didn't make the list? Chai. It's obvious this list is not of the Lord.

2. taarrr....which Ghana?? Let them continu deceiving u with DAKTAR,NERSE..i use to think they have the best english until......

3. Reminds me of sexy daddy's comment about OAPs and their fake accent. So this people don't listen to our radio presenters. I no gree....

4. Reminds me of sexy daddy's comment about OAPs and their fake accent. So this people don't listen to our radio presenters. I no gree....

5. Must be the OAPs.
    The ones who use 4 different accents in one word.
    And maybe the average Nigerian student.

Tanzania and South Africa. 😍😍

6. Fuck that. Am I supposed to be proud of a borrowed language? How many English people can speak foreign languages?

1. I am proud of you my dear, why should we be proud of knowing how to speak English , when the whites cannot even pronounce the commonest of our name . Slave mentality indeed.

7. Hahahahahaha. . . I guess that side eyes na for people wey carry engrish for head on this blog yet their accant dey speak "broken"😅😅😅😅😅😅

8. We will not take. The result is fraud. We will not take it. #inorubebe'svoice...
    So all the grammar and accents our OAPs are dropping no be am abi?

9. When the OAP are speaking English language with American slang,South African salang,Dutch slang,all in one,hmmm

10. The list need to be audited by Reuben Abati.
    Ngwa gwazia ndi yard unu.

11. Watching big brother for many years, I will say yes oh. But remove south Africa from that list.

12. I think they are right. From the kind of English we read from comments, chai, Nigerians "haff" murdered English a long time ago.

13. If i had seen ghana on that list i will have shout "pure ojoro" but then since ghana no dey we gree. Btw how do you expect a country with about 520 different languages to speak better english ? After all who english epp sef ?

*hangs leg on the wall*

14. Hahahahahahahahahahahahahahahaha

This is irony. Look at the countries on the list.

15. What good is it?
    We wan use am cook soup?

16. So what have we been speaking? Engligbo?

17. lol! Nigerians, OAP and slay queens u see urself. you all will be speaking with your noises, and be spoiling English for us.
    you could even make No 10 in the list.

Fake ass country.

18. How come you're surprised Stella? When half of them don't know the difference between:
    Live/leave
    Their/there
    Is/his/it's
    Your/ you're
    S
    Need I continue? Mtchw!

1. Been and being
      Most disgusting for me is people using "They" in place of "the"
      Am instead of I am
      Will in the place of we'll. Abbreviations kill us all the time

2. Exactly.
      These/this
      He's/his
      Theirs/there's
      We're/where/were
      No/know
      Brothers/brother's
      Ones/one's/once
      Abeg ihm plenty....
      Or is it people that don't know the articles(a/an) to use for nouns. You'll see someone write "an hotel" instead of "a hotel"
      Even when Stella tried to correct them, they continued to repeat the same, I think maybe she got tired and stoped,because they never take corrections. Most of them begin one's name with small letter.

English is even one of the easiest languages. Come to Germany, by the time you'll learn only the articles for each noun, you'll know that there are languages and the more it progresses, the more it changes, in short the language is too vast.
      #dropmic

chim-oma a.k.a. Miss Kapusu

3. got tired and stopped

4. got tired and "stopped"

19. Replies
    1. Tarrrr Oremi.

Good English helps biko.
      The gbagaun from celebrities alone is enough to erase Nigeria off the list.

How are you dear? Saw your shoutout. We are fine o. Kisses to little madam.

20. From your gbagaun speaking celebrities of course.

21. How come, this is the fake list. Waiting for the original to show up.

22. Idonbelievit! What!!! They must be high on kerosene. On a more serious note and not being biased, non of these country listed speaks well as Nigeria

23. This comment has been removed by the author.

24. Who compiled that list? We need a proper competition. What kind of English will a Malawian speak? This better be a joke!

25. we dey carry first for negative things buh for good tins we dnt make d list. na real wah naija falling hands always

26. Meanwhile some people will be forming english in Nigeria.... You can't even hear what is coming out from their mouth... Talking through the nose is not English ooooooooo

27. Stella the list is most likely correct. I will explain why I think so.

Firstly, Nigeria may have English as its major language. But HOW do we speak the English? Our tenses, diction and pronunciation. Are they right? There are many words I didn't know I couldn't pronounce well until much later in life. And I can admit this because I am being realistic. A typical Nigerian will tell you that as long as it doesn't affect their account balance they're good to go.

Secondly, how did we learn English? Through our teachers most likely. Do these teachers speak good English? I had two English teachers in high school who spoke very very good English, out of all the 5. Yet when it's their turn to address the assembly, we see other teachers giggling and giving side eyes. Because to them it's like: what's doing this one? They can't be bothered. And these are the people who teach. Frankly, we can read English, we communicate in English, but our English isn't 'that' quality. When I listen to my Ghanaian friends speak, I hear very good intonations (I mean accent-free speaking please) that make me ask myself if we are all in West Africa.

So, for the Liguistics society these are the things that matter. Not the amount of: 'do you speak English' 'yes I do'. It is the way the English is spoken and expressed.

1. All this long thing wey you type now na to prove wetin?

The essence of a language is communication, to pass a message! As long as what one is saying is understood, how the individual says it would become irrelevant.

Why do I need to be proud of a borrowed language though? How many English men can speak Hausa, Igbo or Yoruba? we find it amusing when they struggle to put one or two words together in a Nigerian language. We are too white washed and that's our problem!

The fact that ones accent interfer with his English pronunciation is a sign of originality and an indication of one's background or heritage.

GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

2. @paraxxxxx I almost didn't read yours cos the first sentence doesn't make sense to me. I met a man who speaks ekiti dialect very well when he speaks yoruba but when he switches to English its proper Queen's. He got an award from British Gov't for that and goes around Africa teaching English and is very well paid for it. His local accent doesnt interfere with his English and vice versa. Infact, he told me switching accents between languages is wrong.
      Good English should be spoken like it is not with an accent. Leave the accent for your native tongue.
      I have also seen foreigners who speak yoruba and use the proper accent - Stella even posted here once. The essence of learning a language is learning it well. Yes you may communicate somehow, but it doesnt mean youre getting the language right. Nigerians won't make that list anytime soon and many Thanks to people like you 😊

3. "he got an award from the British government and went about teaching English language in Africa?"

You're entitled to your opinion and I sincerely respect that!

The only problem I have with your argument is the fact that you exalt English language and forget that before the whites came, we had our own native languages and no matter how much we try, we can never speak this English language like a native English man. So, it's ridiculous and unfair to for anyone to judge an individual's level of intelligence or exposure simply my measuring ones ability to speak good English language.....
      The essence of any language language is communication.... Period!
      GOD BLESS NIGERIA.

4. I love you already Chiki..

5. I love the lines of thought from you two, Chikito and Paragon.

But have you heard a Zimbabwean speak good English? If you love diction, you will be all smiles.

28. Stella don't be surprised,most of these African countries are still been 'governed'by the whites,and this makes a lot of white tourists attracted to these countries,I have been to 3 African countries Rwanda,SA and Kenya and was shocked to the marrow when I looked around me at the hotels I lodged and found myself as the only black having breakfast in a hall filled with whites,the other blacks were waiters,I have never seen it happen in Nigeria.

1. That's because the locals are either they are too timid to enter, too poor they can't afford the luxury or they don't know how to enjoy their money. We in naija no matter how small the money is we like to enjoy, or go for sight seeing. We must not eat food before we seat in a restaurants kitchen to take pictures and post on our IG

2. Anon 14:20, "still being governed" and not "still been governed".

29. I was looking for Rwanda on the list. Stella it's very correct. I think they included accent as a factor. Our OAPs are British American Carribeans

1. Hahaha @british American carribeans you hear that too ba? 😂 abeg make i open IHN

30. With your horrible grammar and accent Luke saying poor shoe (as in pursue) or borrow me (as in lend me) you want to be on the list. You wish.

The best English speakers are educated folks from South Africa and Ghana. Even English PhD holders in Nigeria will still say borrow me. It's that inferiority complex that makes all of you feel the need to fake your accent. Have you ever made it to international spelling bee, no, go check African countries who make if there

31. Hahahaha i can't believe this