Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: ATTENTION Lagos State Waste Management Authority(LAWMA)

Saturday, September 16, 2017

ATTENTION Lagos State Waste Management Authority(LAWMA)

This is an SDK Citizen report. #iSDK

Please forward this to Whom it may concern if you are concerned!

Dear Stella,
Kindly help me post this on your blog. It has come to our notice that the Lagos State Waste Management Authority(LAWMA), hardly ‎come to collect refuse as usual. My area is Mafoluku-Oshodi. 

For the past six months now,we have to wait for them for ‎weeks, sometimes they take three weeks or even a month to come for collection.
We were told by the waste collectors that the Lagos State Government is owning them.‎ I can boldly say, I pay my waste bill on time and so do most of my neighbours on street.

So why the delay in collection? I hope the Government is not trying to ignore some of its priorities?
A friend of my told me that it is even worst in her area at Amuwo Odofin. They pay truck pushers now to help remove their waste. 

I passed through Oshodi market two days back and it is the same. Other streets in Mafoluku-Oshodi are also experiencing same thing not just my street alone. In fact some streets are worst.

I know they read your blog, so they must see this post. I also sent a similar post to Channels TV Iwitness‎ as well.
Please, they should come regularly, in order to prevent health hazards.
Thank You.

21 comments:

1. See Okuko sef pose for selfie 😆 That Mafoluku sef! Ur LG chairman has a lot to do m8! Kai!

2. Lawma make una go do una job nah

3. Our own na worse...no tips,no refuse disposal for you.They will just drive past your street.

4. Ambode messed LAWMA up when he privatized it. Before now they came right on time. These days you have to call them to remind them. What do I know sef waste is the least of Lagos problems, the pot holes on the roads are increasing by the day.

5. i really don't get the priorities of the present government if they can't care for these little things that can cause big problems.......it's the same in my area,it even worse here cos people are beginning to drop refuse in the canal and on people's properties@midnight..!im beginning to have issues with neigbours cause I piled mine for weeks till I saw a truck pusher,they wanted me to drop it when it's dark like they did,
    The roads are so bad too,I hope Lagos won't come back to what it was before ........,

6. Surulere people too dey complain, they have misplaced priority. Water that is not supposed to be expensive is now gold with their useless meter. the only thing Ambode administration has brought is hardship.

7. Poster kuku kee the fowl there for pepper soup!

But on a more serious note,the government is not trying on the area of refuse disposal. They need to do More!

8. #When your Past calls,
    Don't Answer.
    It has nothing new to say*

9. I don't think they have been in my area for the past three month if not more, we have to call those malams to help in disposing our refuge,really don't understand this government and the whole place is dirty

10. IF IT IS TRUE..THE WHOLE OF SURULERE AND ITIRE/IKATE LGA THERE ARE NOT ROAD..AMBODE PERFORMS WELL ONLY ON MEDIA BUT ON GROUND NOTHING...PDP WAS ON THE HELMS OF AFFAIRS, WHEN IT WAS TIME OF ELECTION, THEY WILL TELL YOU ITS BECAUSE THE CENTRE IS PDP, NO THEY CANT DO ROAD AND OTHER SOCIAL AMENITIES BUT NOW APC IS AT THE CENTRE OF AFFAIRS, YET THINGS ARE STILL THE SAME...ABEG I TIRE FOR THIS COUNTRY..

1. Let's not politicise everything. State your point and move on.

Also note : when you write in caps, it means you are shouting. That's not polite, right? Take care.

2. N.a. your shout n.a. lie the person talk. Abeg go rest

11. Ambode is not interested in this. na Road project dey bring money now o. Forgerrit....even general hospitals in Lagos are becoming d shadow of what Fashola left.

12. Same with my area ooo new oko oba dirt everywhere don't know wats is wrong with lawma oooo

13. So there are people that are still waiting for LAWMA. In my area, people used to pay months in advance but now some now don't even bother to pay like that anymore because once the dustbins fill up, they'll pay any passing truck pushers to pack the refuse. Why expose your families to germs because you are waiting for LAWMA that comes once in 3 or 4 weeks.

1. I agree with you. This can cause epidemic so for your own safety @ poster, pay these mallams to dispose off the refuse biko.

14. No so Lassa fever starts. This is breeding grounds for rats and other vermin. When you live in a hot country cleanliness and hygiene has to be at a premium. I can't even imagine the awful stench. See streets of some other African nations how they are squeaky clean.

15. We have gently stop our bill from their office, cos we pay mallam to throw away our compound trash once every 2week for 1500 Naira