Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov Akeredolu Says Mimiko Administration Left A Huge Debt For Him To Settle

Friday, September 01, 2017

Gov Akeredolu Says Mimiko Administration Left A Huge Debt For Him To Settle

Governor Oluwarotimi Akeredolu of Ondo State says his administration inherited a debt burden of N220.58 billion at its inception.

Mr. Akeredolu made this known in Akure on Wednesday while swearing-in commissioners and special advisers. He advised the people of the state to refrain from acts that could further push the state into deep economic crisis.

But his claim about the debt legacy was promptly attacked by a former commissioner for information during the Mimiko administration, Kayode Akinmade, who said that Mr. Mimiko left N20 billion in the kitty of the state government. Akinmade skirted the issue of debt and also did not explain why Mimiko failed to match the N38.64 billion left in the kitty of the state government by his predecessor, Governor Olusegun Agagu.

Mr. Akeredolu said with a debt of more than N220 billion, it was not difficult for anyone to know that the government’s capacity for adjustment to cater for the people had been stretched to its limit.
According to him, Internal Debt of N53.15 billion constituted almost a quarter of the debt legacy.

NAN

4 comments:

1. That is how they all say. No new governor met money in the coffers of the state.

2. We are tired of this ringing tone! It's either empty coffers or huge debt profile.
    Governance isn't a tea party.

3. Ok na. He should suck it up and settle it. Why is he there in the first place? Complain, complain all the time. E don do, dem don vote you, so your work done start. Mtcheew

4. the most useless ex Governor is Mimiko,make I no mention him brother in-law name, because I chop small flexing from the guy, the guy used ondo state money to fund his lavish lifestyle, chai, that guy taste for big yansh babe ehn,no be here. Make I mention am sef, smokey nothing for you again