Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Woman Who Travelled Leaving Her 4 Young Kids Home Alone Has Been Banned From Seeing Them

Saturday, September 30, 2017

Woman Who Travelled Leaving Her 4 Young Kids Home Alone Has Been Banned From Seeing Them

Erin Macke, 30, is charged with four counts of child endangerment and one count of transfer of pistol or revolver to a person under 21 after police said she left her children -- 12-year-old twins, a 7-year-old and a 6-year-old -- home alone Sept. 20 while she traveled to Germany.

Police said they are unsure why Macke made the trip. Johnston police Lt. Tyler Tompkins said the children were left alone for 24 hours before the Police Department and the Iowa Department of Human Services received a tip and visited the children.

Police contacted Macke on Sept. 21, and she told officers she planned to be in Germany until Oct. 1.

Authorities said they convinced Macke to return to the United States before Oct. 1. She arrived Wednesday evening and was arrested Thursday morning.

Macke was released from the Polk County Jail after posting $9,000 bond. She evaded KCCI reporters and declined to comment on the incident.

The father of the youngest children, Matthew Macke, a police officer who lives in Anamosa, told KCCI he wanted to dispel rumors that he’s a deadbeat dad.

“As soon as I found out about it, I made the trip down to Johnston and picked them up right away,” he said. “They’re too young to grasp it. I haven’t told them much about it. We’ve just had the conversation that we can’t see Mom for a while, and they’re OK with that.”

Prosecutors say Erin Macke made no arrangements for the children before she left to travel overseas, leaving them to fend for themselves.

She now has a no-contact order, meaning she is not allowed to see her children.

Her next scheduled court date is Oct. 9 in Polk County.

32 comments:

1. Naija kids are strong ooo. Many are left alone all the time. Some actually fend for themselves. Parents please take your obligations as parents more seriously.

2. She should have made an arrangement for childminders

1. When you were 12 years, who was "minding you?"
      Make them copy from Naija.

2. That's why we have such stars now. Children not watched get into all sorts and get abused by busy body neighbors. No they should not copy Naija.

3. Deadbeat mother!Hian!! How can u leave such young children alone and travel!! My gosh, some people are not fit to be parents. Thank God the police intervened and nothing happened to those kids!

4. Eyah, so sad for the lil ones 😥😭😪

... Jesus is my worth!

5. End time Mother. The things we see these days.

Abeg BVs, how I go take join Port Harcourt Whatsapp group?

6. For Naija, 12 years no dey go market, cook soup?
    12 years for Naija don dey kidnap sef!

1. Dey hawk too
      And up North, them don bon pikin sef
      Even twin

2. And this is something to brag about? Backwards mentality!

7. She would go freee if this happened in Nigeria the lawless country

8. I have seen a mother leave a toddler my himself to go "huzzle" in the night. Am talking about a child below 3years. God rest their soul she is late and the baby died too.ladies if you can't take care of a child you have no business getting pregnant if you decide to give birth please give the baby up to people who need them

9. That was bad of her

10. A 12 year old child can stay alone for a week. If there's food.

1. And plenty lecherous people around right. God spare innocent children

11. Pls where is the father of the kids?

12. A country where everything works

13. At 12 I was managing my mom's biz and making returns when she travels for August meetings and stuff

1. It goes beyond that. Have you considered security issues? Like when a stranger shows up at the door, if the child falls sick say at night? It's just not right.

2. This is not a good thing to brag about my God. At 12 you HAD NO BUSINESS BEING ALONE while your mother traveled. If your dad was there good but without adult supervision is careless.

14. Hmmmm naija I hail una, at 12 when dad travelled to visit mum in Ph,cos she worked there I was fully staying alone till he back, go to the market come back and cook Afang soup, thank God I hate good neighbors that never took advantage of me but instead protected me,then the one that love women die thought I was too ugly, now I really appreciate God for that ugliness, as the way I'm fine now people never believed I was over ugly then when I tell them

15. She could have leave them with family now or didn't she have any family....hian

16. At twelve, I was in charge of the house, I would cook, clean and even go to market sometimes.That upbringing has helped me become the strong woman I am today.Well, when you are in Rome you gotta act like the Romans cos that my own style no go werk for Oyibo man land.

17. They are still too young for her to leave for days