Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Lagos House Of Assembly Passes Yoruba Language Bill Into Law

Friday, October 20, 2017

Lagos House Of Assembly Passes Yoruba Language Bill Into Law

The Lagos State House of Assembly on Thursday passed the bill which makes the teaching of Yoruba language compulsory in schools in the state into law.

The passage of the bill was sequel to the bill successfully scaling through the third reading on the floor of the House.

The bill, among others, makes the teaching of Yoruba language compulsory in all schools in the state, both in private and public schools, by including it as a core subject at all levels.

State-owned tertiary institutions are also mandated by it to incorporate the use of the language as a course unit into their General Nigeria Studies (GNS).

The bill indicates a fine of N500,000 for a corporate offender while any shool in the state which fails to comply with the law faces closure and a fine of N250,000.

From Tribune.

14 comments:

1. Yori oya come and cuss yoruba people out o. And Apc lawmakers. Na the work wey you dey do

2. Is this supposed to be an issue at all, here I was thinking Yoruba language is a subject on its own in every school in Yoruba speaking States.

Good one!

3. Jobless idiots. They should pass bill to put food on people's plate

4. Yoruba speaking states only i guess

5. So anybody that don't understand Yoruba should not bother coming to Lagos state to study? Automatically they are telling us that other tribes are not welcomed to Lagos for educational purposes, since they can't read or write Yoruba since it's now one of the core courses and no more elective.

1. Well, if u want to study in a yoruba state, the least u could do is study the language.

Its like u wanting to study in a non English speaking country, you have to study their language first in most places.

Yoruba language was already a core subject in Lagos State so I dunno why it was necessary to pass this bill

2. @Eka Joy: u mustn't learn their language before studying in a non English speaking country. They have classes taught in English.

6. This is arrant nonsense! ...... useless bill!

7. L.O.L....Hope other states wont follow oh.. Not a nice idea. Extra F9 for some people

8. Just yesterday my kids were crying that they didn't do well in yoruba test and today this😳

9. Thank God for this bill. The earlier we start to teach our children our own language and not the borrowed English-language the better for us.

10. Am glad we embrace our own tin not copy white man all the time.They also think of providing good living condition like job,health & free life of worship