Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Monkeypox Disease Hits Abuja

Saturday, October 28, 2017

Monkeypox Disease Hits Abuja

The Federal Government has confirmed six fresh cases of monkeypox including one in Abuja, the Federal Capital Territory.

The Minister of State for Health, Dr. Osagie Ehanire, made the announcement in his office in Abuja on Friday, according to a statement by the Director of Media, Mrs. Boade Akinola. Ehanire said apart from Abuja, there are two new cases of the disease in Bayelsa and Akwa Ibom states and one in Enugu. This brings the total number of confirmed monkeypox cases to nine.

The minister explained that as frightening as the manifestation of the ailment may seem, “no fatality has been recorded till date. As of October 25, 2017, a total of 94 suspected cases have been reported from 11 states (Akwa Ibom, Bayelsa, Cross River, Delta, Ekiti, Enugu, Imo, Lagos, Nasarawa, Niger, Rivers and the FCT).

He called for calm among members of the public, as the Nigeria Centre for Disease Control is working with all affected states to ensure case finding and adequate management.

From Punch

10 comments:

1. Oh my God! Please take control.

2. Cardi B is engaged..... I'm happy for her

3. Na wa oh. The more deadly Ebola virus was easily curtailed. What's going on sef

4. That's what happens when you have clueless ministers.
    Lawyer. - minister of power/works/housing
    Linguist. - ministry of agric

Hexagonal pegs in round holes

5. Oluwa save all my people in Abuja, from Abuja to Kaduna is not far, money pox we don't need here in Kaduna.

6. Jos pple we can travel to ABJ like our we ar going to our backyard...God please take control

7. I saw a security man at Onipanu and the spots on his hands and neck which are exposed look like monkey pox. I believe it is Lagos