Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Rejects Late Father's Will Because He Included Female

Thursday, October 05, 2017

Nigerian Man Rejects Late Father's Will Because He Included Female

Including the female child in a will is against some culture in Nigeria?huh????

A Nigerian man has left many people shocked after he confronted his late dad at his grave and refused to obey instructions from the late man’s will on how to share his properties.

His reason for the act is because his late father included his female children as beneficiaries in his will.

Late Gabriel Okwukogwu attracted the anger of his first son, identified as Emmy, after he shared his properties among his seven children including the four women in Anambra State.

PM Express reports that an infuriated Emmy went to his father’s grave to tell him that he will not comply with the will he prepared when he was alive.
The family is from Orlu in Imo State but stays at G.M.O Road in Ogbaru area of Onitsha metropolitan city in Anambra.

It was gathered that Emmy who resides in Lagos returned after the death and burial of his late father. After the burial, the late father’s lawyer called the members of the family, presented their late father’s will and read it to the children for implementation.

However, trouble started after the counsel got through reading the will and Emmy discovered that their late father shared his properties to his children including the women among them.
The late Okwukogu had properties both in Onitsha and Owerri which he shared equally among the children not minding the gender status.

When the lawyer finished reading the will to the children, Emmy reportedly got angry and declared that the will did not come from their father because he really understood the culture and tradition as observed in Igbo land.
It was gathered that the culture did not recognise women because it was expected that they will get married to their husbands and therefore were not entitled to inherit any property from their family. 

Thus Emmy insisted that the culture and tradition will be applied in the sharing of the properties.
An infuriated Emmy reportedly left the meeting and headed to their family house in Orlu, went to his father’s grave and protested; that he will not comply with his purported will because he did not comply with the laid down customs and tradition in the land.

PM Express reports that Emmy’s decision to reject the will was causing serious problem in the family as the women in question threatened to fight for their rights as contained in the will rejected by their eldest brother.

When P.M.EXPRESS spoke to some Igbo leaders concerning the incident, some spoke against the sharing and declared that Emmy was right because women were not entitled to inherit family properties according to tradition.

Others said that it was the old practice and the properties in question were not family houses which the women will never inherit according to tradition

It was however not certain how the matter will be resolved because the will was regarded as a valid document that must be complied with despite any perceived defects.

49 comments:

1. Shameless man. See the way he is fighting for properties. Idiot that cannot do more than what the father did.

I pity his wife with this his behaviour. Imagine telling people women should not have father's properties.

May the property kill you plenty Amen

1. Pls I am a lawyer ignored the emmy boy. The supreme court has settled this issued in UKEJE v.UKEJE, pls igbo girl read this judgement. Its on the internet. Jusy google it. This is an excerpt- The Supreme Court recently delivered a landmark judgment that will alter the domination, subjugation, discrimination and humiliation suffered by women in Igboland from time immemorial. In the judgment, the apex court voided the Igbo law and custom, which forbids daughters from inheriting their late fathers’ estate. The Court declared that the tradition is discriminatory and conflicts with the provisions of the Nigerian Constitution.
      The court held that the practice conflicted with Sections 42(1)(a) and (2) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria on the fundamental freedom from discrimination granted every Nigerian.

2. Exactly what came to my mind, I pity his wife and daughters.

3. Pls ignore the errors.

4. It has to be the people from that side. So much discrimination even amongst themselves.
      My Bini friend who married an anambra man has 3girls. Her mother inlaw told her at the hospital when she came to visit after the birth of the 3rd girl. Said "another girl, my dear you are yet to give birth in this family". She started crying right there in the hospital.

1. As a first son HE RETURNED AFTER THE DEATH AND BURIAL...... 😂😂😂😂

Useless sombory

2. No be small useless someborri. 😂😂😂.

Lazy ass mofo

3. No be small useless someborri. 😂😂😂.

Lazy ass mofo

3. Na mumu dey worry him. Maka na umunne ya umu nwanyi aburo mmadu, okwa ya?
    Akuko ya adighi mma.

4. i gotta hash tag this #growthefuckupmanandgetenlightened

1. Lol you are an angel why hiding under Lucifer.. yeah the devil is right this time. Needs to grow up

5. Stupid Stupid Stupid Emmy. Your father as the wise man he was knew you'll leave your sisters out to dry. Reason for the will. All your sisters need to do now is get a very good lawyer who will ensure they get their inheritance. Ignorant oaf like you.

6. In 2017? This is why I am forever grateful to God that sent me to the family and tribe he sent me to. His own sisters? Tufia. One of those who sit and wait for "my father's properties".

7. Oga Emmy I just hope your full name is not Emeka. Omo ale jatijati

1. Ahahahah...you don vex o. I hope you know the meaning of Omo ale? Lol. It's bastard. Adding jatjati makes it even worse...looool

8. In as much as I don't agree with the way this Emmy man is taking this whole 'inheritance and will' thing.
    As the first son the father should have discussed it with them before drafting and concluding on the will!

In Igbo land women don't inherit properties.But out of parents ,siblings love they can be considered in sharing or allocating some properties to them too.

My wife is the only Daughter of his retired military officer out of 3 boys!

Those boys have already shared their father's properties without no allocation to my wife...But decided to give her a token on one of the lands they sold.Claiming that she had been married out..you can imaging that!

1. Sorry but I disagree that his late dad should have discussed it with him, it is not like the properties were handed down from generation to generation. The man made his money and decided to gift his daughters properties, there is no wrong in it and shows that he is a wise man.

2. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

3. And you think Emmy will not kill his father to stop him from given his daughters before legalizing the will.

4. Sexy daddy who worked for the property? The father or son? Why should he discuss with a nonentity of a son how to share his property? What silly tradition? One of billionsnof reasons why Africa is still backward

5. Sexy D, discuss with him for what? Was he there when the father worked his ass out to make the money? I'm sure he's a irresponsible man, that's wh th father did that. An probably the girls took care of him.

My late grand parents left no will cos it is just normal that all the children inherit their properties equally. The rent they collect roll into millions yearly, and it is shared equally. My dad is the first son. If any of them dies, the children take over, simple.

Girls are no longer push overs, baby making machines, coperate housemaids, sex slaves et al.

6. We're same number of children as this useless Emy's family...3 boys and 4 girls, my dad has already declared a property for the girls wether the boys like it or not. Infact,he already told his kinsmen his decision while he's still alive and breathing. SELFISH EMY NWA EKWENSU

7. Nonsense
      My late grand dad had a will and shared everything among my mum and her 9 siblings!!
      Even the main village house, he only gave the first son part of it, and said the other part are for his daughters so they can have a place to stay when they visit.
      The only child he discussed it with was my mum who was his confidant and the oldest! None of the 6 boys knew the details!!

Same thing with my dad. I am female and we are 2 girls and a boy, and my dad was from a royal Anambra fam.

8. Same idiot will ask the sisters to donate money for a family cause.. he's a fool.. a capital fool!

9. This sexy daddy u must be a very bush man to have said it. Onu Ezza..

10. Yeye culture that relegate women to nothing, I keep wondering how bad it is going to be if they get the nation Biafra they are clamouring for. Mazi Kanu will implement Emeka traditional way of sharing inheritance and keep the osu tradition flying.

9. Emmy...stupid emmy, this is the kind of man that will give birth to 50 children and will not leave KOBO for them, not to talk of properties!!!!....mtchewww. Don't go and work so that your children can have a bright future, and sit down der be fighting on top your papa property...Na God go punish you as you go meet and shout for that man for grave wer he dey rest jeje...

10. Rubbish! If he likes he should disagree till thy kingdom come, his late fathered already shared the properties the way he wanted.Emmy should go and make his own money, buy properties and not add his daughter/s to his will if he does writes.

And he should also know that the spirit of his late father will haunt him, if he doesn't allow things to be be.

Wicked somborri, as if the sisters in question are not his blood!

11. sexy Daddy his father did not owe him anything. Why should he discuss with his son how he shares properties that he worked hard for? Let the Emmy go and work for his own property and then he can leave it all to his first son. This is the type of man that has spent most of his life praying for his father to die only to find he did not get all the property/money. That is why it is paining him. ha ha ha!!! serves him right.

12. Emmy,you father has enough to give his daughter's, so deal with it..

Greed Emmy.

13. Emmy,you father has enough to give his daughter's, so deal with it..

Greed Emmy.

14. Mr Emmy is a lazy ass sombori. I'm Igbo by tribe and female, my father never wrote a will and doesn't have much but my mom sold a property and shared the proceeds equally between her 3 daughters. We each own our lands from the money my mom gave us. My brother knows he owns the rest.

So, for Mr Emmy to say that women don't share their fathers properties means that he is a bunkom. The only property women don't share with men is the houses in the village.

15. Sexy daddy what you just said is totally wrong.the father owes him no explanation and also does not need his permission to share his own properties. You can tell he is part of those men that will be calculating their inheritance even while their father is still alive.and he ended up getting the shock of his life.useless man!

16. Greedy and backward emmy. Thank God this is a settled issue in Yoruba land. All children are equal. What is sauce for the goose is sauce for the gander.

It is time we gave up this inhuman tradition. It is because of traditions like this that girls are pressured to marry rich guys regardless of what he does for a living. They know their only settlement in life is from their husbands. A girl child is NOT worthless. Females are even doing better these days than males. That's why only few mature men can handle them.

Emmy, go and make your own money and get a life!

17. So women are from space abi? Instead of you to make your money , you drag inheritance with your siblings. That's how the only son of my grandfather took all the properties and left all the females nothing. Sold everything in less than 10 years- gross foolishness

18. Ole, na only you waka come now.

19. He has the right to will his properties to anyone he wishes to after all ge acquired it with his hard earn money so the so called di opara ukuko should go work for his own"fool" the sisters should go report the issue to the police ooooo cos that guy can do nd undo ooo evil mind uploading Ewu.

20. Mr. Sexy Daddy you just must be the clown of the century, A man should seek his 1st sons consent before distributing his own property!!!
    Don't know if you have a wife and (or) daughter, if you do then they should be worried because it is clear that deep in your heart you see a female/woman as inferior to the male.
    Lazy Emmy should work hard to acquire his own property and can then distribute them as he likes in his old age, but not his fathers property.

Very local and archaic human being this Emmy person is.

SMH

1. No the local and archaic human is sexy daddy my arse

21. The Emmy na yeye person. So your sisters are not human being right. Owu na bastard. The husband for no share give the Emmy make he go meet tradition to collect am.

22. Ovoko.. this is were one uncle in chinwetalu agu's nature comes in to create confusion and collect all the properties.Even Emeka the efulefu won't even smell one piece of land again.
    I am Igbo and the second child and first daughter of my late parents. My father willed all his properties to me but that does not stop me from sharing with my elder brother the proceeds from the rents we collect yearly.
    In this age and time most Igbos are still backwards. we don't just need education alone but enlightenment and exposure is paramount.
    The daughters should get a good lawyer and fight it out in court. as long as there is a will written by their late father. they should not seek help from those useless aladinma or so called kinsmen because they will only end up loosing everything to them.

23. He should go and build his own Empire other than fighting over his father's will. The same way he was born into the family is the same way his sisters were born.

24. Lol. It's because of this Emmy that they act Nigerian films...mstweeee, thunder fire him, what Kind of talk is that. I pity the woman that marries him bcuz she will just become a 3rd class human being in her husband's house.
    Imagine o, fightimg for something your father laboured for. Hain, he didn't even bother to hide it that he has been waiting for the father to die. Mstweee omo ale jatijati. May God not give me this kind pikin.

25. Kudosto the late man,my father did not write his will before his death(mistake no 1),my mum handed everything to my elder brother when he came back from Germany yes after my father's death(mistake no 2). The guy turned against everyone enjoying the wealth with his wife n kids alone.He doesn't care how his mum survives,the shares my father bought in my name only God knows what n how he took over everything cos am a woman,my mum knew about it cos she was the one that called me n told me,that I need to know so her spirit will be free too. My only happiness is that he has kids,he will surely reap what he sowed.

26. Shame on you Emmy, instead of you to let go of your father's property and work for your own, rather you are fighting over ur late father's property with ur siblings as if it's not the same parents that gave birth to them. Shame on you. You're a disgrace to manhood. All in the name of tradition. You no well.

27. Shame on you Emmy, instead of you to let go of your father's property and work for your own, rather you are fighting over ur late father's property with ur siblings as if it's not the same parents that gave birth to them. Shame on you. You're a disgrace to manhood. All in the name of tradition. You no well.