Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Former President OBJ Reveals He Has Been Managing Diabetes For Over 30 Years +Says It's Not A Killer Disease

Friday, November 24, 2017

Former President OBJ Reveals He Has Been Managing Diabetes For Over 30 Years +Says It's Not A Killer Disease

Former President Olusegun Obasanjo on Friday surprised many when he outpaced younger people during a health walk held in Abeokuta,Ogun State capital. 

Mr. Obasanjo who is 80 years old, led about a hundred residents on a two kilometre trek on Moshood Abiola Way, to commemorate World Diabetics Day.

Speaking at the end of the exercise, the former president said he was medically fit because he, ”religiously kept to his medication and was mindful of what he consumed.”

Diabetes is not a disease that should kill. I was diagnosed to be diabetic more than 30 years ago but rather, I am growing strong, if you don’t believe I am growing strong and you didn’t witness this walk, come and see me at night, you will know I am growing strong, come and see me in the morning, you will know I am growing, even in the afternoon, you will know I am growing strong. What is necessary is the management of diabetes. Some people said some diseases are incurable, but diabetes is manageable.

What to do is that if you’re diabetic, don’t be nonchalant about it and don’t eat carelessly. Three things are important; the food you eat, regular exercise and prescribed medication, those are the three most important things.

This is my message. Whether you’re diabetic or you have a family or friend with diabetic, diabetes is not a killer disease or it should not be a killer disease unless you are careless,” Obasanjo said.

12 comments:

1. Not a killer disease if you're rich

1. You are spot on. They go abroad and get treated and come here to say its not a killer disease.They should patronize Nigerian doctors then they will know wether its a killer disease or not.

2. God bless you for that point you made SWAG LAFRESH and anonymous 03:11 and also patronize fake drugs them both the ex president and present president allowed to be distributed into the country. God will punished them all.

2. Hes saying so cos hes say got d mola to manage it 'wellingly'. Not so with many others that are diabetic out there Sir.

3. The man na strong man abeg. Even the rich die from it.

4. With stolen money

5. it a killer if you ain't rich to manage it sir

6. Diabetes killed my mum

7. Yes it can be managed if it's type 2. While type 1 is very hard to manage cos they are insulin dependants. Come see you baba at night and see your growing strong. People attest to it.

8. It's not naa, I'm even stronger than Usain bolt!

9. Well said. My dad is an example has been diabetic for 26yrs and he is 85 yrs old.

10. Eating right to manage diabetes is expensive,drugs too!be grateful for wealth