Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mother Narrates How Her 9 Year Old Daughter Died In School #JusticeForKamzie

Wednesday, November 29, 2017

Mother Narrates How Her 9 Year Old Daughter Died In School #JusticeForKamzie

It all happened at Louis Ville Girls’ Secondary School Gwagwalada, Abuja on 2nd October, 2017. 

According to eyewitnesses and letters students wrote to console my first daughter who was in the same school, my late daughter was severely sick, she kept crying and feeling home sick but was neglected. Two teachers were informed that she was sick by her seniors in school but they didn't inform the school authorities or call us so they didn't attend to her or take care of her, even the nurse that was on duty once chased her away that she wasn't sick but was pretending. 

According to the students, all this happened on 5th and 6th of October. Then she visited again on Saturday 7th and she was given paracetamol and was sent back to the hostel.

On Monday 9th she reported again complaining of headache, they ran a test, and her test result came out negative according to what was reported. What type of test and with what instrument did they use to conduct the medical test? I can't explain the reason they result came out negative. They gave her antimalarial drug lonart despite the ‘negative’ result and we were still not contacted neither was our consent requested before administering the lonart. I don’t give her lonart and she has never been on admission or taken an infusion since birth. 

I believe they didn't monitor her feeding or if she was taking enough water. On Tuesday 10th Oct at school refectory, her elder sister saw that her eyes couldn't close, and she asked her why she was crying, no definite response from her sick sister, no care from the school authorities, after their dinning everyone left, and she was alone lying on the table and defecated on herself. According to the nurse, when she was around to see the sick students she asked the security personnel to take her inside the hostel and bath her, it took them 1hour. When she came out, she couldn't walk anymore, she got to the sick bed assisted by students; the nurse gave her malt, glucose and water and then informed the principal. 

The nurse and the principal took her to hospital at about 1pm according to the nurse. I saw missed calls at about 2:31pm and I picked at about 2:34pm on the same Tuesday, a voice spoke that my daughter was on admission and my question was what could have happened that my daughter is on admission? She narrated her story how she defecated on herself and had finished an infusion. The voice said my sick daughter gave them my number which I doubt because my husband number was 1st and mine 2nd in that order in the school data. I asked if my husband can come and take her because they have this bad attitude of keeping sick students without calling their parents and they said yes. 

Immediately I called my husband and informed him, he drove off to school. I was not informed that she was at St Mary Catholic hospital Gwagwalada, Abuja. He arrived at the school at about 3.50pm and asked them to direct him to their school clinic to see his daughter only to be told she is in the hospital, then he was taken to the hospital, on arrival he saw the nurse with red eyes and my daughter lying on a stretcher lifeless. She slept in the Lord on her school uniform. 

From 3 :50pm as my hubby saw my daughter lie on a stretcher he took his anointing oil from his car and starting pouring on her and praying,till I arrived with my leaders and women of God.We all prayed for over 4hours,i noticed the Rev sisters who were around were not moved by the scene. I didn't believe what I saw because I know the God I serve,the God of Abraham,and He has declared in our lives there shall be no loss. We prayed till we couldn’t pray, my daughter was gone forever. It was then I got the revelation that my daughter was neglected by the school and mismanage by the hospital they took her to.

Some students of Louis Ville girls’ secondary school gwagwalada also narrated that my daughter’s eyes were already white and not closing as at the time she was carried into the principal’s car to the hospital. Had it been we were informed that she was in the hospital, my husband would have met her alive, his voice would have made a big difference and reawakened her failing spirit, but we her parents were in the dark while my daughter suffered for more than a week having no affection, depressed due to negligence, no food, water, and administering antimalarial drugs on an empty stomach. What a wicked world. 

It’s so pathetic to know she was in class on that Tuesday, 10th Oct 2017. It's so hurtful because her elder sister told me on that Monday after she took the antimalarial drug, that she couldn't continue in class and she went to hostel all alone, my questions are; where was her class teacher? What about her house mother? Who opened the hostel for her? Was she alone till other students returned? Did she eat that day before taking the antimalarial drugs? What about the refectory prefect? Didn’t she notice someone was not eating her food on the table? Why didn't they call me all these while or even on Monday 9th October 2017 before she passed on 10th October?

Didn’t the school authorities know that they needed to consult with her parents before administering any medication? Or were they still thinking that she was pretending all these while were as my daughter’s condition was deteriorating. So many questions begging for answers.

The hospital report showed that she gave up the ghost at 3:30pm. The time they brought her to hospital was not mentioned. What a wicked world with incompetent and wicked Rev. Sisters. The autopsy report shows that she had cerebral malaria and edema as a result of delayed treatment, dehydration, and no food found in her stomach. 

I can’t turn back the hands of time, neither can I bring back my daughter back to life, but the only one thing I can do is to seek justice for her and to stop such carelessness from ever happening to other students at Louis Ville girls’ secondary school Gwagwalada, Abuja or any of the Catholic boarding schools / boarding schools in Nigeria. Her older sister has been withdrawn from the school to save her the trauma.

It was her first term in secondary school. She left home for the first time and never returned to us. She was a very smart girl, committed to God and the church. Her dream was to be a Lawyer. Kamzie was 9 years and 10 months old.

Help us get justice.

ifybox@yahoo.com , kecelala75@yahoo.com

#justiceforkamzie

108 comments:

1. God forbid my kids go to a boarding school......
      I hate it with passion!!!
      Tufia

So sad, her soul rest in peace.

2. See how this school negligence has caused this family this preety and innocent child... This is sad and I can't imagine what the mother is going through... I pray you the family get justice so this doesn't really occur ever again and hopefully you guys find closure😓

3. I cried reading this. Idk what is happening to humanity anymore. May her beautiful soul Rest In Peace. Amen!!

4. God what is this ? What a loss? Why would they even think she is pretending? All these avoidable deaths , haa how will her parents deal with this?

Her elder sister should have contacted her parents, this is so sad. RIP angel.

5. Hmmmm

This is so typical of Naija boarding houses. I say this because I went to one.

Everybody is always pretending to those dispensary mamas till situation gets worse! Mtschewwww

May her lil soul RIP

I also fondly remember some girl in my school way back who lost her life then "Onyine O" , may her soul continue to rest in the bossom of the almighty Lord, Amen 😢 😢

6. @goons mi, u don hate it more than me. I can't allow my kids go to boarding school o.

Such wicked act by the school. May she rest in peace.

#justiceforkamzie

7. So young.

I understand your pain mamma but pls focus on things like
      Having a proper investigation internal in the school and external from your own investigator
      On why she was left alone in the hostel
      Why she was not taken to hospital earlier etc

Focus less on;
      Nobody noticing she hadn’t eaten. Hostel life can be like that very easy for a meal to go untouched

Focus less on revelations from God. Try and get actual evidence from an investigation and the wrong actions of those around her.

May she rest in peace.

8 is rather young to be in hostel tho what is that primary 4? in my opinion sha. she looks older than 8 sha. Rip

8. She said 9 years and 10 months . read well before airing ur opinion

9. Not for a school that takes 350-400 k from parents. It's Gould be a standard school. Rev sisters are so so like that. I remember then that they used to flog me on my Tommy. The marks are still there. I had to leave in js 2.i ended up in the convent but later left after my first profession. Her soul is resting with the almighty!

10. Lord Jesus! This hurts my soul! Get a lawyer. Don't let them get away with it.
      They left the child to die without any affection, they robbed the parents of being with her. She must have felt abandoned. Omg I feel like strangling all of them.

11. My point exactly Omeg! For once someone has said something reasonable. Thank you for all your condolences and then what?

Mama Kaize, you need to start investigating that school ASAP!

It should be as covert as anything, because if this insituition has any idea of what you are doing, they’d fight back and fight hard. Trust me money is a big motive for these guys and they’d do anything to protect their interests. Don’t bother reporting to the bishop or taking it up with the archdiocese, they’d make you feel guilty, kill your spirit, while their business thrives. This is an act of gross negligence and you need to deal with this matter smartly. You sound like a woman of means but if oh are not careful, your resources might waste.

I’d suggest not to share any details of investigation (if you intend to carry out one) to anybody no matter how close. Carry on like nothing is wrong and mourn your child, surprise is the element here.

Be steadfast, you will need it and when you are armed with damning evidence (as judged sufficient by a good criminal lawyer) engage the services of the Nigerian police force (it will help if you can find a senior official with a sympathetic ears) before you move.

Also make sure you are covered in all areas, Catholic institutions are run like the mafia, they have agents everywhere and they’d do anything to protect their empire. I can tell you that because I have experienced it first hand.

If you can chase this up and do NOT, I repeat, do NOT engage in any form of mediation with them, they’d crush you.

But with the right tools, right support system and undeniable evidence armed with social media intervention, (you need to rally social media activists too) your case will be heard.

People can’t stay away or deny actual facts, dont look for sympathy, just act, if you can.

Then there’d be justice for Kaizen and other people who have been scarred by the the Catholic Church. I hope you can remember the OAP’s case (with the pastor of some big church?) and countless that have been resolved through this means.

You will be surprised at the amount of support you’d get, that’s if you are able to gather strong evidence, trust me, this won’t go away. Stay strong!

2. I don't understand why parent still send their children to boarding school.who takes care of a child more than the parent
    RIP 😟

1. Sincerely speaking, I don't think I can ever send my kids to boarding school but again, some parents have this crazy tight schedule. I hv a 6yr old cousin who is in boarding school here in Benin and wen we go on visit, I see younger kids there.

I feel so sad for this poster. See the pretty little angel ,same age as my daughter😥

This saddens my heart and I pray justice is served

2. I made up my mind never to send my kids to boarding school after reading the letters my sisters wrote my parents while in boarding house.
      "Whatever we've done please forgive us and take us away from here". They were promptly withdrawn.

3. But why didn't the elder Sister raise alarm, or why wasn't she informed by one of the students, and why did she abandon her Sister at the refectory? Hmmmmn! This is rather painful and sad mehnnnnn! God bless ur soul cute lil one!

1. Maybe she couldn't call home and she must have been ordered to leave the refectory as part of rules. Maybe

2. So many what if and questions we can not answer.may her gentle soul rest in perfect peace Amen

3. May he soul Rest In Peace, me and boarding schools can never have anything in common, my parents sent my elder ones to a boarding primary school and even though visiting days were every weekend, (as matter of fact you were allowed to take your kids home for the weekend) my dad swore that non of us was ever going back, the experience never left his memory lol. I wished I attended until my roommates in the university told me some of their experiences

4. This is one of the many reasons why I hate boarding school, I prefer my kids in sight. Anyways, whether home or abroad we need God's help always. Sleep on little girl... you are in God's mind.

5. OMG!...
    You see why I will never allow any of my children to live in the hostel...
    My two children in high school have been begging me to allow them live in the hostel but I keep saying NO!!...
    They will not only introduce gay sex to them but they will expose them to all kinds of rubbish!,..
    Though their school treats their boarding students well but I will never allow them!...
    I went to a catholic secondary school and I know how all these frustrated women that calls them selves reverend sisters behave!...
    RIP little one...
    I pray she get justice...
    This is the worst thing that would happen to a parents...

1. LE I agree with you 💯
      Just imagine the level of negligence.
      This is just so sad

2. Very true about those reverend sisters. I have had dealings with dem severally and really wonder why they are laik that sef.

3. For the first time on this blog your comment made sense. Keep it up!

4. Those Reverend sisters eeh... They take out their frustration on the poor innocent children entrusted in their care. Come to Maria Regina school here and hear their story....hmmm
      No child of mine is going to any boarding school oh....
      9months aburo 9days

5. Very sad Bloggie...

Sandy,na frustration dey worry them...

Amanda Gbam!...

6. Amanda dats so true. Frustrated set of people. My sister just spent a term at HRC Enugu and she was looking so sick and malnourished.
      See how they wasted ds fine girls life cos of carelessness, may her soul rip mehn. I feel so sad reading ds

7. Linda you have said it all 🙌👌. I went to boarding school but no child of mine will attend one.

May her beautiful soul RIP. Imagine the carelessness, mtcheeww...

8. I remember how the Rev. Sisters at my all girls secondary school dealt with us!
      I heard one of them is really showing her bad side at Madonna University Okija!
      I read about her each time there's a discussion on Madonna University!
      Sister Pu.Nw. If u read this, please repent and change your ways.
      RIP little one! Evil people everywhere covering up.

6. So what about her elder sister that was also in the same school and couldnt even show her love? Shouldn't she have alerted her parents? After eating at the dinning everyone left leaving her alone? Including her own blood sister? Parents learn to train your children to love one another.

1. She can't alert her parents because she can't call home. There is no way to call home in boarding school unless your teacher or house mistress does so.

For the leaving her in refectory, what if she was told to leave the refectory? Because after eating, they chase everyone away from the refectory. If she saw her sister before eating, she wouldn't know the sister was lying down there after food. Until maybe those cleaning up the place saw her

2. That was my first reaction, why didn't her sister call the parents?
      Don't they have school guardian?
      And what is a 9 year old doing in d dormitory for God's sake. Parents, in your haste to make money and push the kids off your way u send to a boarding school at ludicrous ages. For all I care, a 9 yr old should be home with her mother after school especially for a girl child.

When I was 9 I was even still in primary school.That was the same year I lost my dad and I couldn't even cry cos I wasn't aware of what was happening...so imagine with that kind development, I was sent to a boarding school, what could i have learnt?

No, I'm not supporting the school and I think they should be sued for negligence but let's tell ourselves the Truth especially Parents.

3. Shut up and think before typing...did you say her sister dnt show her love? Are you mad?(in lasisi elenus voice)...pls read The story again before commenting

4. That's the part I read to,the elder sister was quite careless to,r.I.p young one

7. RIP to the girl

8. Terribly sad..May God grant peace to you and your family..This is heart breaking.Cried all through. Such a beautiful girl...

9. Wow! Such a terrible thing to experience. The state of this nation is alarming, people dying daily due to ignorance and negligence on the part of supposed "professionals". I pray they find the justice they desire, must importantly may God comfort them and give them peace. God rest the soul of that child. :(

10. 9years! The baby was homesick n took i'll. I don't believe in rushing children, let them develop at their own pace, just assist them, I don't have d liver to send a 9year old to a boarding school, mbanu....my mind never strong like that. You will be a day student till you enter university.
    May she RIP!
    She was only a child, not even a teen.
    Who knows if she was bullied,smacked by seniors n living in fear? My God!

1. Thank you bb. She was only a child. I don't understand the rush. Allow children develop and mature before sending them out into the world. RIP little Angel.

2. To young to face what she faced.See how they send this innocent girl to early grave.

3. God bless you bb that girl is too young to enter secondary school not to boarding house, nigerian parents like rushing children to where i don't know. All my children attended boarding house and the senior one taje care of them even wash their clothes until they adapt. Meanwhile they all reach 11yrs before they enter

4. 9 years old in both secondary school and boarding school is just too young.
      I remember a 9yr old in my school back then. My friend was the school mother. My friend had to take up bathing for this girl daily cos she couldn't bath well. Till she learnt.
      Rip to the beautiful angel. Alot of these so called school nurses,house mother's and so called sisters are usually wicked. I wonder why it is so.
      The one time I was seriously sick in school. I told a day student to help call my mum.
      The school was busy telling my mum to leave me school nurse will treat me.
      Never, it was straight to my family hospital o.

5. But I got into secondary school at 8 years, though i was a day student. I don't think she was too young cos she would have finished at 15 which is what usually happens these days. I just think she should have been a day student until SS1 at least.

Such a beautiful one....

11. so sorry for ur lost ma.I pray God strengthens u...rip kamzie...ummm...my hatred for boarding schools na 100%....

12. This is so sad! May her soul find rest in the bosom of the lord.

13. How can someone be so sick, and u keep saying they are pretending. May her soul rest in peace

14. For the first time I am reading a post with tears flowing down my cheeks.
    This is a very sad read.
    I hate boarding schools. I hate boarding.
    No child of mine is going to any boarding school.
    Go and come back each day let me be able to monitor your state of mind and health

This is so sad. OMG!
    Louisville???
    And that school especially the one at ijebu ode comes highly recommended. Even to pass the entrance exam is no easy feat.
    I cannot believe how lackadaisical they could be. Can you imagine this????

I am weak reading this.

Poor child. I don't want to imagine what her parents are feeling
    May her soul rest in peace. 💔

1. For the first time? I’m always crying. What will I do to my tear glands bikonu?
      I wasn't like this before ooh.

Highly recommended and I don’t think it comes cheap too.
      That girl never got any comfort until she died. Imagine the cold nights and lack of appetite😱

2. Your tears gland is working perfectly and accordingly Iphi'm.
      Which mother will read this and not feel sad and tearful?
      This story is just too painful.

3. Hahahahaha...
      Iphie,how many months gone?...
      Congra!...

4. LinLin my loveeeee♥️
      Bloggie no one will read this without feeling it.
      Chai!!
      RIP little Kamzie

15. Kai this is just heartbreaking, ah ah, I have a son the Same age, I would literally die if anything happened to him, RIP little one. Sad much. Everyone wants to open a school, without putting the necessary measures in place,

16. This is really sad. RIP Kamzie.
    I have never lived in School, won't even allow my children to anyways.

17. Jesus Christ, what a wicked world crying RIP dear.

18. This is just sad. Do not run a school if you cannot employ competent and compassionate hands. Children are too delicate to be left with stone hearted people. I pray you get justice madam,the Catholic church is not an easy feat to conquer cos I know they will find all means to silence this. Sleep on beautiful one

1. Read my comment again madam. Nowhere did I blame the church.its only natural for the church to try to protect its establishment.
      You are a mother and should know better than fighting for a party when a child's life is involved.pls I'm in no mood for this.

2. My point exactly Omeg! For once someone has said something reasonable. Thank you for all your condolences and then what?

It should be as covert as anything, because if this insituition has any idea of what you are doing, they’d fight back and fight hard. Trust me money is a big motive for these guys and they’d do anything to protect their interests. Don’t bother reporting to the bishop or taking it up with the archdiocese, they’d make you feel guilty, kill your spirit, while their business thrives. This is an act of gross negligence and you need to deal with this matter smartly. You sound like a woman of means but if oh are not careful, your resources might waste.

I’d suggest not to share any details of investigation (if you intend to carry out one) to anybody no matter how close. Carry on like nothing is wrong and mourn your child, surprise is the element here.

Be steadfast, you will need it and when you are armed with damning evidence (as judged sufficient by a good criminal lawyer) engage the services of the Nigerian police force (it will help if you can find a senior official with a sympathetic ears) before you move.

Also make sure you are covered in all areas, Catholic institutions are run like the mafia, they have agents everywhere and they’d do anything to protect their empire. I can tell you that because I have experienced it first hand.

If you can chase this up and do NOT, I repeat, do NOT engage in any form of mediation with them, they’d crush you.

But with the right tools, right support system and undeniable evidence armed with social media intervention, (you need to rally social media activists too) your case will be heard.

People can’t stay away or deny actual facts, dont look for sympathy, just act, if you can.

Then there’d be justice for Kaizen and other people who have been scarred by the the Catholic Church. I hope you can remember the OAP’s case (with the pastor of some big church?) and countless that have been resolved through this means.

You will be surprised at the amount of support you’d get, that’s if you are able to gather strong evidence, trust me, this won’t go away. Stay strong!

3. My point exactly Omeg! For once someone has said something reasonable. Thank you for all your condolences and then what?

19. Don’t know how to say this : Missionary School’s especially catholic schools are notorious for being to strict. They see every medical complaint as malingering. My brother in law almost lost his life while in a Catholic school. Another woman lost her child cause the school felt the child was malingering and when they released him, it was to late. When I read this and I saw Rev Sisters involved, I was not surprised. Parents should be involved with their PTA.

1. You are very correct!!! They are damn guilty of this. Releasing a student for a proper care is always difficult for dem. Mscheeew

2. My younger brother almost died too, because of a strict rev father. Thank God he reached the hospital alive.

20. 😢😢😢😢😢😢😢

21. This is so sad.
    May her soul rest in peace.

Please be comforted.

22. “She slept in the Lord in her school Uniform”
    I’m blinded by tears...
    This is heart wrenching.
    That girl died alone.
    And that school is supposed to be a good school,why didnt they take appropriate measures?

23. I am so sorry for your loss, may God give u the grace to move on.
    Aside from the school's negligence...I cant stop wondering why her sister didnt try to call home to inform that her sister is sick.

24. She wasn't eating and her own elder sister did nothing about it? I'm sorry for ur loss but the blame shouldn't be on d school alone. No prefect or teacher can monitor who has eaten or who hasnt in a school with a lot of students, her sister was in a better position to ensure she ate before taking her meds

1. What r u saying? Did the parents pay the school so their older daughter can watch the younger one? How about kids with no siblings in the school?

2. Really?

How can you blame another helpless student in this case the deceased sister?

What if the girl didn't have any sibling?

How old do you even think her "elder" sister is?

Do you know school have rules? What if they were not in same hostel?

Do you know if she did cry to teachers/hall wardens etc to pay more attention to her sister's health and she was waved off?

Do you know how strict Louisville is?

You can't even go there with provision for your kids as a parent. You can't visit if
      its not visiting days.

if you run a school with such strict measures then every single child you admit into that school is under care.

Why didn't the school call the attention of yhe parents when the child was ill? Even up until they rushed her to the hospital?

They only did when the child was dead.
      WTF????

I am just so upset this afternoon.

3. Bloggie, Its not new at all. They are fond of not wanting to call parents until a situation worsens just like in this case and it ought not be so at all. I am sure parents get to discuss things like this in their PTA meetings but still..
      This is d only area I think I can fault dem. Honestly, they can be very good in helping to discipline a child and making him/her very sound.

4. It's just so sad Sandy. Painful.

5. Anon 14;07..
      U sound stupid and daft.. Bcos u heard "Older sister" u concluded fast that she is 50yr old..
      Since d deceased is 9yrs,d older sister might be 10 or 11yrs..
      Now tell me how she is supposed to take care of her younger one in such situation? May sense fall on u.

***Chy Ozo***

6. In as much as i blame the school, anonymous is kinda correct. I had an elder sister while in boarding school and later a younger sister,my sister would rather be expelled or die self than see me totally neglected no matter how strict the school is,same with me and my younger sister. I'm not blaming the elder sister who must be a child herself but siblings in boarding schools tend to look out for each other (except the few with "skoin skoin"), I know this because I was a "boarder" for 6 years. I doubt if i'll ever let my kids go near a boarding house but parents who have their kids boarding should drum it into their ears to look out for each other no matter the consequences. Rest in peace little one,this is so sad mehn......

7. What are you saying and what are they saying??
      So you know how boarding school is set up??
      If the younger sister is in jss1 1,the elder sister should be in 2 or 3. That means they can't eat on the same table. At least that's how my own boarding school was. Each class had their own lane

Secondly, call home how?? Do you think they have phones?? Or there is a phone booth? They sister can't call home. Only the teachers, principals and nurses can call home. So the teachers, nurses, boarding house mistress should have done the needful.

The elderly sister ha so blame here. So don't blame another child. What if she didn't have a sister there?? Isn't the school suppose to take care of them all??

Another one asked above why she left her in the refectory. Who says she knew the sister didn't leave the refectory when they were done eating? Seeing they chase everyone out once food time is over. How would she have known she was lying down seeing they weren't sitting on the same place?? They only people that can see her are those who would clean up the table or those she was sitting with.

8. Honestly u guys should process your thoughts before typing..the sister who is equally a child has no blame in this matter. The school was danm irresponsible, period

9. Silhouette so ur sibling was a dr? Is that what u r saying? What was the elder sister to do? Did she have a phone? Do u not know how strict those schools are? U think she will want to leave her sister like that? Pls think before u write.

25. Take heart ma'am.💔😭 Bhet why are these catholic boarding schools fond of this particular nonsense? Like why cant they just kindly put a call through to a parent when his or her child falls ill?? They will rather choose to do their own thing their own way first. Theres this other very popular catholic boarding school here that does this same nonsense. I know this cos my siblings schooled there. This has really got to stop. They should better all be called to order and do d right thing henceforth.🙄

26. So sad may her soul rest in peace

27. Ooh Lord.
    Tears gathered in my eyes .
    RIP dear Kamzie. This is purely the result of being overly strict in a boarding school.

28. My eyes got teary reading this post
    Missionary schools especially the Catholic schools can be annoyingly strict with their very wicked set of rev.sisters.
    The elder sister probably had no way to reach her parents to inform them she was sick..
    May God rest her soul and i hope she gets justice

29. This does not happen only in secondary school. I remember in January that i had to rush to one of Private Universities in Ekiti State. My daughter was virtually abandoned in the school clinic and they were only pumping drip in her body. I ran with my two legs when her friends called me to come. The most annoying part was the fact that most of the Nurses there are Matrons (elderly women old enough to be her grand mother) yet they cared less.

1. Most, if not all of these private unis are glorified secondary schools. Thank God U were informed in time

30. The schoo management were negligent. But the elder sister should have kept an eye on her. May God console the family

1. Elder sister that is how many years? Did they state how many years d elder sister is? She could be a year or two older than Kamzie..How was she supposed to take care of a baby when she herself is also a baby? Is she a nurse? D way u people reason on dis blog is very annoying.

***Chy Ozo***

31. I pity the elder sister. They must have scared her away with their strictness.

RIP Kamzie

32. Oh my God. This news has spoilt my day. Poor baby with a bright future gone just like that. So sorry ma. Continue to rest in peace baby girl

33. I am deeply sorry for your loss madam.
    It is really sad and i do not pray that any other parents experience this

However I disagree with this comment:

She wasn't eating and her own elder sister did nothing about it? I'm sorry for ur loss but the blame shouldn't be on d school alone. No prefect or teacher can monitor who has eaten or who hasnt in a school with a lot of students, her sister was in a better position to ensure she ate before taking her meds.

My reaction to this is that in boarding school you may not be that close to your sister and they are all kids for goodness sake she may just hope she will get better.

if it is a big hall like the school i went to you may not even know if she ate or not and even if she knew, she may be handicapped. these schools can be very strict!!!

Now it is the school's responsibility to see to it that every child is paid a good degree of attention. For a child that has complained about being sick it is only normal for the school to pay attention to watch ever she was pretending or not! Matter of fact boarding school sick bays should be prohibited from sending any child away untreated!!! they were very fond of it in my Feggo days 20years ago that should have changed with the insurgent of various diseases these days. Its too barbaric.

House mistresses, class teachers etc should also watch out for these children. It's really sad but because I was a boarder myself I can just picture what really happened to this girl in that school.

To all other parents with kids in boarding houses please do a sincere assesment and if they are not good enough withdraw your kids. all these i want my children to be well trained and studious will only happen if your children are alive o. please.

1. Sickbay isn't suppose to give that girl medicine without food. Back when I was in school, even if you were pretending and you go to the sickbay, they must give you food. Even if you lie you have eaten, they won't hear that. They must give you food before you take your medicine. A nurse goes round to make sure people are eating. any time you finish your food, you take your drugs. Again, once they treat you for 3 days and it's not getting better, they get your people involved.

Her elder sister had no blame here at all. Because they could have been sitting at 2 far tables. She might not even know the girl didn't leave the refectory. I don't get how people are blaming another baby. The elder sister could be 11yrs old

34. this is so sad. no words can console the parents but I pray to God for comfort and strength. this is unfair

35. This is very very bad, see the way tears is dipping from my eyes, OMG boarding school I so hate it with passion, there's nothing like using your own hand to take care of your child, haba she's just a baby RIP kamzim...

36. Am so sorry for your loss,i don't want to imagine how you are feeling and your family. I pray to God to console you and family at this difficult time.

I was scared of sending my 9yrs daughter to secondary school, as she is so shy and quite, I had to make her stay in grade 6 while other students moved to secondary school from grade 5.i want her to be more mature and outspoken which is she is gradually doing now.

1. It is better mam.
      In my opinion boarding secondary school must be from age 10/11.
      But even if this child was 13 it doesn't take away the fact the school was highly incompetent.
      Alot of these so called sisters plus school nurses are wicked.
      If you know you don't have penchant for caring for young children. Why take the job ?????

37. Eeeyah..may her soul rest in peace.

I thank God I didn't die in boarding house, I was so sick but they wouldn't let me go, they said I was pretending, kept referring to the infirmary that had only paracetamol and septrin. One morning after mass I pleaded with 1 of the workers to take me out, as soon as I got home and saw my mum that was it, I woke up in the hospital later that day. Funny enough my mum said She had a bad dream and was about heading to my school and there I was. That was my last day in that school didn't even go back to pack my belongings.

38. This is sad.... omg😭😭 RIP

39. I cannot stop the tears from rolling down my cheeks and my colleagues are just wondering whats wrong with this woman. It hurts because i know how scared i am when any of my children become ill,is it the number of times i wake up in the middle of the night to touch their chest to feel their heart beat or how i pray endlessly for God's healing. Rest on Little one,God in his infinite mercy would comfort your parents and sibling.

40. This is the saddest story I have read in a while. This is heart breaking.

This was just pure negligence. I went to a boarding school, federal government girls college and this wasn't how it was done. They paid the most care to us. They gave us the best treatment when it came to our health. Whether you were pretending or not, you still get treatment. And they don't give drugs on an empty stomach. It's the duty of the nurses to force that child to eat before giving her drugs. Even if she lies that she has eating, you still force her to eat. Malaria drugs without food on the stomach is a disaster

1. Yes i went to fggc and it wasn’t like this cos we had guardians dat will call our parents sharp sharp. Or even takia of you themselves. All ds catholic strict schools are just something else

41. This is so sad!!! She was my sons classmate in year 5, very sweet girl, I couldnt help but notice her smile each time I went to pick my son. May God grant her family the fortitude to bear this painful loss.

1. ’year 5’ bawo? Please call your supplier, the SK might be adulterated!

2. Common stop it Anon 00:03! You people look for every opportunity to diagnose people with what you don't know. That's what some primary schools these days call their classes (year 1 etc).

42. Such a pretty lil girl, RIP beautiful one. May God Almighty console your family.

43. I fail to understand why Reverend Sisters are so wicked! Very wicked set of human beings! Tufiakwa!
    No child of mind will go any school run by a Reverend father or sister. Let them bear children first, feel the pains of childbirth and the joys of motherhood before I can release my children to them! Nonsense
    This is so painful! My heart bleeds!
    Rip Angel! Tell my dad I miss him everyday when you see him on the other side! Adieu.

44. This is so sad and touching. I pray her soul finds rest in the Lord. Such a beautiful young girl. It's so sad that she has to go this way. May your family find the fortitude to bear the loss.

45. All these schools should be held liable and made to take out millions in liability insurance. The reason for all these callousness in boarding schools,hospitals etc is because they are sure there won't be any consequences. Worst case one unconnected matron will be fired. If we must copy the West we should copy well. You don't allow wickedness under the guise of the "child was pretending" .Even if she was, they will still call the ambulance here.

I attended one of the FGGCs in the 80's. Every time I tell a Western friend I went to boarding school at 10 they always ask if my parents were divorced or if there was trouble at home. In most good, even not so good school districts, students all go from home. Private schools are fewer in the US at high school level. You buy your home based on school district rating. Most kids don't leave home till 18 for the first time. When they go to college. Even at that age, colleges hold orientation for the teens and their parents and I dare say they are always within 5 to 10 minutes of a world class hospital. Google "Redshirting". Affluent white people in New England states redshirt their kids because they believe that makes for better outcomes. No child should be in a boarding school at 6 like a commenter said her cousin is. How busy can you be? I work 14 hour days and there are folks here who are carrying out surgery lasting 18 hours. Hire a live in Nanny after a thorough background check. Pleaseee don't send your 9 or even 11 year old away with the present state of the country. May God comfort the parents and honor their faith. I lost my 37 year sister in a private hospital in that same Gwagwalada, I've never been there. They couldn't diagnose gall bladder infection which, if properly diagnosed might have saved my sister's life last year. Of course they took tons of money. I remember when I got the call I told the husband to put the phone in her ear, that she couldn't leave me like that, I practically raised her. I kept praying. After a while they took the phone from her ear. I suspect they don't even teach them CPR. They don't waste time to declare folks dead. Here you are doing CPR for a while.... I am still missing my sister. May God comfort the parents and punish the negligent staff.

46. All these schools should be held liable and made to take out millions in liability insurance. The reason for all these callousness in boarding schools,hospitals etc is because they are sure there won't be any consequences. Worst case one unconnected matron will be fired. If we must copy the West we should copy well. You don't allow wickedness under the guise of the "child was pretending" .Even if she was, they will still call the ambulance here.

I attended one of the FGGCs in the 80's. Every time I tell a Western friend I went to boarding school at 10 they always ask if my parents were divorced or if there was trouble at home. In most good, even not so good school districts, students all go from home. Private schools are fewer in the US at high school level. You buy your home based on school district rating. Most kids don't leave home till 18 for the first time. When they go to college. Even at that age, colleges hold orientation for the teens and their parents and I dare say they are always within 5 to 10 minutes of a world class hospital. Google "Redshirting". Affluent white people in New England states redshirt their kids because they believe that makes for better outcomes. No child should be in a boarding school at 6 like a commenter said her cousin is. How busy can you be? I work 14 hour days and there are folks here who are carrying out surgery lasting 18 hours. Hire a live in Nanny after a thorough background check. Pleaseee don't send your 9 or even 11 year old away with the present state of the country. May God comfort the parents and honor their faith. I lost my 37 year sister in a private hospital in that same Gwagwalada, I've never been there. They couldn't diagnose gall bladder infection which, if properly diagnosed might have saved my sister's life last year. Of course they took tons of money. I remember when I got the call I told the husband to put the phone in her ear, that she couldn't leave me like that, I practically raised her. I kept praying. After a while they took the phone from her ear. I suspect they don't even teach them CPR. They don't waste time to declare folks dead. Here you are doing CPR for a while.... I am still missing my sister. May God comfort the parents and punish the negligent staff.