Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Mama Tee Series -Collecting Things Not Needed...

Friday, January 26, 2018

Mama Tee Series -Collecting Things Not Needed...

Please what is this condition called?

I have over 50 pairs of shoes.
They are neatly arranged on the floor at a corner of my room and takes up almost a quarter of the room.
You may wonder why they are on the floor.

What am I doing with over 50 pairs of shoes when I'm not a celebrity?

This is why I think I need help.

My people, only about 10 pairs from these shoes are okay for me to wear.
Most of them are over 5yrs old, expired and bad, they are like jig-saw puzzle, neatly arranged and kept there. Others are now smaller than my feet especially the ones I had before I gave birth. The rest are just too high for me to wear, I only bought them to slay for a day. Lols.

The problem now is I can't bring myself to throw the bad ones away and give out the ones I don't need, I prefer to keep them there for reasons I can't explain. Maybe, just maybe, they serve as a form of room decoration with their many shapes and colours or they look like a form of achievement in life. Hahahahahahaha.

A childhood friend of mine collects handbags. Handbags from 10years ago up to the one she got last December all on display in her room. I can't remember how many they are now. Some have changed in colour looking like Joseph's coat of many colours, others have started shedding off their skin like a reptile. My friend still keeps them.

Fellow bvs, are we ok? Is there a name for our condition? Is there anyone in our 'shoes' here?
Heeeeelp!

Mama Tee

56 comments:

1. All I know is that hoarding is a form of illness or disorder.
    Some people find it hard to let go of material things even when it's of no use to them.
    What hoarders don't realize is that you can hardly require new items because you keep holding on to those old things and they make you feel like you don't need more things.
    Let them go, put the bad items in the trash no need deceiving yourself that it would be useful to someone else.
    If it's not good enough for you then it isn't for anybody else.

1. Doppelganger she said some are not her size anymore and some are too high for her, not all are bad.

2. This comment has been removed by the author.

3. Lol. Not all are bad. Some are just a size or two smaller while other good ones are high for me. Bought those ones for slaying at a special wedding ceremony or job interview.

I give out other things especially clothes and handbags, gave out a big Ghana must go bag of clothes last December. It's just the shoes that are hard for me to give out or throw away.

Doppel, but I still buy new shoes na, especially if I have a special family party like wedding ceremony. That theory of not buying new things doesn't work for me.
      I will try and give them out.

2. Lol...it's called, 'hoarding'. Abi you think say na only fuel people dey hoard?...hehehe

On a more serious note, it's a form of OCD too. You can read up about it and educate yourself.

3. hahahahaha na wa. I think you are ok. You are a collector of shoes.

Me i have clothes that are up to 7 years inside my drawers there. Dust don dey do yeye to them.

It is mostly suits trousers. Every time i go there and look at it. To give out self is a problem with the type of stories i hear. The things are just there.

One day i go park all burn. I am looking forward to burning all of them.

1. Yori yori NWA please don't burn them. Give it out to people who NEED them if they are still in good condition.

Me I don't hoard things. I hate overcrowding my room with unnecessary things. Thank GOD for the husband I married don't hoard unnecessary things,I for leave the room for him 😉
      I hate overcrowding my house,it breeds pests and other things in the house. Once you haven't used an item for a year and counting,isn't it sign for you to let go?

In other words,my mum can hoard for Africa. The "kiri kiri " star wrapper and all those hollandaise wrappers my father bought for her since 19 kpirigidim is still in her Akpati (box)

2. Please give them out to the needy and watch blessings fall on you.

3. I prefer to burn my things. People are wicked. You give with good intentions they go and use it to do juju against you. Except you can give to people who don't know you like giving out anonymously on the blog.

4. No juju will work when you give someone that needs it.just give out with a positive mind.

5. Love me jeje I also have plenty clothes, I give them out every year. I still have some office wears from my days of working in a company. gave some out and left some, I used to think I will be using them for church but as it is now, native have taken over. Will give those ones too out

6. Anon 14:19, it's only God that protects.
      If household enemies or area people want to jazz you, there are several means. It's not only through clothes or other personal items.

4. Lols😂
    U are fine nor..u are just to attached to them

5. It's called hoarding, keeping what you don't need. I also see it as poor mentality, you want people to see have many properties whereas they are useless.

Once I stop using something I give it out if it's still in good shape or throw them away. I hate wasting space.

1. Hehehehe anon, I don't even have visitors who will enter my room and see I have 'many properties'. They have their own space. They don't have any business in my room

6. Lols
    My own mum kept some of the things we her kids used as babies until some of us got married and gave birth. She then brought those things to us and said we should use them for our own kids too.
    She brought the napkins she used for me and asked me to use for my first born back then.

1. Hahahahahahaha

2. Your mama is the real hoarder kikiki

3. Lolol. No be small oga oh. Chai momma tuale! She no like to de waste things jare.
      You sef Mrs Gee, you for use am nah. Na the vintage wey oyibo de talk be that ain't it?
      Like "he proposed with his mom's ring!" and we go awwww
      "I wedded in my grannie's dress, it's been a family tradition for the past xx years" and we go uuhhhh.
      I need to give your mom a super greeting.

7. My mum is just like this,keeping things that are of no use,if I decide to rearrange the house the next I hear is,dont trow anything away oooo,let me not find my stuffs oooo.she can hoard eehhh

8. This is funny. It's cause your house is big that's why you are keeping them. If you have a small space like you are living in one room, you will not keep unwanted items

1. You are right. Assuming you are living with somebody like I'm doing, only your shoes will take up quarter of the room? Impossible

2. Mummy J you have a point sha
      When I was living with my aunt, I only had one big box and one travel bag for clothes. One Ghana must go bag was for shoes and handbags. Those were my only properties hahahaha. No keeping of things anyhow

9. yori yori, instead of burning take them to motherless baby's home.

thank you.

10. Lol mama T my own is clothes o..I hardly give them out but this new yr I tried and gave out some out.

11. It's called hoarding. I think it's a disorder. I use to watch a reality programme about hoarding on TLC, i can't remember the name right now. They literally use to force those peeps to let go of their belongings. It's an eyesore.

12. My own is shopping what I will end up not using or will fairly use them and give it out. Anytime I go out and come across any wear (clothes, bags n shoes) that I like I must buy it execpt my money no reach.
    I hv decided to stop going out with enuf money so that I can reduce this crazy act of mine.

1. I used to have this problem too when I was still a single Lagos big babe. If I go out and spend all the physical cash, I will still use ATM and withdraw more to buy stuff especially at that old Oshodi Isale, Aswani and balogun market. But now that I'm a mum, nobody told me to stop buying things anyhow.

13. My sister in-law is very good when it comes to hoarding he hardly trow things away, she has old calendars,old and disfigured pots and plates, even empty cream packs inside her room, the worst part is that she will not allow anyone arrange her room for her, the day I try to arrange her room, I asked her throw the old calendars, and old pots she said no the useless items always remind her of something, eg the calender reminds her the date she took her first holy communion etc.

14. My own is shopping what I will end up not using or will fairly use them and give it out. Anytime I go out and come across any wear (clothes, bags n shoes) that I like I must buy it execpt my money no reach.
    I hv decided to stop going out with enuf money so that I can reduce this crazy act of mine.

15. It's known as hoarding
    I used to think it's all these old women that that hoard things. Mama tee are you an old woman? Lol

16. Mama Tee oya send me your address make I come collect some as a co series writer that we are, 😉

1. Hahahha my oga, shoes are the least of your worries na.
      Ok,I'm in Lagos, what is your size? I'm just joking. I know you aint't serious

17. Hoarding or whatever, it's stingness_ Aka gum

1. Madam I am not stingy o. I give anyhow sef.

18. Mama ee you should try and give out the good ones that you are not wearing. then dispose the bad ones. You are not alone, my friend hoards things including used toothbrush. If you check where she keeps her toothbrush in the bathroom, you will count up to ten used toothbrushes. They are there collecting fresh air. When she s washing her bathroom, she cleans all of them and arrange them back in the toothbrush holder.

1. Hahahaahahahaha, your friend is the real chief hoarder.

19. It is called Hoarding, I really do away with things I don't use anymore every December, but my colleague in the office can hoard for africa, her matter self don tire me. My yoriryori Biko try and do away with some of them

20. Mama tee I look forward to your series these days. So much to learn in the comment section. I never knew this is called hoarding until now. Well done ma.

21. That anon that the friend is keeping used toothbrush. That one will be called extreme hyper hoarding oh. Lol

22. Try to give some out. As my first daughter outgrew her clothes,I gave them out same way not minding the fact that shingbai NP gum for my pocket. I realised that each time I gave out,i always have something new. Now I have another girl and she isn't naked. I also think people who do not let things go emotionally tend to be hoarders too.

23. Mama tee "hoarding" is what you are doing and it is not a disease but can be a slight form of OCD...As you explained yours you are just one of those people who like see their investments...well I suggest you dash the good ones out so that you have room for new shoes or don't you want to acquire new shoes????

LEP😛

24. I remember when i got to JSS 3, my school gave us(students) list of the books we need to buy and read for junior WAEC. I took the list to my mum, she went through them. When she was done, she said 40 percent of the books were at my grandma house. That most of the books she and her siblings used while in secondary school were still intact. My grandma was very strict, that made my mum and her siblings to be very careful with their text books because she will beat nonsense out of them if they misplaced any of their text books. I didn't take my mum serious until she travelled the following month to go and visit her mum and she returned with a small Ghana must go bag. When I opened the bag, I saw several text books. Opening the books one after the other I saw names of my mum and her siblings including one of late sister. I went to school with some of the them when I resumed and before the end of 1st term, I misplaced them. My mum gave me another set the following term and I still misplaced them. She was very angry with me. Imagine me displacing (3) statistics tables and formulas which belong to her and two of her sisters, (2) the lion and the jewel and several others less than how many months? My grandma and their generation really tried. They know how to keep things for years

25. I don't like keeping old thing, most especially clothes and shoes, I feel at peace with myself when I give out my used clothes to the people my heart picked.

26. Hnmmm My mum sabi keep old things!!! It gets me angry like crazy😀 but I just love her jare. What can I do?

27. This is funny. Your total room floor divided into four places is for shoes alone? You need epp. lol

28. What I find hard to let go out of are books, greeting cards etc. Especially those of great sentimental value.
    Clothes, shoes, are of little consequences and I actually enjoy seeing other people wearing my stuff and appreciating it.

29. Obsessive compulsive hoarding can be mild like your own to severe. You will have problems adapting to change generally and overly critical of people whos values don't align to yours. The day someone cleans it up for you, you will almost run mad. That is When you know it is a disorder. My mum is like this. She's 65 and still wears her maternity gown of almost 40 years ago. She neat thankfully but the load is too much. She has 2 large wardrobes, a chest drawer, one vanity and 2 bed side tables but she's almost sleeping on the floor because of books and files that she piled on her bed. It is aggravating I won't lie. She's beginning to take over the sitting room with paper work too.

30. I don't believe this qualifies as OCD, even mild OCD. The 10 toothbrushes do though! You are supposed to change that is throw away toothbrushes after 3 months of use. Besides who will take or use your used toothbrush? Even if it's Sonic electric $120 toothbrushe, no one should use anybody's toothbrush as you will contact oral diseases. There are shopaholics though. They have to buy everything, even things they don't need. It's a psychological disorder. Please throw used undies and toothbrushes away please!

The fear of Jazz is real but Jesus is above all powers. I also prefer to give my used clothes and my husband and children's used clothes to a Goodwill and Salvation Army location . I don't want wahala. I'm hoping someone can set up a " Goodwill or Salvation Army type" warehouse in Nigeria so folks can bring loads of stuff for sale to the less privileged at N50 or such prices as they do here. And most of the donations are really good stuff, because we have 4 seasons, most children's summer clothes are literally brand new by the next summer. Mrs Stella, over to you. I will personally mobilize to support it if it happens as I've always had a day dream of setting up a soup kitchen and shelter in the home country. You have the platform and connections!