Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Introducing Nigeria's Tennis Sensations 'The Yakubu Sisters'

Thursday, February 08, 2018

Introducing Nigeria's Tennis Sensations 'The Yakubu Sisters'

Oiza and Nene Yakubu are beginning to make waves together ... They started playing tennis at a young age and already winning laurels. 

Ozi-oiza Josephine Yakubu the eldest, was born in 2005. She started playing Tennis at the age of 6 years. She was introduced to the game of Tennis by her mum who was a former tennis player in Nigeria. Presently she attends Gibraltar secondary school in Ogba Lagos and she is in J.S.S. 3. She has gone twice to train at United States Tennis Trainer Academy in Berlin Germany .

She is currently ranked No 5 in Under 16 in the whole of West and Central African at the age of 12 years a feat non has achieve in the whole of West Africa which she qualify to represent Nigeria in Tunisia April 2018.

She and her team won the Under 16 team game in Togo for Junior Fed Cup qualification which will take place in Egypt June 2018. They will be representing Nigeria and also west and Central Africa.

She is currently ranked No 1 in the 12 and Under Girls category in Nigeria.

She was ranked No 2 in West / Central Africa under 12 last year with her team, Oiza Yakubu with 2 other girls Iye Onoja, Serena Teluwu(Team Nigeria) secured Nigeria a ticket and won a sliver medal at the AJC ITF/ West and Central Africa.
She represented Nigeria with 2 other girls in African Junior Championship 12 & under Team event in Casablanca Morocco September 2017; they were ranked 8th position in Africa.

She is Winner CBN 12 and under National Tennis Championship (March 2017)
Winner George Town Junior Tennis Tournament 2017 (under 12 Girls February 2017)
Winner of Governors cup 12 and under October 2017

In January 2016 she represented Nigeria at the African Junior Championships [12 and under Category] held in Abuja and she was ranked 7 in West Africa.

She is Winner MLMTP Tennis Open Under 10. (2015)

Runner-up at the FAAN Tennis Tournament (under 12 categories (2015)

Ohunene Yakubu was born in 2008; she started playing Tennis at age 6 yrs. She is currently the under 10 champion in Nigeria. She also attends Gibraltar Nur/Pry School Ogba, Lagos. She is in basic six.

She was Winner of CBN 10 and under National Tennis Championship (2017)
Winner of Junior Governors cup 10 and under October 2017
Winner of the MLMTP Under and Open (2015)

Congratulations little darlings!

22 comments:

1. Whao!!! Congrats girls. ....higher ground in Jesus name

2. Ok. Good for her.
    They should relocate abroad though cos tennis players nor dey get money in naija. Infact if u are in any sport apart from football or u play football in local league then O.Y.O is your name....

Im certain im not the only one who skipped over all those no.1 in this, no.2 in that, no.30 in that one.

Yawnsssssssssssss

3. Very good talents... But this their picture sha.

1. What is wrong with their picture? Was yours any better?

2. Eka you don't have to be rude,learn to be civilised.

TZ

4. Venus & Serena in the making. Their parents should invest greatly in them o or relocate abroad if they have the means for better training..

5. Congratulations girls! Nice move. I want my children to join badminton team, small small we will get there by His grace

6. Ebira girls, we no dey carry last

1. yes oh our Kogi sisters doing us proud 💋💋

2. Illiterate talk

7. Coming from you, with your picture that have seen here, this your comment is hilarious

8. Good children that brings glory and honour to their family. Continue to soar higher

9. yes ooo, i am so proud to be part of these kid's life o, many more feathers to their caps in Jesus name.

10. That it is, when parent get focused, you can train your children. Not that you will just be giving birth like pig.

11. Weldone girls. Parenting goals

12. Soon they will be sponsored by best tennis racket brands.