Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: New Generation Banker Arraigned For Allegedly Stealing N5.1m From Customers

Tuesday, February 13, 2018

New Generation Banker Arraigned For Allegedly Stealing N5.1m From Customers

A 31-year-old former bank worker, Augustine Ononiwu, was yesterday arraigned before an Ikeja Magistrates’ Court for allegedly stealing N5.1 million from customers.

The defendant, who lives at Ikeja, is facing a two-count charge of conspiracy and stealing before Magistrate J.O. Awope. The prosecutor, Assistant Superintendent of Police (ASP) Ezekiel Ayorinde, told the court that the defendant and others still at large conspired to steal the cash. He said the offence was committed between August 2017 and January at Ogba, Lagos.

Ayorinde said the defendant, who worked in the domestic fund transfer unit of the bank, was to process recall of erroneous customers’ transfer with the bank. According to him, “the defendant diverted several customers’ recalled funds that were expected to be credited to other banks to his personal use. The theft was discovered when one of the beneficiaries who had yet to be credited came to the bank to complain”.

The prosecutor said when the bank investigated the matter, it was discovered that the defendant debited the bank and “fraudulently credited his accomplices”. The accused pleaded not guilty. Magistrate Awope granted him N1 million bail with two sureties in the like sum and adjourned the case till February 19.

From the nation

6 comments:

1. Na wa. All these bankers self greed will not kill them one day.

Once they see monies, they ears and eyes will pop open
    #I don't look for God, He is inside of me#

2. These ppl need to undergo psychological testing before getting hired. How can one industry attract so many thieves.

3. I know this boy na... We work in the same bank. I'm in an Abuja branch.
    No wonder most of the recalls I have never get back to the customers as his response is always that we are waiting for a response from the beneficiary bank. Even for one that the customer now came and said the beneficiary said she gave her consent since last year. Na wa o.
    Is 5m worth all this trouble??? On the system sef, he has been offline for 35 days... Ha! And my BM even sent him a mail today requesting for a recall of funds. Lemme kuku show her this story.

4. I didn't believe it when I heard the gist but this is confirmation that it's true. He was almost at the end of the dark tunnel, looking at the light shining a few metres away and he spoilt it in a twinkle of an eye.
    You had worked fo almost 10years and you would have been converted to permanent staff, only if you had been patient. Th devil played a fast one on you.

5. This is an eye-opener to all of us working in banks. We MUST BE CONTENTED AND INSULATE OURSELVES FROM UNNECESSARY PRESSURES. Imagine how Augustine don allow him village people to yeye him name. #OlorunMajeO