Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian Man Narrates Near Death Experience With Arik Air Flight From Lagos To Accra

Thursday, March 08, 2018

Nigerian Man Narrates Near Death Experience With Arik Air Flight From Lagos To Accra

OMG!!!!

This report was sent in by Blog visitor Cousin to the Narrator...

''I boarded Arik air flight W3304 to Accra on Tuesday 06/03/2018. The name of the aircraft is STEPHEN. It was a Dash 8 NextGen propeller aircraft. The flight took off precisely 7.20pm (Lagos time)

35 minutes into the 55 minutes flight, I started perceiving something smelling like a burning stuff. Shortly after the guy sitting next to me asked if I perceived any smell of burning stuff and that confirmed my worst fears. Before you could say jack, smoke has filled the cabin. The air hostesses were busy scampering around opening the cabins and the lavatories to check if they could trace the source of the smoke without success.

While that continued, the oxygen masks that were always being advertised during the safety demo prior to take-off couldn't be released instead we were handed tissue papers (otherwise called serviets) to use to cover our noses to minimize and filter out possible carbon monoxide inhalation.

About 5 minutes after, precisely with 15 minutes of flight time remaining, the pilot came on the public address system to inform us that they have smoke coming into the cabin and that they don't know the source and that they have DECLARED EMERGENCY".

At that point we knew that our lives were only in God's hands. Everyone prayed to his/her Gods.

To the glory of God, the flight successfully landed by 8.15pm (7.15pm Accra time) to the waiting of several fire service trucks at Kotoko International airport, Accra.

We were evacuated into a waiting bus with instruction to leave everything behind in the cabin. Sadly there was no Arik official to address us neither was there any manner of first aid attention given to the passengers to manage stress and possible elevated blood pressures.

After a while our cabin luggage were brought to us and we had to leave from there to go through the Ghana immigration to our individual destinations.

I'm highly discouraged that this near crash major incident was not reported in the media 2 days after (today is 08/03/2018) and I suspect a cover up by Arik and the authorities. So I have chosen to use the social media to ensure this news gets out.

Kindly keep forwarding this message till everybody is made aware of the quality and kind of services Arik air gives and the possible cover ups before something terrible happens''.

53 comments:

1. There’s airpeace and you went to fly arik! Arik!! You might aswell have trekked since you like long suffering

2. Arik aircraft's are all less than 10 years. Some are as new as 5years. Better to fly newer aircraft than airpeace's 20yr old, refurbished aircraft's.

2. Pls which is a better airline to travel with in Nigeria?

1. Airpeace for sure

2. God is Good Motors

3. Which airpeace.. that my uncle also died.. lag to ph.. they were all crying amd shouting. Few mins after takeoff the pilot couldnt control the plane
      It was wobbling.. till God restored everythg.. na GOd go help us for this country

4. Just go by road.

Airpeace is now worse than Arik so don't go there.

Nigeria doesn't have any good airline

5. Almost died oo

6. Best Airline to travel with is your FAITH..... Even if d plan is programmed to crash! For d fact that you a child of GOD stepped on it with Faith, nothing go happen. Even d best of d best crashes/ encounter mishaps.... Remind me was it not a POSH that killed Paul Walker( fast and furious).

7. Please don't mention Paul Walker. I still haven't gotten over the fact that he's dead and gone

8. Arik. Their delays have drastically reduced. They are on point safety wise.

9. Young, guo, chisco, African eagle & GUO is best for Ghana & amongst within Nigeria, Libra & OKEYSON is OK too I love my life, even anything wan happen make I pick my body small Hian, I hardly do flight these days since my incidence with arik lag to ABJ 2014,my flight was delayed for almost 2days I missed my show & had to be bal the money am paid for the show yet arik devil airline refused to refund me wicked, stupid senseless airline

3. No air plane is safe in Nigeria, all of them are the same.

1. Greed wont let them bring in the good ones, thats why Richard branson pulled out Virgin Air.

4. Airpeace airline

5. I tier for this Arik air, the first time I took a flight from Kad to Lag with them it was just as if I boarded 'sole' after changing the departure time o 10mins to drop people at Jos it took them 25mins just that there's always affordable to some extent.

1. What?? I cannot understand a word you typed!!!

6. Thank you for not keeping quite

1. Quiet my lovelynot quite.,thank me now.

7. Another Mayday mayday call

God have mercy

8. Cant this people be penalized ? like their license siezed or something

9. Nawaoo for all this our Nigerian airline

10. Why would something like this not be reported in the media? Was it reported in the Ghana media? No matter the cost, spend money with safe airlines that don't have a history of controversy. Not everything in this life is worth being cheap on. Just because of saving a few dollars you would put your life at risk, how many stories must be told? Imagine the oxygen mask in an airplane cannot come out in an emergency situation, what if it was a longer flight. Stop taking chances with your lives because of cheap fares!

1. Ur obvious not in nigeria what os cheaper fares, who is beinv cheap,using arik air its mlone of the prestigous local flights

2. There are no drop down oxygen masks in the Dash 8-Q400. Oxygen masks also only deploy during a decompression. First aid is given to injured people. All pax were disembarked without any injuries or incidents what so everso what was the need for first aid? Who knows what other falsities are contained in this story?

11. Please, abeg, biko, anybody travelling from Lagos or Abuja to Accra take African World Airlines! They are far far better than the flying coffins we have in Naija!

1. With those tiny aircrafts that can't go through a little turbulence without discomfort?
      Abeg make we just put everything for God hand because na only God dey help person...

2. Anon, you are correct abeg. I almost felt claustrophobic the first time I flew an AWA plane from Accra to Kumasi. What calmed my nerves apart from my rosary of course was the Nigerian jams they played throughout the flight

12. Wawuuu God have mercy. I think Virgin is quite ok

13. If I type sh*t I know about aria, many Nigerians won't board their local/regional flights. My sister used to work as a hostess on their local/regional routes before she tendered her resignation. I always used to dream about plane crash when she was working with them. No airline in Nigeria is safe o, just pray to God for safety.

14. Stupid arik that I used from Accra to Lagos and the yeye hostess was misbehaving one bleached thing with her yeye make up and sponge weavon,sh was lucky I was not in the mood cos of the distress call I got I for give her fire for fire

1. LMAO....
      Thanks to God u kept ur cool my dear.

2. if i dey travel i no dey fight o, til i reach my destination most especially if na plane i enter

15. No airline is worth it in Nigeria plus FAAN and the airport authorities keep covering up these people, is it when an aeroplane crashes that the Minister of Aviation will wake up to his responsibilities

16. Arik and their wack services and rubbish planes.i will never board any of their flights again,those people showed me something,I've boarded Arik flight from London to Lagos before,it was agony,we practically travelled all the way to naija with our hearts in mouths,prayed all through the flight,the fuel tank was leaking fuel,one of the engines stopped working.It was by GOD'S grace we landed safely.

17. No Airline in Nigeria is better
    It's God's mercy
    The last time I went with Airpeace to Abuja
    Departure for Lagos was 1pm, we didn't leave until 4pm.
    Na God jare

18. So why didn't the media report it??? No body heard anything about it. What a conspiracy!!! Thank God for their lives.

19. Thank God one of the passengers opened up. My Aunt was on the same flight, and she is still traumatized. The smoke almost choked them. Pure human error!!! And no press release from Arik or the govt. What a shame! So many things buried under the carpet in this country. God save this country.

1. smoke can't be human error. No pilot will gather firewood and start cooking on board. Abi you were on the flight and you're the guilty culprit?

2. Maybe your aunt was overwhelmed by the smoke she inhaled on the Danfo she rode to the airport or the body odor that is normally present on these flights.

20. You no even thank ur God that u landed safely and you're looking for cheap popularity, craming all the digits and words in the airplane.... Mtcheeeeew

1. And u r mad

2. Am not sure u are alright

3. I'm not, and u're afraid of me that's why u hid Under anonymous

4. ''Kindly keep forwarding this message till everybody is made aware of the quality and kind of services Arik air gives and the possible cover ups before something terrible happens''. Ikechukwu pls read again the writer's aim. Thank you

5. ikechukwu you are a very stupid human...idiot..cheap popularity, do you know him from this write up? so how has this individuals popularity shot up when u cant even place a face to his name? may sense fall on you....oponu rada rada

6. Emergency situations happen. The pilot took the right decision. The crew were proactive and acted according to their training. That's why the writer is safe and sound and mentally okay to write the story even if slanted to discredit arik without any solid proof. Arik had a solid record of an internationally acknowledged high maintenance standards when it comes to safety. Your comfort maybe not so much...

21. Guys kindly check 'passengers your attention please' on YouTube u will see a history of air disaster including cabin fire happening to some of the world best airline even on brand new planes. These faults do happen but it takes professional pilot effort to put the plane down as fast as possible to avoid/reduce loss of lives. However, Arik air should have done better in terms of care given to the passengers on landing.

1. Care will be given of anyone was injured or needed it. Nobody was the writer of the story inclusive. Expecting oxygen in a smoke filled cabin, is like using petrol to quench a fire. Doesn't make sense does it?