Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Banker Tales....

Monday, April 16, 2018

Banker Tales....

Tales from a former Banker who says other Bankers are free to join in and tell theirs after she is done telling it all...

‘Come now’, ‘bring your CV to my branch’, ‘be fast’ she said. ‘We have only today to submit names’. This was my sister, she works with one of the banks.

Apparently, they were doing some in house recruitment that wasn’t publicised. They were to submit Cvs before close of business that day for onward forwarding. At branch level, they didn’t know what positions the bank was recruiting for but I had been home for almost a year after service and desperately needed a job.

I quickly dropped what I was ordering on FM Nigeria site and landed at her office armed with my Cv and ready for an interview sef….lol. She collected the CV, the collating officer took my name and phone number then returned the CV. Within a week, I got an invite for an interview on my phone. The invite was from another company.

I was puzzled, I didn’t apply for any job at this company, I do not even know them and have never heard of them. I got the text at 2pm on Tuesday and was supposed to be at the interview in another city with original copies of all my credentials by 12pm on Wednesday. 

In my state of confusion, my sister called and I could hear the excitement in her tone; ’did you get the text?’ ‘Did they send you text?’ They say the bank is using an outsourcing firm and they have sent out invites. Oh, ‘I got it’ I said excited about the invite for the first time. I quickly dialed the number on the text; pleaded for time because I would have to travel down and get interviewed the same day. They gave me an hour grace and asked me to take first Bus.

I was glad, too happy to notice the rudeness of the lady who had just granted me permission. This was my first step into modern slavery.

Sis is a real banker and had told me what clothes to borrow from her wardrobe and prepped me for banking questions. I was armed and ready for whatever comes. I travelled on Wednesday with first bus as advised. Got to town and took the very expensive jolly-just-come cab to the venue (I showed the cab man the text) got to the venue and my heart sank. We were just too much, the place was rowdy and disorganized.

I went to write attendance and I was number one thousand six hundred and something something, the announcement that they were just about to start with interviews and will not attend to the mogbo-moya people did not help. I was hungry by now and upset too. Since morning! With this number of people, its almost 2pm and we are just calling number one? Chaiiiiiiii! When did number one even come? I wasn’t even the last person o, people kept trooping in. Couldn’t leave that place to go eat anything reasonable for fear of being locked out. Ah! After all my travel, I will not do interview because of food? Even if I am a twin, I can’t be Easau na. ...LMAOOOOOO

At about 8:23pm or thereabout, it was my turn. I kid you not; the hall was dark, I couldn’t even see the face of my interviewer and my face was now different shades, I used cheap make up those days and was under the scorching sun for hours. I got in there, they asked for my CV and photocopies of my credentials and two passport photograph, I handed them over. I could tell the ‘I better pass my neighbour generator’ they rented couldn’t power the hall properly, I mean few fans and electric bulbs were turned on but it did nothing compared to the suffocation we were experiencing. Both interviewer and interviewee were uncomfortable so I didn’t think it awkward that no questions were asked. I mean I travelled all the way to submit CV and passport. This was a really brief interview. I left with the usual promise of ‘we will get back to you’.

I got back to base and never received any call or text message for about a week. Then my sister-Informant called me one day; ‘how far? Any text from them?’ no I replied her and I could hear her disappointment. The following day, I got mine. The text asked we check our email for the necessary forms to print out fill and return to the address on text message I did so. The forms included guarantor forms, bio data form and even oath of secrecy for a job I haven’t gotten.

This time, we were fewer and we had a proper interview with bank EDs. This was serious, thanks to my borrowed clothes and shoes, I looked good. Luckily for me, I wasn’t asked any banking question, I was asked to talk about my previous job. The Eds were confused about what schools their kids should attend and I broke it down for them based on my experience at a previous job. The lady amongst them was really impressed, she called a staff of the outsourcing firm to make sure I was employed even if it was with another bank.

A few weeks later, I found out through my informant that training was starting by the following week Monday. I wasn’t called back, I got the address of interview from someone and landed at training center uninvited. They drove me out, I refused to leave, I wasn’t the only one, and we followed the guy in charge everywhere he went.

He told us he was going to a certain bank, we followed. Once I entered with him, I cited a lady inside the bank, I ran to greet her. She used to be our neighbor way back at my place. She was surprised when i introduced myself to her. The ‘you have grown so big’ statements and all followed and then questions about that brought me to town….. I answered her in all honesty.

Little did I know the guy we have been begging owed her favors and he repaid her with my employment letter though to another bank and not the one I trained with.

It was when I got my employment letter I realized I was begging my way into modern slavery. But what can a young girl do? I was ready to work and willing to climb the ladder gradually, maybe one day I will be CEO self….. 

Isn’t that the kind of grass to grace stories we read?

20 comments:

1. Not easy at all. It is well

2. Congratulobia, at least you got the job.

3. Awww. I love this gist already. Please continue.

4. I detest bank job with passion....

5. hmmmmmm i am sure it is a contract job you got. Because they will so use people and not give you guys anything. It is well.

I love your story. Me i cannot work in a bank ooo

6. My advice to you, after your probation period, try and get letters from them for overseas holiday, don't depend solely on the 70k+. I was in your shoes 8years ago, I was smart about it, I liaised with my hr and I got letter for my holidays. I am permanently settled in the UK now. If you are smart, though the money is small but the benefits therein is huge.

7. wow! Please all bankers should come down here and tell us their own experience. For me, I've always hated banking jobs and the first attempt I made to submit my cv to the then "Intercontinental Bank" Kaduna branch, the crowd alone discouraged me...

Instead, I applied for a teaching job, thought for like 1.5years before I got my first IT appointment with Rivers State Government.

I am currently on my own doing well as a consultant.

8. Kudos bae. You have improved in your writing skills. This one is better. Keep it up

9. Jesus stella please let me write my tale ..Modern slavery no be small.i worked with one for two years oh i resigned lastyear may.i developed low blood pressure.Stella i leave the house 4:15am come back 10pm.hello!!!No relationship no personal life ..low blood pressure..Ibwas doing it cos of my mum oh d woman suffered for us abeg so those alert every month wey i dey give her dey sweet me.but when i couldnt any more i left .Abeg bank work no be am.i dont envy them .My saving grace is my handwork oh i have set myself up now i dont intend doing 9-5 again...I dont miss those days ..Getbto work they talk to you anyhow ..My fat shapeless boss will bring her own saddist life and pour on you like say na we say make she over fat .Infact bank wprk ...rum for your life when you can .

1. hahahahahaha choi na wa.

Me i hate the bank job. Kudos to those that work there

2. Honestly bankers are suffering and smiling, only those that have worked there will tell you. Don't envy the designer shoes, suits and bag plus the banking environment. All na wash. I left last year. I am broke and very happy. I was rich and very depressed at the bank.

10. Lmao!

Eagerly waiting for more.

I just might send in my own banker tales.

11. WORKED IN A BANK FOR THREE YEARS I ALMOST WENT MAD COS OF STRESS U CAN NEVER HAVE UR PERSONAL LIFE U WILL BE GOING TO WORK ANGRY COS OF WORK WORK WORK WEEEKNDS BECAME SUPER SHORT THE MINUTE I GOT ANOTHER JOB OFFER I RAN WITHOUT LOOKING BACK, CURRENTLY AM ENJOYING MY NEW JOB AND NO HARASSMENT FROM ANNOYING BOSSES

12. If I start to talk ehnnnn. My eyes see weeeennn

13. Imagine working like a donkey for 60k stated in your appointment letter only to receive 36k at the end of the month. If I start to talk... Ecobank God is watching you pipu!

14. I love my bank work till tomorrow. Salary is on point and comes unfailingly at a particular date. Upfront and other allowances nko. Most of the people saying "I hate banking work" can't even afford 5k.It opens you up to a lot of opportunities.#happybanker

1. Is it not because you are working in a good bank and you are not a contract staff? Please allow those being used and paid like slaves to vent their dissatisfaction abeg. If you don't know what to say Please keep kwayet and face your front!