Egbedi had gone to court to complain about the broken teeth injuries she sustained when she attended a crusade organized by the clergy.
Delivering judgement in suit no. LD/359/2011, Justice SBA Candide Johnson said that from the evidence adduced by the parties, it was clear that Ms. Tamara suffered injuries at the venue while attending the crusade. Mrs Egbedi sustained injuries when some of her family members attended the end of an anointing service organised by the defendants at the National Stadium in Lagos.
The plaintiff in her statement of claims had said she lost seven teeth and suffered other injuries when she fell into an uncovered concrete gutter running in between the seats. She said she informed Rev. Kwakpovwe at the end of the service, who handed her over to Mrs. St. Matthew Daniels, a senior member of the church, who, in turn, asked her to get an estimate of her treatment bill from the Lagos State University Teaching Hospital Ikeja (LASUTH) Dental Centre.
She did as she was told and said that to her surprise, the defendants instead of doing the needful, told her they were helping her out of charity. She said the defendants soon changed their co-operative attitude by denying liability after her lawyers, in a March 3, 2010 letter demanded compensation. They had insinuated that the plaintiff’s threat to go to court smacked of gold digging and expressed readiness to “meet you in court.”
From the Nation
Lols.
ReplyDeleteOh dear
DeleteWell there was an uncovered gutter.....
DeleteNa waah ooooo, seven teeth chaa.
ReplyDeleteVery good!
ReplyDeleteNigerians are now becoming very aware of their rights.
Imagine losing 7 teeth just like that, and the humanity in him didn't allow him to do all within his powers to assist her.
Accidents happens,my grouse with the church is why won't they have a PR arm to handle issues like this or better still get the services of PR agency on retainership to take care of things like this.
DeleteIssues like this would have been nipped in the bud before getting to this stage,but like everything in Nigeria we care less about public perception once we feel we are dealing with someone of a lesser societal standing.Religious bodies and leaders inclusive.
But wait o... U went for a church program nobody forced u,u fell down nobody pushed u, why should D church be held liable for ur carelessness... Hmmmmmm.... It is well!!!
ReplyDeleteStill thinking like a cave man, and u call yourself miss diaspora. The act/omission by the church is called negligence. You're such a snowflake. The gutter ought to have bn properly covered or a sign put up, informing people of the danger.
DeleteMiss Diaspora I assume you live in the diaspora like your name suggests and should know better she fell unto an uncovered gutter running through the seats.It is the responsibility of the church to make sure attendants are safe in the premises they hired for the crusade. There is a case of a teenager that had electric shock in a tap where he went for a drink of water in a public park, she ended up paralyzed. Her family sued the council for a million dollars and they won. This happened in a western country.
DeleteYou are part of the problem.
DeleteOMG! in SDK voice!
DeleteI put it to you that you are not in the diaspora, just tell us the cave that you are in my dear.
My dear ,go and read up on what 'duty of care' means.
Please change your name to something else ,thank you!
If I'm deducing correctly, the court delivered judgment after 8 years. Naija justice system..na wa oh!
ReplyDeleteThis case is still on. Long time, Dr Chris settle her, God will replenish you. I was in that program.
ReplyDeleteOur mumu don dey do small small. That's the owner of our daily manna. That money us like #100 recharge card to him.
ReplyDelete'Uncovered concrete gutter' why have a church in such environment?
ReplyDeleteSomething like this happened to me years ago. I was in a fellowship programme. Ministration was ongoing when I heard " that Sister in pink, it's on you ". Then I felt myself falling but controlled my fall so I fell on my hands but before I could pick myself from the floor, one aunty just fell with her whole weight on my head! Na so I carry teeth nack ground. Oh, the pain! I got up and was sure I'd lost all my teeth. It turned out that one tooth was cracked(not broken), and shifted. I couldn't talk well cos it was protruding .
ReplyDeleteWhen I got home, my mom was almost in tears, my dad was furious. He asked for the Minister's name. Said he'll sue him....They thought I'd lose the tooth. Said he gave birth to a beautiful daughter and somebody has disfigured her ...lol.
I sha went to the Dentist and I still have my tooth till today. It hurts sometimes sha. Sorry for the epistle...lol
Lmao
DeleteLol
DeleteHaaahaaaa! Your dad's comment cracked me up,lol! Caring parents😍
DeleteGlad to hear that you didn't lose your tooth.
That man to too rich nah 10milion is a change to him nah
ReplyDeleteJust passing 🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶🚶
ReplyDeleteNa Wa ooooo. You left the confine of your home to a church program, who compel you to attend the program. We should have reasoning when we are doing things.
ReplyDeleteWhat you needed is assistance for you to pay the hospital bills or whatever. Nothing I will not hear in this nation.
7 teeth lohunlohun! Aye ma nika o. Her village people followed her to the crusade fa. She probably find miracle go come carry transmission commotion go back home. I pray the church owñer who abandoned his wife to marry his secretary does the needful. The man and back to back court case na siamese twins o. He no send. Person wey no gree release 100k for treatment na im go gree pay almost 10m? If I hear say he pay!