Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In House Gists - Weird Practices In Some Tribes...

Saturday, June 30, 2018

Saturday In House Gists - Weird Practices In Some Tribes...

We have lots of tribes in Nigeria and what is taboo to one tribe might not be a big deal to the other....

The one i heard recently blew me away and I am still coming to terms with it....
Do you have or know any weird practices in your tribe?
Lets share!

82 comments:

1. OSU OSU OSU Oru
      A taboo to marry one as your family and generation becomes OSU: people dedicated to gods in the ancient days. The OSU caste people are usually so beautiful and well to do but the stigma lingers so most marry outside their tribes.

2. And yet you ignorant backward myopic monkeys will go out and complain of racism. Loll.

3. In my place they don’t kill crocodile, it’s supposed to represent something. They say they don’t kill it and it doesn’t harm them (them) in bracket, for serve the living God

2. Mine is Opo Shushu, when you marry your late brother or father's wife. Although I think it's no longer in existence

1. Starry,i don't think that is still happening
      Except in very rural areas

3. Let the comments roll in
    Can't remember any for now

1. My husband said in their village if a woman cheats on her husband that if the man is aware and doesn't speak up and eats the meal prepared by the woman, the man will die and all the woman's children will equally die.
      If the man doesn't know about the cheating he will be ill and die.
      I don't believe it though.
      I lied to him that my own village if a marry who isn't from there marries any woman from my place and cheats on her, the man will forever be a mad man. Even told my father to tell him.
      Which my dad told him.LMao.

2. Smart anon πŸ˜„

3. Anonymous donor30 June 2018 at 21:27

Wisdom will not kill you my sister

4. Anonymous 18:29 it's in Edo state married women don't cheat and yes it is effective.

4. Do I know anyone? Let me go and remember

5. None. I know of.

Except we dont kill python

1. If you kill it you bury it as in, give it a decent burial and if a stranger accidentally kills it while driving, money is sprayed there to prevent unforseen circumstances. Whoever takes the money has invited trouble as member. Custom of Idemmili people of Anambra state.

2. Lolo are you from Alo? Have a friend from there, one day her sister saw a python in the kitchen, she used stick to move it out. I was so scared, though it was a small one.

3. Cocktails...it's the whole Idemmili South and our Idemmili North too.

There's a list for the Python's burial, inclusive are a small coffin and some pieces of red clothes.

You don't kill but can touch and play with it. Mainly found in latrines and old kitchen huts. They love cold pots die.

4. C my sisters. Ada ide ekenem unu oooo. Ogbu achi babes. If u no blv come idemili come kill Python. The wahala that will follow u no b here o

5. Xhlrted r u idemili 2? Am 100% sure u will b beautiful, idemili has produced the highest beauty queens in this country collectively....

6. Am Ogidi bu the way

7. See my sister o, Ogidi mulu m, ma ya enye na m nnni o

8. Hottest chick for real? I ga Ama Sa ani( u go fine scatter) Ogidi girls dey beautiful well well.

9. They have produced beauty queens because they can't use their brain to be productive only beauty contest dem sabi. Can you compare ANY Anambra girl to the Indimis'?

6. I heard in Benue State the men usually entertain their male visitors with their wives.

1. Were you used for this entertainment?

2. Very fake news. They are very possesive of their wives. It is just that in the olden days there was no special hut for visitors so so, any of the wives who was not in ze oda room and whose hut was large enough to accomodate her kids and the visitor had him sleep in the hut with them. That is all.

7. Abeg make you share that one you heard "that blew you away"

8. There hare no weird practices hin my tribe hat hall.

1. "HIN,HAT HALL" Anonymous what have we done to you to deserve this,please somebody should donate BRIGHTER GRAMMAR to this BV πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

LEPπŸ˜›

2. Anonymous donor30 June 2018 at 15:04

Hin my tribe, we mark/ mutilate babies jaws and faces in order to reduce teething pains.
      But when we as adults have toothache, we run to the doctor or buy pain killers.

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚, u peeepuu iyaff crazy pata pata. U won kill me with lafta πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

4. She's got a good sense of humour. This is beyond mistake jor.

That's how someone said I should drop her Corporate Souvenir at TEMPLE E in Sangotedo Lekki sometime ago.

We spent almost an hour looking for the place till a young lady said "Ma I think it's TEMPLE HILL. I went like what????? Kai.
      I've not forgiven that Oga-Madam and she has a Doctorate Degree o.

Native grammar be dealing with some people since 1800.

9. We don't kill green snakes in my place, we believe they are harmless.

1. Lol....until green mamba bites.

2. Are u from delta state? We don't kill green snakes too.

3. Tiv people too do not kill a particular green snake. The belief is that, it saved them from their enemies by turning into a bridge for them cross a river.

10. My people do not eat three leafed yam. It's a taboo in my place.

1. Are you from Ogbaku in IMO state?

2. I'm from IMO state, but not Ogbaku

3. In Ugwueme when I visited there was told they don't kill green snake, if it comes your way you leave it that it won't bite.
      But if you kill it ,it will be buried like a human being.

4. Are you from Uratta?

11. In my culture the dead are buried in the house(eg rooms and kitchen) except the person states somewhere else while living or doesnt have a house then the family will buy a small portion of land to bury the person.

Its so normal in our place but exposure has made me wonder if that culture shouldnt be abolished..

1. I've never heard of this, please where are you from?

2. Outer space.

3. In some parts of uhrobo land in delta state this practice is also carried out. The dead are buried inside the family Palour or rooms...they will only bury you outside if space has finished inside the house.

LEPπŸ˜›

4. She's right, my ogoni friend buried her dad in his room...every verandah or backyard u will see 2 or 3 tombstones.

5. My Dad was buried in his sitting room. Im from orogun in Delta state

6. So.. wait... will they destroy the floor of the sitting room then build it back, then leave a tombstone right in the middle of the room so that the dead can be watching tv?

7. Same in Onitsha town in Anambra State for traditional title holders.

8. Same in Ekpoma Edo State. Some of the indigenes even rent the room out to students. Reason I never rented a room in a family house

9. My friend told me about this, She's from akwaibom. She said their loved ones are buried right in their rooms after they die. And they all come home during the festive period back to that place, celebrate, something about not letting that persons memory fade.

12. Well, in my place you don't bury a titled man in the open. There must be as little as a shelter from the rain. What else sef?

13. There is a tribe here, during your wedding/introduction/or is it after I can't remember, your husband will wash his feet and the intending wife MUST drink the water. It is their 'custom'.

14. Marry the corpse of that live in lover if she dies without paying her bride price.
    Wife drinks the water used in washing dead husband to prove her innocence in his death mostly in sudden deaths.
    Woman who did not have children before her husband died marries another woman to bear children to keep her husband's lineage OR mothers marrying women to procreate for dead sons..abeegi don't ask me who impregnated them
    Women don't break Kola but
    Chains are used around the grave sides of some dead to prevent them from disturbing the living as ghosts/spirits as in chain the dead.scary

15. My paddy is a first daughter in a family of 4 girls, if a family don't have a male child, the first daughter assumes d position of a son n takes over the family, she gives birth n continues d family name, nobody fights her, she has two kids from one English expat... D man was made aware that he won't be responsible for them, he's merely a sperm donor...he was adamant but he gave in...I know they have Brits passport,I dunno how d man did it, but born in Nigeria.
    Sisi I dunno if u are a bv o....craze woman..hahahahaha

1. So did she birth the SONS? Or females continued popping up?

16. Ewwww...of the highest order

17. I dont knw any abeg... But i knw that in my tribe, a new born baby can be backed few hours after birth. One of my mum's friend backed our last born from the hospital to the house. Our neighbours then were stunned.

1. I trust yoruba's for this (that's the one I've seen). I saw my neighbor do this and I was angry in my spirit. A new born of few hours o😰. If they break the baby's neck nko? Ha!

2. I trust yoruba's for this (that's the one I've seen). I saw my neighbor do this and I was angry in my spirit. A new born of few hours o😰. If they break the baby's neck nko? Ha!

3. @choice
      Was it your baby? No.
      Your back? No.
      Your pregnancy, your labour, your vagina?
      No. No. No.
      How e take concern you?
      The things that you people should be 'angry about' you will be there sucking your thumbs,it is how another woman backs her pikin that is your problem?
      If she like let her use the child to do auto gele, face front.
      It is nor yur biznis.

18. I read one somewhere that when a woman gives birth she must give all her kids the first breast she gave the first born so that they can be united. Each time I remember I laugh so hard!

1. It was on Mama tee's column few weeks ago

19. In my place, if you sweep your house in the night, you don't pack the dirt, you leave it there till morning and I still don't know the meaning.
    As a married woman if you defile your bed as in commit adultery, you won't be able to deliver your baby till you confess, even if it's your husband that impregnated you.

1. About the packing of dirt thing, in my tribe one doesnt pack/throw away dirt after sweeping at night because you will be throwing your wealth away.

20. We are from somewhere in IMO state,its a taboo for people from my place to eat monkey or touch any utensil used in preparing it

21. The tradition of men have made salvation look difficult.

22. We don't kill python in my place,if it visits a nursing mother, the person will have to pour powder on the python' s head and carries it away.

23. In my place:
    It's forbidden to whistle at night, if you do mistakenly, you'll have to take a shower before going to bed. Else the SPIRITS will visit you.

Pack dirt after sweeping at night, if you do, then you'll buy 3piece kolanut and drop at T-junction in the morning. Else your family will go broke.

Leave small mirrors upside at night. You'll go drop "small dollbaby" by the banks of the river the following day. Else the Agbala Mmili will come warn your family. It has some repercussions.
    #TitiUgegbe

Leave empty seats upside outside at night. You buy a small bottle of dry gin and sprinkle around area in the morning. Else there will be a gathering for a funeral in your family soonest.

If you forget to pack ash from previous day's cooking from the furnace and light another firewood on top, you'll grind 2 pods of alligator pepper and sprinkle around the furnace before cooking. Else, your food will bring stomach upset to anyone you feed it.

Dem boku. No time pleaae.

Best thing is to avoid THEM. Chaalu onwunwa!

1. Hmmm...does this apply to the whole of idemmili north?
      All these traditions are sounding so new to me
      Na only the python tradition i know
      And i even swept my house this night and packed it wella sef

2. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚

24. In my place this...In my place that.. untop of all your backward, archaic, primitive traditions what have you as a people achieved??
    Claim to fame: 'We preserve python.' 'We drink water from dead bodies.' 'We buried dead bodies in our houses.' 'We don't pack dirt at night(pigs)' firewood, ash, nyene nyen. Still living and thinking like people in the dinosaur era. Shift, smelling dummies.

25. A pregnant woman should not play with dogs(if a male baby he might die or something like that), eat too much okro or snails( the baby will end up being a drool master).
    Do not draw water from the well late in the evenings; one might kill a genie living in the well and that is the beginning of your woes.

26. In my village once a girl starts seeing her period she undergoes something they call"FATTENING ROOM"..she'll have to dance naked in the village market and stream then a party will be thrown on her behalf...and if a girl gets pregnant before undergoing this process,,, she'll be banished for life...dunno why they do that thoughπŸ˜”

27. In my village once a girl starts seeing her period she undergoes something they call"FATTENING ROOM"..she'll have to dance naked in the village market and stream then a party will be thrown on her behalf...and if a girl gets pregnant before undergoing this process,,, she'll be banished for life...dunno why they do that thoughπŸ˜”....I'm from mgbidi though