Good Day Stella,
I want to share my labour room experience.
I got married few years ago. We don’t have it all but I thank God that he has been there for us.
I tried IVF for the first time and it was successful. We had been trying for 5 years.
My baby was a ‘precious baby’ so I was very careful with the pregnancy.
During ANC, I was told I would have a C section at 37 weeks so I didn’t really bother since I waited that long. So long my baby would be fine; I was willingly to bear the sweet pain.
Now to the main gist.
I had initially registered at a private hospital but close family and friends advised that I deliver my baby at a general hospital, because they were better equipped, so they thought.
At about 35 weeks, I noticed a reduction in fetal activity and I presented at the hospital. I was admitted and the kicks were monitored. At about 36 weeks 2 days, I was wheeled into the theatre. I was so happy that day eh.
The anaesthetist had given me the spinal injection when they noticed the pediatrician was not present. Yeah,mogbe…..they called her phone severally but she said she wasn’t ready to take any delivery. They sent the theatre attendant to her and she still refused to show up… please who does that? A supposed professional…
By this time I just started praying…it took the intervention of the Medical director before this woman showed up o.
The people in charge of the gen were instructed not to change over if NEPA restored light but my dear BV’s, they disobeyed that instruction. I was already being cut, NEPA restored electricity and boom, the theatre was in darkness.
Ah !who did I offend? God, this wasn’t our agreement…honestly I have never experienced such in my life.
Thankfully, the operation was successful and I held my baby. He was so hairy, a replica of his father.
All this while, my husband was not in town…
I got to see my baby 2 days after the operation because he had jaundice and was in NICU. Unknown to us, my baby was kept in a non functional incubator.
At this time, my husband had returned and complained that the incubator was not functional and that the baby be placed in a functional one but they insisted that the baby was fine and just needed to be kept warm. So we were asked to get a hot water bottle.
I was discharged but my baby was still on admission. I pleaded that I should be allowed to keep my bed space but they didn’t oblige.
The NICU was on the 4th floor while I was on the first floor. The stress of moving to and fro the building took its toll on me and I started bleeding from the CS site.
Long story short, they were supposed to do a blood transfusion for my baby around 2 p.m but they delayed for reasons which till this day I do not understand.
My precious baby died the next day at about 6 a.m….
We are currently saving up for another IVF.
That is my own Labour drama….it was a drama indeed…
*OMG OMG OMG...I wasnt prepared for the end!!
I am so sorry about your baby,why dont you sue them?especially that Doctor or report this to a higher body?This should not be go under the carpet at all...ah ah!!!
The surgeon or doctor refuse to come for call, they have given you the injection even before they called her up, at the end the baby went back due to negligence and carelessness? I am crying typing this. My God! This is not a country anymore. May the Lord provide for you, heal you of your pains and make you smile again, amen.
ReplyDeleteOh my God!
DeleteThis is so sad. Dear poster it is well with you, MAy God give you double in Jesus name Amen.
Jesus wept. So sorry for your loss.
DeletePls who gives this nonsense advice that people should go to General hospital. Some General hospital that don't even have paracetamol??? Like the one Aisha Buhari complained about.
Madam pls next time you are pregnant pls research good hospitals around you. The ones with good gynaecologist,good pediatrician. Good facilities.s
Start your ante-natal there so they know your history and deliver there.
Pls don't think of the money. This is life. The truth is many of those in general hospitals have their own private practice because Gov't doesn't pay them.Probably that is where your pediatrician was.They will even treat you better because they are in their private hospital.
Chineke 😲😲😲
DeleteThis one pass village witches paroles
There is more to this o. It is not normal.
Very sad news..God will bless you with twins poster.
DeletePoster I am so sorry. No woman deserve to go through this at all. Its so sad that Nigeria is still backward health wise. I had my first baby in 2015 in naija and it was like hell.Despite the hospital was among the best in the area I lived in.I recently had a baby in Houston and its a different experience.yes labour pains is for you and no one will help you carry the pain when is time to birth your baby but the way you are made to go through the pain in naija and here in Texas are completely different . they are so cordial here and they encourage you every moment. Even when you are not doing the right thing, they still encourage you.Right from when I gave birth till I was discharged from the hospital I never used anything from the bag I packed. From diapers till the clothes I wore and the baby were provided by the hospital. I never got any extra charges. I kept telling them I don't want any benefits from the govt( cuz I was told if I did it will affect my next visa renewal process).The experience was really great .Then I remembered my dearest country, to think that our leaders always travel to these countries, even our so called abroad trained doctors, can't they copy few things over here? Well.. Don't know if I am really making any sense right now.I am so angry.I just want to vent. So sorry poster. Its so sad that after all you went through You lost the baby .May God continue to give you the strength to move in
DeleteOMG this is extremely sad. Only God who is the ultimate comforter will comfort you and your husband. This is terrible, I wonder how such docs sleep at night...
DeleteAwww, so sorry about your loss. Wasn't expecting that ending with the way you started. God will restore your loss in triple folds. Pls take heart dear.
Delete😧😱😢💔 I wanted to pass this post o, 😧😢 who told me to open this? Poster I don't know what to say but I know that God will bring you this far to forsake you. It's well with you and yours. Double blessings is what I pray for you this day, Amen.
DeleteChai my heart is broken 💔😢😧.
This is so sad, that hospital needs to be sued!!!!
ReplyDeleteThis is so sad .... Why were they so negligent? Where there no family or friends around, given you're a first time mother?
ReplyDeleteSorry for your loss....
Why did I read this, oh you have spoil my day, May God give you the strength to bear this. And he will double your blessing for you. I'm lost of words sincerely.
ReplyDeleteI was hoping for an happy ending. .
ReplyDeleteMay God console you and give you double blessings
I am sad. I am so sorry you lost your baby. I pray that the Lord will comfort you and give you a happy ending. Please call out the names of the useless doctor and hospital. It should be shut down. Wow, and we wonder why people are leaving this shit hole called Nigeria. I am tired. May the Lord comfort you, please do not blame yourself for anything. Pull yourself together and try again. This time, let the Holy spirit be your guide, do not, I repeat, do not listen to any human being. Go to a good hospital and birth your beautiful twins. God will comfort you. Affliction will not arise again in Jesus name. sending you lots of love and hugs.
ReplyDeleteThis is so sad, why are some private hospitals so nonchalant? it just get worst by the day. Madam! may God comfort you and bless you. Amen!
ReplyDeleteGovernment hospital was where she did her delivery
DeleteToo many patients, no sterilized instruments, under staffing, non functioning equipment etc. Take ur pick. I once worked in a hospital where we were rationing the photo therapy unit.
DeleteI'm sha using my pvc well 2019
I was hoping for a happy ending after the traumatic experience.
DeleteCouldn't believe the ineptitude of the hospital management. Doctor unwilling to perform a scheduled can and changing over to unreliable NEPA. The worst part was the dysfunctional incubator.
The hospital effectively killed your baby.
May God restore your confidence in human race and grant you a good labour room drama. Stay blessed.
OMG! I WAS EXPECTING THE END OF HE DRAMA! I'M SO SORRY MY SISTER. GOD WILL VISIT YOU AGAIN!!! YOUR NEXT DRAMA WILL BE ON HOW YOU DELIVERED YOUR TRIPLET, IJMN. #PROUDLYSLIMME
ReplyDeleteThis is so sad,may God give you double for your loss
ReplyDeleteWhy did I even open this post💔💔💔💔may God heal you, and replace your loss, I'm so speechless
ReplyDeleteJesus, ahahhahahahahahahahahaha, so sorry madam, God will surely do another one and pls try to find a good hospital for it.
ReplyDeleteStella sue what, this is Nigeria ooo, abeg let her be to take care of her body in preparation for the next one and save her money for something meaniful than going to police for a case she can never win.
BV TIFE
Oh dear! Pls do not sweep this case under the carpet. U are indirectly endangering the lives of other women. Sue the hospital or you can post ur story anonymously and make sure u mention the name of the hospital and location. Negligience is a serious crime in the medical profession.
ReplyDeleteMay God console you and give you double for your trouble.
ReplyDeleteWhat a sad ending.
Oh my God. So sorry dear.
ReplyDeleteIf you want to use a government hospital pls use fmc ebute metta. There is a level to government hospitals lowest level is health centers and health offices mid level: general hospital and the highest is federal medical centers
DeleteHaven't we read horrible tales from FMCs too?
DeleteSorry for your loss..can you tell us the name of the hospital so everyone avoids it
ReplyDeleteJesus wept! This country is a zoo. I am so so sorry for your loss. God will do it again for you. Madam please call out the hospital. They should be named and shamed!! Ahhh! This is too much. Very barbaric and unprofessional beings. May God judge them and quickly. God will restore and compensate you for all your loss.
ReplyDeleteWow!!!!this is heartbreaking.May the Lord comfort you and hubby
ReplyDeleteHe will give you a new song to sing;amen.
Jehova oooooooooo....I wasn't expecting this oooo....Jesus...kai...arrrrggghhhhh
ReplyDeleteOooooooooooooohhh..
the mistake was switching to a general hospital, general hospital? who the heck advised you against private hospitals? God punish devil. aunty, you have not been to private hospital if you think they have no equipments. some private hospital have way more equipment than luth or Uch. Im pained biko. no vex. it pained me that the innocent Child died. The Lord will give you double for your trouble. IJN. Amen.
ReplyDeleteSo sorry about your loss poster.The God of Sarah and Hannah will show up for you soonest in Jesus name.
ReplyDeleteChai! This is so sad 😔.. What kind of carelessness is this, take heart my sister, God will bless you with double.
ReplyDeleteOMG
ReplyDeleteThis is sad!
That hospital killer needs to be sue
People will say general hospital is the best, but not in all cases.. ...May God bless your home with children.
Jesus Christ. How? Why?? My God. Why did I read this.
ReplyDeleteAhhiii, mmmh, mmmh, mmmh, this is so painful. Putting the baby in a non functional incubator...probably with no oxygen and the baby died. Negligence at its peak.
ReplyDeleteOh God give her double blessing for her loss. May the Holy Spirit direct your path and guard your steps.
There's no way that hospital will go scot free. Never. I'll start from the doctor that refused to come down, to the person who said the incubator was working. Noooo way it will end just like that. OMG
ReplyDeleteAww so so sorry about your loss. May the Lord bless you double for your loss.
ReplyDeleteOmg! As I read on, I kept praying that all will be well when I get to the end. This is so painful o.
ReplyDeleteMay God restore you in triple what you lost. Pls poster,go to a private hospital when you are pregnant again I plead with you. Work specially with a gynae and let them follow you up till you deliver and even after.
Hugs to you. May God heal you and comfory your family.
OMG!This is heartbreaking. Please why are you still protecting the name of the hospital? There should be a call out to prevent/stop future occurances. This is just so sad.
ReplyDelete😱 😱.. I'm so so so sorry for your loss...
ReplyDeleteSincerely sorry for your loss. My the lord bless you with the one that will bring joy to your home. AMEN
ReplyDeleteMay the good lord return to you double of what the devil took from you.
ReplyDelete💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔💔. May God heal your hearts and do what only He can do.
ReplyDeleteAs a pregnant woman who is also going to have a cs, I’m not finding this story funny atall atall. Gosh i cant stop these tears. Pregnancy is so hard then u loose the baby due to pure negligence? Wow this is so unfair.
ReplyDeleteHmmmmm I am speechless, what!
ReplyDeleteHmmmm...speechless is an understatement on this issue! What did i just read? May God comfort you... As for the doctor, may he meet his waterloo soon...
ReplyDeleteI had to drop what I was holding in shock as I got to the end of this sad story.
ReplyDeletePoster hear the word of God today that it is well. The Lord of Hannah would visit you today. You would conceive naturally and you would carry your children in your arms. Those tears of sorrows on your eyes would be wiped out permanently in Jesus name amen. You would be consoled by God himself and he would grant you mercy in Jesus name amen. It is well my sister
This is a painful read.
ReplyDeleteMy God, madam God will do another, it ud really well ma
ReplyDeleteI really don't understand why people go to general hospital.they are the worst except u know someone there.they are just death traps. A neighbor who is a dr in general hospital also lost her baby,due to their silly negligence.except private hospitals around you don't have d necessary equipments for treatment general hospital is a no.
ReplyDeleteSo sorry for your loss dear poster especially since Jaundice is not a life threatening disease. But taking care of it early is very important. For it to be that severe must mean your babys blood group is B+ and yours O+. Both of my babies had jaundice from birth and the first was transfused thrice. The second just once. Please if you can, test your next babys blood group before birth and if it is B+ have it addressed immediately he/she is born. How dare they put your baby in a non functional incubator? My husband and I were a pain in the ass of the doctors and nurses. Photo therapy is an expensive treatment and i'll be damned if i pay such a huge amount for incompetency. I will reach the director of the hospital if my worries were not addressed timely.
ReplyDeleteSo sorry for your loss.. i just feel the names of this hospitals should be mention and d so called madam that was too busy to deliver a child. By the time they seize their license the seriousness will show face. Enough of all this carelessness abeg
ReplyDeleteOh my God
ReplyDeleteThese hospital just play with lives
Please take heart dear
God will surely restore back
What!?! So sorry to hear this soso sorry. May God console and see you through and restore all they was lost .
ReplyDeleteMeanwhile you need to mention that hosp and make a report at least an inquest should be done
Oh my darling. I just wish I could give you a tight hug. Only God can comfort you as I know what you're going through and he will. Hold on please. Just hold on. It must end in praise.
ReplyDeleteMy heart is broken!!!!!but why!??why protect the hospital/staff?why should another go through such!!!pls call out the hospital!!!we have to learn that Heaven helps those who help themselves......the more they are called-out and shut down,discipline Atleast inches into others .plssssssss
ReplyDeleteGod pls grant this family total healing and give them double of their loss.
ReplyDeleteBeauty for ashes...double for your loss IJN