Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gov. Ambode Reportedly Flies To Abuja To Beg Tinubu Over Second Term Bid

Sunday, September 16, 2018

Gov. Ambode Reportedly Flies To Abuja To Beg Tinubu Over Second Term Bid

The confusion over the reelection bid of Lagos State Governor, Akinwunmi Ambode, failed to clear off on Saturday as the All Progressives Congress national leadership could not secure a firm commitment from its national leader, Asiwaju Bola Tinubu, on gov Ambode's second term ambition.

The APC leaders, led by Vice President Yemi Osinbajo and the party’s National Chairman, Adams Oshiomhole, who were said to be acting on the directives of President Muhammadu Buhari, met with Tinubu again to prevail on him to “forgive” Ambode his alleged infractions and back the governor to secure a second term.

A source close to the national secretariat of the party stated, “The President asked the vice-president and the national chairman to resolve the crisis amicably so that the governor could get a second term. Osinbajo met Tinubu twice in Abuja on Friday on Ambode’s matter, where he relayed the President’s message and the need to keep Lagos for the APC.

It was gathered that Buhari’s foremost concern was that the crisis in Lagos State, which boasts of the highest number of registered voters, if not well-managed, could affect his political calculations for his second term bid. It was also gathered that as the APC leaders battled to save the embattled governor’s second term ambition, Ambode landed in Tinubu’s house in Abuja, where the governor appealed to the former Lagos State governor to forgive him his alleged offences.

Another very reliable party source said, “Yes, it was part of the efforts we are making from this end to save the party from crisis in the state and the nation. The governor came to beg Tinubu in his residence in Abuja to forgive him. I think the appeal helped to reduce the tension and soften the ground for the governor. It is, however, difficult to say if that had ended the crisis.

From Punch

32 comments:

1. Na real waaaa
    Tinubu of Lagos, temper Mercy ohhj

2. Tinubu has turned himself to minigod God will defiantly humble you.

1. Don't talk about what you don't know. Ambode is the devil himself if Tinubu should talk about his atrocities you guys will stone Ambode to death.

2. And your Tinubu has no atrocity rocking him abi? They are after their own gain if I am to say. Tinubu should understand that power comes from God and if he doubts it then God will humble him. Abacha scenario should be a lesson for all to remember.

3. Both of them are not saints but you don't shut the door against your own self when you know very well you would still knock on that same door for passage or bite the fingers that fed you.
      Ambode was not wise in rebelling against his boss especially when he had not even completed his first time.
      Be mindful of one thing that there are people you cannot rub shoulders with you when you know you need them again in your life.
      Tinubu is a principality that you deal with caution.

4. Please I will like to be furnish with the main issues that is causing this whole rift. Not assumptions.

5. @Anonymous 16 September 2018 at 12:11 - claps hard for you. Gbam.

3. Hmmm! Fashola part two.

4. We buy bad/condemned solar inverter battery contact me 0814139511316 September 2018 at 12:04

Ok

1. Just be sure this appology will not yeild a 2nd term for Ambode. Tinubu will never let another Fashola scenario poke him in the nose again. But then, these ppl are power drunk. If Tinubu sees that his candidates would loose against giants like Otedola, he might consider Ambode just so he doesn't loose out completely.

5. On Thursday I saw some people campaigning for Ambode second term, they called themselves "No Political Party Group" with over 10 vehicles in branded shirt and cap along Allen junction. Amobe knows he's going nowhere with the support of Tinubu, I pray they settle their grudges

6. I am wondering why people don't see ambode for who he is and are blaming asiwaju. Ambode dug his own grave. Too many atrocities that only insiders know about. Just too many. Nobody is saying don't steal as you are all thieves but then why steal to the detriment of the people. Omo ale ondo jatijati

7. Am even beginning to hate this Ambode myself. See bad roads, see pot holes,poor drainage. Lagos is so dirty.
    So called Projects every where, no completion. Why not complete one before you start another?

Rendering people helpless with his unnecessary demolotion.
    If it will take APC in Lagos loosing election to get Vulari and APC out of govt. So be it!
    Am sick of this govt, both at the center, states, local, neighboorhood and even inside my house.

1. Beginning? I never like him because he talks more than he acts. Are we not all in this Lagos? What has he done with all the big big taxes they deduct from our hard earned salaries?

8. God will not let Tinubu hear oooo! The rift will not end, Ambode will not have 2nd term in jesus name. Amen

1. Amen for the other side too!

2. Amen to that, Ambode must not come back. If they insist on Ambode we the people will vote for the opposition.

9. Is it the heap of rubbish around Lagos or the bad roads that are no longer being maintained in the name of building bridges or the pain people are going through spending over 3 hours in traffic that is his laudable legacies in Lagos? A beg..let the man go. He has not lived up to expectation at all. Forget about Tinubu here. The man is right to want to protect the interest. Tinubu is or d reason i now have to carry refuse in my car from home to dump on the road. During Fasholas era the whole street had drums outside for rubbish. The PAP guys wd come twice in a week to take it. You got your bill at the end of the month and we paid at the bank. Oga ITK Ambode's Vision Scope or whatever will not enter the neighbhorhood . They insist you dump on the road. Most people can't do that. They dump in drainage. Pls don't lets cry for Ambode. Meanwhile his wife had d temerity to sack a man of God. Gave him one day notice to pack out with his family from church premises. Haba!!!!! Nooo. Pls let the proud pair go

1. Thank you. I also remembered that. The wife sacked a man of God , just look at what is happening to them now. I don't pity Ambode at all.God cannot be mocked.

10. Ambode is a big thief only if you people know. The guy ain't doing anything in Lagos

11. So Ambode is doing is lighting the streets that are dirty, heavy potholes and so many other things. Brought in Visionscape that all they know is carry vehicles and driving round town. Almost taking off the former PSP trucks cos he wanted his own to take over. Where exactly is he developing? The day I passed Ago , Satellite, area I was shocked. All the side streets are messed up. Does it mean that these areas are not part of lagos state. Only Ikeja? Please coming back a second term is not for him oh. You and your wife cannot use arrogance to govern a state. Maybe he should go let another be given a try. We will keep doing this trial and error till we get it right. I don’t care which party but the individual that will do the work.

12. Hmmmmmmm pride goes before a fall. Today's topic in church. Na dem sabi

13. Ambode must go! We dont want him again. Our mumu don do. Nothibg is working in Lagos. See traffic due to bad roads, poor drainage , heaps of refuse.

Apc will loose if the field Ambode. I dont like his style. Thus has nothibg to do with Tinubu. But even at that, you cant bite the fibger that feeds you.
    Ambode is just not capable. He was installed by Tinubu with ni pedigree. Easy come, easy go! Let him not seek a second term, he should just go honourably.

14. A beg pls let Ambode and his wife go and leave us. This is not about Tinubu at all. The guy has rendered the Direct Labour department responsible for maintaining roads esp to fill potholes redundant. Traffic is terrible. Security is bad. So much has been said about refuse everywhere. Naaaaaa. Go. Biko

15. He's flying to the wrong direction.
    God Ambode go find the Rev you humiliated over that Holy Communion ish.

Do a Public Apology and air it. Lagosians will forgive.
    God will ERASE your folly. Then other things will follow.

I continue to say it.
    You can win all the battles but You may WIN THE WAR.

16. It’s very easy to blame Tinubu. Either we like it or not, he has been at the fore front or the runnings of Lagos economy and development. Fashola did excellently well having been handpicked by his boss to be the gov of Lagos. However things got the other way when fashola started deviating not giving out money to the party in his second term, not that he wanted to but being a lawyer and a SAN for that matter he was been careful so as not to backfire at him after leaving office. But in the end it was resolved. But this ambode is just something I don’t understand. Development is good but it has to be in order. Do one and move to the other. U can’t destroy the whole of Lagos all in the name of constructing some stupid roads which your stupid advisers can’t even tell u that what needs to be done first is drainage. What’s the essence of constructing roads without adequate drainage? Isn’t lack of appropriate drainage that will wash off the roads? That’s stupidity. Again u render lawma useless something that was set by your own party to help some party leaders survive as part of their share. That’s not even my problem. Lagos is now a dustbin with heaps of refuse left right and center. To make it worse for him he increased land use by over 400% something your party is against so as not to make them have a bad name in Lagos. Your boss send delegates more than five occasions to meet u but u never met them using official meetings as an excuse. Now u want a second term?? Please what has the guy done? To be he has done nothing. Yes he’s contracting bridges how many has he finished? If given additional 40 years he can’t finish all those places and roads he scattered. Even his deputy is feeling the heat. Can’t sign a contract that’s above 1 million. The bottom line is he will still be the next gov but the state house of assembly will be handpicked so in case he fucks up, he will be impeached. I support the man leaves but he will still win the mandate.