Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Labour Room Drama 234

Friday, October 05, 2018

Labour Room Drama 234

Na wah!!!

Stella Nwanyioma, I have decided to send in my labour room drama after 8 months of having my first child..

I travelled 4 months to my due date to have my baby. My pregnancy was very stress free aside from the first 3 months I was always nauseous, tired and drowsy.

I stayed with my husband's uncle and his family in the US and everybody always commented on how strong and agile I was even as my due date approached. Even my doctor and midwife said I was one of their easiest pregnant patients because I had no complaints at every antenatal check. 

Tragedy struck 2 months to my delivery date. I received news from home that my dad had passed very unexpectedly. It was really tough for me to accept and it spoiled the remaining part of my pregnancy as this was supposed to be his first grandchild.

Exactly 8 days to my due date which was on a Monday, I went out with my aunt inlaw to do some grocery shopping for the house. After we got back, I decided to take a nap and was woken up sudden by a popping feeling and gush of fluid. I knew my water had broken and called the hospital. They asked me to start coming immediately but my aunt asked me to chill at home for a while till I started having contractions. 

Some hours later, the pain started mildly. I started packing my hospital bag because I hadnt done that thinking the baby will come on or after my due date. 

By 10 pm the tempo of the pain had started increasing and was coming every 5minutes so we decided it was time to get to the hospital. When we got there, my information was taken and I was put in a wheel chair and taken to the labour and delivery unit. 

By now I had started seeing stars o. Omo, contractions are no joke. After changing into the hospital gown, getting hooked on the monitor and chooking hand in my vagina, they said I was 3cm and asked whether I was ready for my epidural. If you see the speed I used to answer yes eh.

The anesthesiologists came and put the needle in my lower spinal area and gave me the medicine. Within 10minutes all the pain had vanished. I called my mum in Nigeria to inform her that I was in labour, called my hubby who was already on his way to join me, then went to sleep.

By 6:30am my nurse came to check my progress and immediately I opened my legs, she said ''I can see the baby's head''

She went to call the doctor and by 7am, I was asked to push. After 4-5pushes timed with my contractions which I couldn't even feel again because of the epidural at exactly 7:10am, my princess came out screaming weighing 3.3kg.

I had a little tear which was stitched up, baby was cleaned and given to me. The joy was indescribable. I said so it was tiny you kicking me nonstop all those nights. To the glory of God, I stopped feeling pain where I was stitched within 5/7days and was able to travel back home to Nigeria with my baby girl after 12 days of my delivery to pay my final respect to my dad.

I really thank God for my supernatural pregnancy, delivery and postpartum recovery. My labour lasted only about 8 hours and was virtually pain free.. I read supernatural childbirth everyday till I had my baby.
Thank you Nwunye Korkus. May God continue to bless your ministry.

*Super natural pregnancy maybe Yes but the delivery you got injection that took away the pain oh and that was why you didnt scream....
Why dont they give this injection in Nigeria?Just wondering cos it would save all the pain and screaming

32 comments:

1. Congratulations!

Aunty, please let those that didn't ask for, or receive, pain meds to be the ones to brag about pain-free deliveries! You're not in that group!

Lastly, since you left the US early, I hope you paid your hospital bills and didn't leave it for Medicaid etc?! It's become a habit for Nigerian women to run-off!

1. Anon 13:12, bitterness will DEFINITELY kill you!!!
      Wow!

2. Not bragging just thanking God. If you leave your bills unpaid can you enter the states again? You will be asked for your receipts at your POE when next you go. We contacted and paid for the hospital and doctor before I made the trip.

2. Lucky you. Why don't they give epidurals in Nigeria?

1. Stella, many hospitals give epidural now; its your money that speaks.

3. Some private hospitals give epidural. You just have to find out. It’s N100,000 in the hospital I plan to have my baby. I don’t know about general hospitals.

1. 100k to guard you from all the hassles of labour pain is totally worth it.

2. 100k to guard you from all the hassles of labour pain is totally worth it.

4. You should have tried supernatural birth without the epidural. Lol

5. Congrats. They do give the injection mostly in private hospitals and it's expensive.

6. Stella, they do but you have to book for it before delivery time. Some women don't apply for it because they feel they are strong and can do it the 'Hebrew women'style. Then when the day comes and the pain becomes unbearable, they start asking for epidural. And from what I learnt, there's a level at which it can no longer be administered.

7. because Nigerian doctors just enjoy us women screaming during Labour..awon olori re sombori😞

Congrats my darling sis. God bless Your sweet munchinkin.

Happy birthday to her in advance.

1. Nigerian doctors don't enjoy you screaming,it's your money that gives you epidural. I'm sure if they advise you to take it,you would want to do Hebrew delivery as per super woman.

2. Bibire... Strong point made... Very true

8. Epidural here i come. who will sit down and bear pain? makagini . congrats madam. so person fit travel with baby of 12 days?

1. It was a big risk travelling with a baby so young but God was on my side. I just had to attend my dad's funeral to see for myself that he was truly gone because the whole thing just seemed like a terrible lie/nightmare to me. May God rest his soul.

2. My thought exactly. How did process the US passport. Congrats all the same.

9. Daniella Camillus, why are u sounding like this? A lot of people don't go for epidural because the want to " deliver like Hebrew women", the truth is a lot of women doesn't know about it. They don't teach it in ante natal classes (at least the times I went) and not all doctors mention it. I heard of that term for the first time while I was reading Every woman so don't make it appear like women knew about it and decided to not use it.

You should also consider the cost factor, I read people saying is 100k and above, how many people do u think can afford that? Please let's try and be sensitive.

Poster, thank God it ended in praise for you. May the soul of your dad and the souls of all the faithful departed through the mercy of God rest in peace...Amen.

10. Stella supernatural childbirth is not just about not feeling pain during labour. It is the whole pregnancy, delivery without complications and postpartum recovery. Do you know some people are given epidurals and react adversely to it or will still be feeling pains sef? She had a smooth pregnancy and I tap for myself o. Congrats Sis.

11. congrats poster. RIP to your dad

12. Well, in the UK were I had my 3 three kids, they refused giving me epidural.

They said I didn't need epidural as I was progressing well and fast.

So I guess it's not for everyone. Plus it has side effects. If it can be done without, better.

1. NHS is always trying to minimize cost, reason they don't like giving.
      In US where they know you are paying, they ask you before-hand. Its not compulsory because there are risk, but they give you the option and your bill is higher with it, even my friend that just gave birth in US was avoiding CS because of the cost, but for her health she had to do it. Epidural and CS birth is more expensive reason NHS avoid Epidurals.

2. I had my babies in London and the NHS never hesitated to give me epidural. They asked me before I went into labour and encouraged me to have one. I guess it all depends on the hospital.

3. I think it depends on the hospital , I have two kids and was given epidural on both deliveries , in fact I requested for it

4. My midwife and I had agreed that I will get epidural but I was told I won't be getting epidural until I'm 4cm dilated, by the time I was checked I was already 5cm and was prepared for the delivery room. Fortunately, I didn't get the epidural as the midwife said she could see my baby'seats head already. In the UK, pain relief methods and other important things must have been discussed with your midwife during antenatal.

13. Some private hospitals give but it will incur extra charges. I don't know of government hospitals

14. epidural in naija make dem come injure your spinal cord? never...i took in the UK cos i had CS. anyway even in the UK they are also careful cos if it goes wrong na paralysis u dey face oh

15. Supernatural birth with epidural? Lmao. Stellz don talk am well. Congratulations on your bundle of joy.

16. I want to send mine, what's the email address?

17. Congrats, sweet story, God pls answer us all waiting mothers