Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Saturday In-house Gist.... Marrying Within The Family

Saturday, October 06, 2018

Saturday In-house Gist.... Marrying Within The Family

Marriage within the family seems to be more rampant in some regions of World for one reason or the other.

Can you marry someone from your family?Like your Father's brothers daughter or son?or let siblings marry?

Do you see these rela­tionships legally or socially acceptable? 

Is there anywhere in the Bible that supports Marrying within the family?

What is the Origin of allowing Marriage within the Family?

What are the Pro's and Con's...

For some it's a taboo ... but some still went ahead to marry and consummate such affairs and have kids...

Do you know someone living in such "Union". Did the taboo affect them?Or is it you?.

What happened?.... Let's gist!

36 comments:

1. Whether family by full blood, half blood, extended blood, adopted blood etc. it can and will never happen. All shades of wrong.

1. You know God never created any other person after Adam and Eve right? Bla bla bla

2. Stella, it is a taboo to marry someone related to you. In my own place a female cousin don't sleep in the same bed with a male cousin, let alone getting married. Tufiakwa! Aruuuu.

3. Hubby's uncle married 2 sisters and they both had kids for the man. It really caused issue but the man wasn't bothered.

1. Simply put
      Someone married 2 sisters. Both of them born pikin for am. The man nor get shame.

Do u now understand?

2. Leviticus 18:18 “‘Do not take your wife’s sister as a rival wife and have sexual relations with her while your wife is living.
      Lev. 18:6 “‘No one is to approach any close relative to have sexual relations. I am the Lord.

Jesus did not change the above law in the New Covenant; read Matthew 5 to 7 etc.

3. @15:28 Ok, Didn't think it's a taboo but a thing of choice and understanding between both siblings and their family but the scripture above is making me have a rethink..

I once heard a story of a man that wanted to get a second wife and the first wife said she will rather have her sister as second wife.My neighbor nko, the wife died and before we dry our tears the late wifes sister don carry belle.Someone confronted the man to say it's not right and he said he will rather have his wifes family take care of his kids than an outsider..

Well the things God go judge plenty, like i said down there lets run our own race.There are some things we will never understand until we get to heaven.

4. Where I come from incest is a taboo. To me it’s morally, medically and spiritually wrong to lust or sleep with ones relative and should not be done.

I know a lot of parkistanis that are married to their first cousins and uncles. Most of them were born here and still their parents choose their partners for them. They dare not go against it because they forbid “love Marriage “ . That’s why the Asians have lots of disabled children in their community.

I grew up with some of my male cousins and to me they are like my real brothers. I can imagine having sexual feelings for them. Most Asians that does it here say their parents don’t allow them to be close to their cousins while growing up because they might be married to each other in future.

1. Yes,you are right, cosanguinity causes a lot of medical/genetic disorder. That's the first question I ask in my practice if they are middleeastern and have a disabled offspring..

5. Ohafia marry from father's side wella...distant cousins mostly can marry.

6. In the northern part,you can marry your first cousin but for my place Na serious taboo

7. We don't have OSU caste system in my place but my people frown at INCEST..I remember one time this siblings were banished from our villa cos the babe was pregnant for her brother.

The male said" the sister was too beautiful to allow another man have her " and the girl said "she was so inlove with him to allow another girl have him".They were now pushing for everyone to allow them get married and my community refused.

They were paraded round the village before being banished.The other family members had to be cleansed from the curses their action brought on them.Wonder if they survived the humiliation.

I have been studying the book of Genesis lately and I often wonder why God allowed them marry close relatives all i can say is that he wanted them to marry from same household of faith (Isrealites) or in modern terms "Children of God".He didn't want them marrying idol worshippers or pagans.

In my own understanding,I will say God wants us to marry fellow believers.(So in this case we are all family members as Christ is our Father😊.)
    That's why in the New Testament you find "Do not be unequally yoked with unbelievers".

Last Last there are some questions only God can answer when we see him in heaven.Let's continue running our race in FAITH without which no man see God.

This topic is very deep mehn.

1. Probably because people were few and the world was immersed in idolatry and wickedness as evident in chapter 6 of Genesis.
      God eventually corrected that. Leviticus 18:6 “‘No one is to approach any close relative to have sexual relations. I am the Lord.
      Read the whole of Leviticus 18 and see . . .

2. Correct reasoning. Your point is so refreshing

8. Sometimes there are no truth to a situation, rather its a matter of perspective. What is perceived as a taboo in one clime is seen as normal in another, so who now becomes right?
    Ive learnt not to be the judge or over think about people and the choices they make provided their willpower is not taken away from them.
    we say where i come from na nku nor na mba....
    Where i served, they go to market in the night from 6pm to like 7 the next day, so it normal there to pick up your grocery bag and tell your neighbour that you are going to the market by 3am, it was weird for me and not normal because that is not how i know it to be, you wont even see anyone in the market by midnight here.

9. Incest is an abomiation
    I can never allow it in my household

10. In the North and in islam its common to marry 1st cousins. In some middle belt areas, its also not a taboo to marry your cousins....though frowned upon, its not a taboo

11. My mum's younger brother first wife to be is related to him unknownly. When the marriage plans was ongoing, they discovered that they are related. They consulted scholars and were advised not to go ahead... Even though it was too late cos she was already pregnant, they stopped seeing each other and have a child together. They are both married to their respective spouses. It is a taboo in my mum's family.

12. I could do it only if it is someone from my step-parent side, I know we share no blood. If we share blood it cannot be. I love dick too much to have to focus on one in the family, too many other dicks out there to enjoy.

13. If the bible is against it, then who gave birth to Cain's wife if not Adam and Eve.

1. This question ehhhh!!! Of course the early men married their sisters...

2. Finally, we find someone who thinks out of the box. We need more like you here.

3. This is a rhetorical question.

14. In the northern part of Nigeria and for Hausa Muslims, it is very much permitted and allowed and in some cases, the marriage is arranged by the parents sef. There are also cases where the family members fall in love on their own and proceed to tell their family. I haven't seen siblings getting married but mostly it's first cousins I do see getting married. My former neighbor married her uncle, her Father's younger brother....Where I come from it is an abomination and for those who went ahead or eloped they had to come back and do certain cleansing rituals in the village.

15. Stella, when you were mentioning bible yeaterday... i asked myself: what if the person is not a christian? Or was brought up being guided by conscience and tradition; rather than religion?? No be everybody carry bible for head and for people like that we cant play judge.
    I know hausa muslims do it and are open about it. The fact that they speak so openly about it, shows that they dont even see it as wrong.

I can't sha....

16. My neighbor married his cousin. This marriage within the family is common in the Northern part of Nigeria.

17. It's a taboo in my place. We don't even marry someone from the same clan cos it is believed we are all related.

18. I almost had sex with my cousin when I was 20
    thank Goodness my mum walked in on us by now I would have regretted it as a woman

19. I almost had sex with my mother's younger sister's son when I was age 19 he's a little older, very tall handsom with red lips I always admire his looks.
    So whenever he came to our house for holidays we always hangout together even when he has my brothers as age mates, I liked using him to pose in the neighbourhood so on one of his visits he was in my room and we were playing and hitting each other before we knew it we started bitting each other's lips then it turned it to kissing.

As God would have it my mum just walked in on us unexpectedly what followed after that is left untold.

Long story short I haven't seen or spoken to him 13yrs later

20. You can't even marry someone from my village sef let alone clan that's aru kwó nwa na azu

21. Really glad to see this, I was just asking a guy that why is it wrong to marry from one's family and he was like giving some talks about culture and though religion also listed those you can't marry especially the ones u suck from same breast.. But my own conclusion is we all read that the first male was ADAM and first female EVE, and it is from this duo we all came from. If that's the case anyone u marry is still your brother or sister.. Directly or indirectly lobatan