Monday, November 12, 2018

Chronicle Of Blog Visitor Narrative

*Shaking my head*

STAND ALONE NARRATIVE
TRIBAL BROUHAHA

Hello Ma'am,

Please, I have an issue that needs your clarification(both your humble self and your lovely BV's).

I sent you a service year boulevard, around last year I think, I shared my experience to you. I explained to you then how I met with this very beautiful Igbo girl in ojoto, Anambra state in 2012. I love this girl very much, I told you that time how she gave me a tough time, before agreeing to be mine.

She thought I was a player then because of my dashing look(That is what people do think about me anyway).

To cut the long story short, I have spoken to my family about her, they all gave their blessings to our relationship. My siblings especially loved(and still love) her a lot. 

I do visit her frequently in Owerri( she studies in FUTO), and I was planning to ask for her hand in marriage when she gets to final year(which will be in 2019), around last year I got a call from her Dad, threatening me on phone to leave his daughter alone. 

This is a man I haven't met with before in my life. His excuse was that his daughter cannot marry a YORUBA man. I thought he was joking initially,and I asked my childhood friend who is an igbo to help speak to him on my behalf, he told him that his daughter can't even marry outside their OBA village in Idemili south local government.

My question is what does tribe got to do with love, I love this girl very much and I will take good very care of her. Funny enough I haven't have sex with this girl before, despite staying with her in the same room several times, I did this just to proof to her that I was for real.

Are all Igbos that tribalistic? How on earth will someone be thinking backward in 21st century.

The girl in question, loves me very much, she cried all night, starved her self, e.t.c. Despite that her father stood his ground.

I learnt he told her to choose between me and him, she had no choice than to choose the later. She has stopped talking to me since last year, I spent a week in the hospital because of this. Is it a crime for one to be Yoruba? Igbo BV's why are some igbo parents like that?

She tells my friends how much she loves me anytime they chat on facebook and watsapp, I haven't told her about my background before this happened ( I am from a rich background) because I wanted to be sure whether she is truly in love with me before telling her, I was about to do this before all this happened...

*My dear lover boy,please forget about this woman you are in love with because even if you Manage to Marry her without her Father's approval,the Marriage will not last oh...
Or Maybe if you let him know just how rich you are,he might change his mind..LOL

85 comments:

1. Ofcos he will change his mind wen he finds out ur rich😒

Abeg leave them n find anoda babe! Igbo's are too tribalistic

2. Dear poster, I love love so I will help you. Don't mind all these teasers including Stella. 1st thing: Remain her friend and be there for her. Send her nice, pleasant texts...no sexual connotations or expectations. Just keep at it for 3 -6 months, once in 2- 3days. Back off a bit and persist and see if she responds.
      2nd: Earn her trust and confidence back. Again no pressure....allow her talk to you without judging her. Be her confidant and To Go person about everything and anything down to period pain.
      3rd: Gain her respect..mmm.my....when you've got her attention then show off small. Buy her nice things, show her your progress.
      4th: Allow her to grow up a bit more and ask her out again. Igbo women can stand their grounds with their family members when choosing husbands.
      If all these fail then go for someone else. Don't forget to pray about it.

3. Leave Igbo people alone, we are not your problem. Not all igbos want their kids marrying outside, same as most yorubas and Hausas it’s not a big deal abeg.
      I feel you dint try enough, you dint prove yourself, he called you on the phone and you dint even go to see him face to face as a man, you just backed down, who does that, you have to show how worthy you are of her love plus she’s still in school, most parents will not even entertain any marriage talk at that age. You should have gotten to know her, or even asked about her mum, make sure you both have a relationship, tell her mum about your work and all. Show her you are responsible, by now it would have been easier to penetrate her dad, but to just give up like that shows you are not worth her love.
      If you are still interested, don’t stop talking to her, just keep up and try and go through her mum, if not Oga it’s not by force to marry an Igbo woman, and no it’s not about having all the money in the world, a knok anambra man will not even allow his child marry outside anambra state.
      I know a woman who was saying God forbid when so imo rich guys came for her daughters hand... she even chased them away

4. Dear poster, it's not a tribal thing. We are Nigerians so let's not pretend most of us are ok with inter tribal marriages. Again, you went for an Anambra girl. Most of us don't marry outside Alhambra state. Even if ure igbo from a different state it'll still be difficult. It's our choice and it works for us

5. Poster its not by force , I never advice people to go against their parents wish when it comes to marriage, the people around me that have done it, the marriage didn't go well. My friend the father didn't attend her wedding, the marriage is having serious hiccups, and they are still TTC after 8yrs.
      You also don't seem strong enough to fight for her, so don't even bother. Because you wont have peace in that marriage. Look for a family were you are wanted, it doesn't even have to be your tribe. But acceptance btw both families is important.
      All the people my own parents have rejected for us, we later found out it was for the best.
      Im Yoruba and my parents never liked my ex that was same yoruba as me. But were all opened arms to the Igbo man I eventually married.

6. Annon 16;39 gas said anambras especially idemili onitsha awka they don't marry from other states . Naso them be yet those who marry imo men turn out far better and exposed.

7. Poster is a baby..... Small boy. You are here asking silly question that has tribal coloration. That you are rich means what? Ladies have suffered in men's ✋ o.

You are a pain in the Man's neck.
      you love her daughter enough to be thinking of marriage in 2019 which is just 2months away but IMO you have not been communicating with her people especially the mum.

Mums hold the key to father's hearts. Keep your wealth in your bank account and grow up. Find a way to talk to the mum. If need be go and see her. She will do the difficult job of persuading the father.

That's what mothers do. Fight for her. If the man still insist after all persuasion, pls move on with your life.

8. When the daughter enter 40yrs he will accept 😏😏😏😏😏😏😏

besides poster why not be friendly with the girl's mum.

Show yourself to the parent, present yourself as just friend maybe they fall in love with you at 1st sight cos if your looks or grow to love you cos of your xter

Thank God my Mum is all about wht treat her children well not tribe at all

9. Someone like my father will rather give his child to Hausa Christian than an igbo man. He finds them distrustful and many are into shady business and have no respect. Even my sis that brought urhobo he rejected.
      He doesnt even rent property to them because they spoil houses.
      He once rejected house rent of 3.5m when the tenant has paid.
      He gave it to an Edo man for 3m and warned the agent never to rent his house to an igbo man. The last igbo tenant had 15 relatives in a 3bed.

10. See comments. Iv come to realise theres alot of tribalism just reading comments on this post. See the comment that dat one that calls herself Chikito left and her cheerleader.
      The truth is even the ones that are supposed to be enlightened have this sort of mind-set and you will wonder why so many ladies are single and are constantly on single and mingle year in year out without success. The problem with you all is your mind set.
      Thank God my family doesn't think this way. The funny thing is I and all my sisters married non Yoruba, calabar and anambra men, only my brothers married Yoruba ladies. We are all one family. My husband family too are very enlighened and never had an issue with me not being their tribe. I actually enjoy the fact I am married to another culture. Nigerians have a long way to go if people still reason this way. A real pity,because you are missing out on someone that might actually be perfect for you just because of where he comes from.
      Poster pls don't go to a family where you are not wanted. Same advice I will give to a brother. Family acceptance is very important. Don't even bother,you will find someone else who will appreciate you.

2. Which one is are igbos that tribalistic ?? Haven't u seen yoruba parents refusing their kids marrying from other tribes????

Abeg abeg abeg. Don't generalise rubbish? I'm igbo and I'm not marrying igbo

1. Let him be talking rubbish..rich my ass.taa gbafuo

2. Leave Anambra people to marry themselves. They are too tribalistic

If her father accepts her grand father might reject

3. The boy sounds so naive sha...you’re from a rich background and since 2012 you have been waiting to show her??? So she will be in final year in 2019, how old was she when you met her it 2012?? 14 years ???
      Anyways Yorubas are more tribalistic...speaking from personal experience

4. Exactly @Yorubas are more tribalistic

5. I once dated a yoruba guy and we were so much in love, as in everything clicked, forever was already looking sweet. The day bobo finally informed his mother that he had found a lady to marry, all hell was let loosed. The woman threatened him, called all her late husband's family to warn him. The guy tried being stubborn for a while. Didn't call her for a while. We finally decided it was best to break up cos I can't be in a marriage where my MIL already hates me. What was her reason for all these? She said she has heard that Akwa ibom ladies are promiscuous and if he, as the first son, got married to an Akwaibomite, he would be setting a bad example for his siblings.

Tribalism is based on the individual or family.

6. exactly, tribalism is based on individual or family and not on tribe please. i have a 1st hand experience with a TIV guy. the father said no and meant it then we had to break up. meanwhile im igbo and can marry anywhere i want to. Stop that nonsense generalization and blame the girl's father as an individual.

soma

3. Lover boy is not only Igbo that do this, even your Yoruba patents do the same thing. I feel you should visit her father, talk things over to him, let him understand you are from a comfortable family. Is possible her father is afraid that you do not have anything, that you may not take care of his daughter. What about her mother? Mothers are better dealing with than fathers. You can travel down to her place with one of your family members, let her father see the son of who you are.

1. GBAM 😘😘😘😘😘😘

2. You have sense!!!! Poster take this advice

4. Free the babe, look for another woman n show us the dashing look.

5. He must have his reason, rational or not.... try and 4get that girl, dint he know wen u guys were dating? Personally i cant allow my son marry from Kalabari or Okrika, i have my reasons

1. Begin tell am now o. Not wen e don fall in love u go send am go hospital like dis poster.

2. Don’t mind this guy, I don’t want my kids marrying outside our tribe but if they don’t that’s fine, but this is just what I want, he made a mistake by not forming a relationship with her mum, he was busy introducing her to his own side, this thing for dey easy by now

3. Who are you to dictate who your child should spend the rest of his/her life with?
      A grown up for that matter.
      Hos does this make sense to you Nigerian parents?

6. Poster leave her, you will definitely find another love.

7. you spent one week in hospital because of a lady..?
    kwo eziokwu!!!
    egwu dikwa.

8. My friend move on and leave us alone. Na by force? Yoruba demon

1. 😂😂😂😂

2. See you,Davido is your Yoruba Angel.Honey fall on you

3. No mind am.as if the girl parents ain't rich...stop blabbing baby boy your childish

4. Well if he's Davido or as rich as Davido, he is welcomed. With Davido's type we are one Nigeria as

5. Fan Fan.Anyways let Love Leads

6. hahha Fan 🤣😂.. who cares if you are rich? We are not after your money GOOOOOOO with your Yarabaness. Leave our igbo girls alone

9. Lol.

Igbos don't hate the Yorubas. It's the demons in "them" that we don't like and don't know how to handle.

Me I know I can marry a very rich TDH Yoruba guy that loves me more than "me"....that I love. 😂

Like this one that is rushing me here now. I like him sha o but Hmmm YD. Who no fear una sweet tongue will see gutter, open eyes and fall inside Yakata 😂😂😂

I'm craving soda biscuits... Na wa

1. Asin enh, I fear who no fear Yoruba boys, they can make their relationships a fairytale before you know it you will be in the same relationship along

2. *along side other women

3. The thing is some people use other people’s experiences to conclude. I know for a fact that if I bring a Yoruba man home today even if angel is written boldly on his face na OYO go be my case. My both cousins are not having it easy in their homes. One’s case is pathetic and this is someone that the whole of Ondo literally came for her marriage in our hometown. Of course you shouldn’t use one or two experiences to conclude but neither can you blame anyone. Leave the girl alone.

10. Well if you truly love the girl, try convincing the father that you are able and capable of taking care of his daughter.this tribalistic thing had to do with individual irrespective of tribe. I have had Yoruba aunties who were against their child marrying Ibo cos they felt they lacked respect.....i have also had my grandfather refuse mum marrying my dad cos he was Yoruba but she insisted that it was him or no one else and after 10years they finally gave their consent. Today they have been together for years

11. I am from the said village as the girl. Poster, it is most times that way, the era will soon fade out. My sis that wanted to marry an IMO state man was a thug of war for my parents, but my parents later gave their consent.
    Poster, I advise u stand your ground. Continue to plead with them. They may have a change of heart after awhile. I talk from many what I have seen. Most times,u need to involve other relations of the girl to plead your case.

12. If you truly love her and she loves you too. Find a way around it. She's scared to go against her father

BTW not all Igbos are tribalistic.

13. Dude keep fighting for her and if possible involve your parents especially your dad and if you say you are rich what matters is if your family background is good and with constant pleas from your family he will succumb and allow you guys marry! You can also try and know her other siblings or cousins who can help talk to the family. The most important thing is let them know your family background now that you know the girl truly loves you. And like I said up there if your family background is very good. Then you are good to go!

14. Anambra people likes to marry themselves, its sometimes hard for them to accept other ibo speaking state sef,it happened to me as an ibo lady.

15. Love nwantintin. And here i am looking for love.

16. Oga, visit him with your parents and throw some cash around. He'll see the light. Try this and see

1. Hahaha......get her pregnant as well...they will call you to come and fix a date

2. Lucille no ooooo! Pregnant ke? I know someone who is in a love triangle with a guy who has 4 children with a lady he loves but her family said lailai. They told him that even if they have 20 children together they will still not give their consent bcos they don't want Yoruba inlaws. The woman is Urhobo and they've been together for over ten years. Poster, borrow leg o.

3. Una never see something. I know someone after two kids they still went their separate ways. The father said even if they like they should have 10 kids together he wasn’t going to give his consent.

17. Uncle it's not only igbos but truth is some of us can't stand seeing our loved ones marry to a different tribe or a far distance

18. some families are just too tribalistic. i know of an Auntie, she is ibo and fine lady like this. she would have married since tipe tipe like 20yrs ago or so. her papa no gree her marry her Yoruba bobo, my people up till now that Auntie never marry and go go don reach 50yrs now . its totally wrong for parents to do this. na becos the girl still young, if she don cross 40yrs he wont talk like this.

19. Eyah. Pele. Please find another babe. My cousin was in your shoes, he so loved this girl eh, but her father was the problem, he said his daughter can't marry anyone who is not igbo. My cousin tried all the could, no way, the man had to call my aunt to warn his son that if he pushes further he will show him WhT it is to be a red cap chief,cousin had to run for his life. So Mr lover face front

20. If you are very sincere and sure of your love for her then fight for her. Look for someone the man listens to and visit the father with the person. Let him know that you are not playing games with her daughter.
    Above all , pray and ask God for direction and assistance.

21. Poster I know how you feel, I have been there, I was also rejected too due to tribal difference I died one thousand times and my guy tried all he could but his people refused. Thank God I moved on and God gave me the best.
    Just move on and you will find another. It is well with you.
    Note: not all igbos do this, I believe it's a family thing.

22. It's not just igbo's ....thats part of the reason why this country can't move forward. We lack the spirit of oneness and unity.

23. Her dad might be richer than you or your dad, so I don't think it has anything to do with money, most Igbos do not marry outside their tribe. I rem my aunt fought tooth and nail to make sure that her daughter didnt marry a yoruba guy, but she went and did court wedding and she had not choice than to agree. I loved my mum too much to break her heart by marrying a non-Igbo, so I didnt even bother dating anyone that wasnt Igbo.

Try and go see the father with your father and talk to him, he might agree.

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

1. Even we that grew up in the north, my mum was always saying “Igbo and Catholic” since we were kids, we were lucky to even Igbo and Catholic, though one of my sis married an igala man, but we just followed suit 😄

24. Most parents from Anambra state don't like their daughters marrying outside the state especially the first daughters.

It is even very difficult for another igbo man from a different state not to talk of yoruba..Dear Poster, you are on a loooonnnggg difficult thing but it is not impossible.

Here is a clue, a lot of the Anambra men will listen to their wives, i know my dad does.. so find out if he is that way and over impress the mum..

Good luck.

25. Lol..
    Please flaunt that wealth you have.

Igbos can never say no to money.

Go visit the man, go with a convoy of posh cars and fill the cars with gifts.

No be igbo man?
    Abegi.

Na dem easy to buy with money pass.

26. It's just sad that some Nigerian parents still do this to their kids. love is important here. Two adults loving each other have the right to get married and be happy for crying out loud!

27. I am not Igbo. My parents told us that we should feel free to bring husband from anywhere in the world. But that PLEASE we should try and avoid the yo-yos. Hehehehehehe.
    Na your brothers spoil market for you my dear. Take heart.

That reminds me.... my bestie (very pales mixed race) is engaged to a yo-yo guy. The angelic one though, correct coconut guy, great job, very very smart, TDH. She followed him for his sibling's wedding last weekend. His extended family harrased her so much that she stepped out to call me and was even crying. Even his sibling who was getting married saw it all and started begging her to calm her down. Chai... I come pity her sha. I wished I was there. So last weekend he followed her to her uncles 70th, when I called I heard him laughing with her brothers in the background. I told her to tell him that this is how family time is supposed to be. He should remember that!!
    Awon dramatic people. If they dont harass you small them never start....

1. Apt.
      Your enemy will not die well.

2. Your people have this mentality but have no problem living with the Yoyo's. You pack yourselves and your whole generations and still come to Lagos/Ibadan to live amongst them in their lands. Work in their organizations/businesses.
      Why not ignore them completely by not living or working with them.
      Many of you are hypocrites......

28. It is not only Igbos that do this. People who are filled with prejudice. I remember mmeting a lovely girl I wanted to marry. Her father is a pastor, my father is a pastor. They are from Ogotun Ekiti in Ekiti State and I am from Irele in Ondo State but her father said NO, that he does not not want her daughter to marry from outside Ekiti State.
    I loved the lady so much but I had to move on because she chose her dad over me.
    Now, I hope you can relate with that. so, move on man.

29. Ahbegi oga forget the iam rich stuff pls if actually u really love this girl like u said then go ahead and fight for her, push on. don't get tired already you have not even faced the man and you are confused already. Your babe is the only one facing 98% of the heat, threats and abused and u just got 2 percent u come dey confuse already.trust me i have been there before i gave up and told my fiance its over and he didn't give up on me. It was his patience and strength that gave me the courage to oppose my parents and today we won. The choice is urs nobody will advice you better than yourself.

30. I am a yoruba lady,even before the age of serious dating, years of GCE lesson during the holiday. My dad would ask my male friend their names, I wondered why for awhile then i let it go. Upon gaining admission into the univeristy he called me, he reminded me of his previous act of asking names of my male friends, he said for no reason whatsoever should i as his daughter bring an Ibo man to his house as someone i want to marry. he was dead serious, i stayed cleared of ibo guys because of what my father said. Low and behold years later i asked him his reasons, he said nothing that he doesnot just like that.............I have a for a yoruba man(Ibadan) and still very single, at it stands, i am so sure my dad would accept any tribe i present eventually.

1. A daughter i mean to write. All i think the writer should do is, ask his girl if she can get to know her father's reasons..................The reason might just be meaningless like my fathers, Just saying! Love fades when reality sets in my dear besides her parents's blessings are important. Some of the reasons some women stay in domestic violence marriages because the blessing were not complete!

31. I would give you the same advise I would give a girl who wrote a chronicle like this saying the man's parents asked him to choose and he chose his mother and father, you better flee! You are not serious. She loves you but can't stand her ground and defend her love for you to her father. You are on your own! Do not stick around for this girl. There is no point. Why are you the only one in the hospital. Smh, you sound like a weakling. So you read this blog and the advises given to girls in your shoes. No sensible person would tell her to stay put because that is inadvertently prolonging frustration. No father or mother can decide who I marry. I did not decide for them so they CANNOT decide for me. If you go on to be with this girl you would have a really hard time with her family and she would expect you to go way above and beyond for her which you may not be able to. Anyway your business sha. Not all Igbos are tribalist. My parents are.

32. Please shoot your shot again and stop generalising the tribal ish biko. Am igbo married to benue.

33. My husband's family never approved of me and his dad actually begged him not to marry me due to some issue between our families from more than 25 years ago. They are from Anambra and my father is from Anambra but I was born and raised in the US. For months they didn't approve of our marriage but hubby persisted and stood his ground. They never gave their blessing, it caused a major rift between the two families (who know each other before), and til this day I have a very hard time being around them. Once they saw that hubby wasn't backing down they got on board. They expect me to behave as the spring daughter in law but I just don't want to be involved with them. Hopefully this will change over time. All this to say, if you really want to be with her, and she wants to be with you, you both need to stand your ground. It won't be easy going without the final blessing but you will survive. Parents really need to understand the damage that they cause by doing this to their children.

34. Is a whole year not TOO long to not reach out to yourselves if you still love each other???
    My mom stated the state we can't get married to immediately I got into secondary school,she SANG with themb every time a guy comes calling on me or my sister 😂😂

35. This comment has been removed by the author.

36. Personally, I fail to see the difference between Yorubas,Igbos and any other tribes. What we have in this country is the lack of love for each other. The history of men jilting women and vice versa has always been there and will continue after us, be it Igbo or Yoruba. One tribe is not peculiar for been mean than the others. Bottom line is, God should lead us to the right person(Igbo or Yoruba) that would appreciate and love us for real. The issue of parents rejecting partners is not new as well, tribe or no tribe. I remember when my friend who is Igbo got married to another Igbo guy, the marriage crashed within two years, dowry was returned, turns out both are married now with kids to other tribes! Marrying from your tribe is not an automatic ticket for a happy marriage.
    As for the poster, I will strongly advice you take your love else where cause that Lady won't go against her father's wish. If you have a lot of cash, throw it around the man might change his mind!
    As we have Yoruba demons, na so we have Igbo devils, everybody with his or own experiences on the issue of love. If only the we can just " love our neighbors as ourselves' this country will be a better place.

37. O boy better move on if you want a peaceful life. Move on dont bother yourself plenty fishes in the sea o

38. Why are Anambra parents like this? I've been dating this guy for two years now only for him to tell me last time we had a heart to heart talk that his parents told them in a family meeting that they won't accept anyone outside Anambra or Enugu. Although he made to reassure me that it won't be a problem when the time comes but I'm scared. I don't have energy for this kind of drama. Imo State people are not like this. In fact my older cousins are married all over the place (one married to an Ondo man and another to Kogi man).Anambra Parents should stop this please!

39. Huh
    You "love the girl" but you needed your "family's consent to marry her". Same way she needs her family's consent to marry you.
    I like Yoruba people and I have a friend and acquaintances from there. But one thing I have never been able to disprove is the fact that
    the average Yoruba man is controlled by his mother. This is true even to my friend. If the mother tells them to divorce their wives they will go ahead without any questions asked. I don't know why it is like that and who knows the experiences that man had had.

You need to be patience which is a character of LOVE. If you claim to love this girl, it is time to prove it. Go to the dad but before then, pray/fast to the Lord that gives good spouses and he will give you favor. There is always an exception to every rule.

1. Igbo Men are mostly controlled by their Mothers more than the Yoruba's. The Igbo's However are comfortable with their daughters bringing home money bags for an In-laws. But would insist on their successful sons marrying for their tribe . Tribalism is the order of the day for majority of them .

40. Its true o. Oba people of Anambra dont like to marry outside their town. My husband is from there and he is the only one among his whole extended family both males and females that married from another town in Anambra

41. Since 2012 okwa ya? You were studying her like a degree course and plan to reveal yourself to her in 2019 as the ogbonge secret dat you is okwa ya? U see ur life outside? Yoruba demon like you. In 7 years, you have never visited her people or even gone to meet her father after the warning to clear his doubts. Instead u went on one week admission drinking beverages and being pampered as the rich background guy that u is okwa ya?

Don't worry nna. Her father will package and send her to u through Jumia u hear? When other Igbo guys killing containers on d high sea are begging to marry from Anambra, u are writing chronicle. U never ready. U better look for one correct Buki or Shaki to marry in ur state. Dat girl papa don cancel u since last year wey u no show face. Mr revelation. Wedon sa.

42. Oga fight for your love o! Don't leave someone you love and end up with someone else. You will regret it.
    I wish I fought for mine.

43. Free the girl abeg. That's how you people love, tomorrow na another story. Leave the poor girl alone, no be by force. There are so many beautiful Yoruba ladies you can marry. Shebi you are rich?

44. 7 years to test her love before revealing you are? You are not serious.