Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Ikokore Ti De.....

Tuesday, November 13, 2018

Ikokore Ti De.....

Loni IKOKORE IJEBU, ni a mu wa, e ma ba mi kalo..

Awon ohun elo ti a o lo fun IKOKORE wa ti oni ree;-
Isu Ewura,Ata gigun,Epo,Alubosa,Ede,Eja yiyan,Eran,Ponmo,Iyo,Iyo oyinbo, Efinrin..

IGBESE AKOKO : A o koko be isu wa, a o ge si kekere, a o si rin. (a le fi iyo die si inu isu yen leyin ti a ba rin-in tan, ki a fi poo papo, ti o ba wu wa ni o)
IGBESE KEJI: – Leyin eyi, a o gbe omi die ka ina, a o da ata sii, ti ata yii ba ti n hoo, a o da ede, eja panla gbigbe, eja, ponmo, Maggi ati iyo die a o de pa ki o hoo fun iseju marun.
IGBESE KETA: -leyin eyi, a o wa ma rora da isu wa ti a rin yen si inu ata obe yen, (bi a se da okara tabi egusi sinu epo), a o wa fi epo die sii, e o si de pa, ki o hoo fun iseju mewa tabi jubeelo.
(AKIYESI) : -Leyin ti obe yi ba ti n ho ni ori ina, a le fi sibi obe wa fo Koko isu yen, ti koko yen ba tobi ju ) .Ti o ba ti jina, ti a too wo, ti o si dun, IKOKORE ijebu ti de’le niyen.

Ki a ma jeun lo ni o ku bayi, A le jee pelu eba tutu... yemi ara ijebu, ewe sooooo

Aye wa fun Amoran, Afikun, Ayokuro ati ibeere.

Recipe for making Ikokore:
Ingredients
Water Yam
Beef ( small chunks)
Smoked Fish
Smoked Prawns
Palm Oil
Effirin
Dried Pepper to taste
Seasoning to taste
Salt to taste

Method
1....Peel, wash and grate the water yam, add a little salt and mix
2....Season and steam the meat with onion, pepper, salt and beef seasoning
3....When meat is cooked add the smoked fish, prawns and correct seasoning, some more water and cook for about 3 minutes.
4 ...Add the oil and cook for 5 minutes.
5....Using you hand drop the water yam paste in small ball into the pot. Make sure to leave space between the balls to give enough room for the stock to boil up and cook the water yam
6...Reduce the flame to very low to allow the water yam balls cook through. Do not stir immediately . If need be rock or shake the pot to free the water yam to cook. When the cooked balls are translucent And the sauce thickens. Takes about 15 minutes to cook though.
7...When the balls are set on the out side you may use a wooden spoon to stir the pottage to avoid squashing the balls.
8....Taste for salt , add the Effirin , cook for 2 minutes and your pottage is ready

*I have some questions...
-I googled the water yam and it looks like Cassava....is it another tpe of Cassava?
-What is Effirin?
-Is this what they call Asaro?

50 comments:

1. Efinrin is saint leaves. Ikokore is the Yoruba kind of ekpang nkukwo, the difference is we wrap our own with the nkukwo leaf.

1. *scent leaves

2. I ate nonsense out of this ikokore in those days in my secondary school at ijebu Ode.I love ikokore but unfortunately I can't find water yam here in the North.
      I missed eating this delicious food with cold Eba.

3. @Miss Ess: eyen akwa-ibom isongo! I hail thee! Ekpang is quite stressful so most times, i adopt the ikokore method when i wanna make water yam porridge for my family.

4. Also known as nigerian basil

2. Stella, I no know where you see Water yam wey be like cassava o! Hahahahhahaaaaa! Water yam is a specie of yam. They look like premature yam tubers.

3. Stella to answer your question

1. Water yam is another form of yam not cassava
    2.Efirin is scent leaf
    3. Yes it is Asaro but water yam Asaro I. E porridge

Eweso ooooo

4. Effirin is Scent leaf/Nchaun/Ntung

5. Mi o sa je ikokore yi ri sha,oju ounje yi fani mora sha.

6. Replies
    1. 👌👌👌👌
      Now I am free abi, I have delivered 😂😂

2. Yes ooo. Thank you. See me writing it and they are asking if na exam I dey write

3. Olori thanks for sharing. I love😍yams . But can I use ordinary yam to make this?

7. wow! perfect coincidence. I'm at my sister's place and she prepared Dis last night and I kept asking for more.
    Stella, water yam is like ur regular yam only dat it is not as strong as we yam. efirin is scent leaf in Yoruba and Dis is not ur regular porridge. let me go and bully her into making more

8. Nice.. . But anything "grating"' count me out. Be it okra, carrot Etc.
    Also water yam itches my throat.
    I think I have tasted it once tho when I was little. If it's made for me, I may just damn my throat and taste again. Hopefully its nice dish cos I can't recal

1. You can blend it all the same
      And if properly cooked, it wont itch your throat

9. This looks yummy, not a fan of water yam though.
    I’ll try it.

10. Am sure making this meal this Christmas when the whole gang would be around.

1. Nice one.... Something different
      I am sure they will be glad

2. At olori yes oh. Did the akwa ibom ekpa before and before i came back from my outing met only empty pot waiting for me.

11. Water yam looks like yam but most times not as big as regular yam.
    Over a decade now I've not tasted ikokore but I've eaten the calabar version nkukwo (water yam mixed with cocoyam)

12. There's a little change though,I learnt it from one cookery show that you put the fish,ponmo,beef etc last instead of the grated yam so that they don't stick to the bottom of the pot

13. I loveee this food. I prepared it last week and I enjoyed it....

I'll be making it this weekend. I just don't like the way it burns so badly if not using a non-stick pot. I can I prevent it?

1. Person, Just reduce the fire and don't turn too much

14. Olori Orente are you an Ijebu lady? If yes, Eweso Omo Alare!That was very Nice.

15. Yummy, Ikokore Oba nta, Let me go find water yam and make this part of thanksgiving dish. Thanks for sharing.

16. Ogiri should be use with the seasoning cube,it brings out the original aroma of Ikokere.

17. Thanks for this, will try it out

18. Olori, e ku ise jare. Ogiri Ijebu nko? Nitori aroma.

1. Yes oo, E fi ogiri si 👌👌👌👌👌

19. Nice one olori... I have not tasted ikokore before sha

20. Nice one olori... I have not tasted ikokore before sha

21. Stella efirin is basil plants

22. As a yam lover that ayam, I will give it a try soon.

Socialmediaawardsng

To vote @stelladimokokorkus as BLOGGER OF THE YEAR

Text sma18 stella to 33352

23. correct. thanks olori....made ikokore last week but unfortunately they sold very new water yam to me abi na diff specie sef and my ikokore was like okro. i didnt enjoy it, imagine after putting correct fish, periwinkle and snail in it. am not yoruba but am very adventurous with food and love cooking. first ate ikokore at my friends family house in Epe

1. It depends on d yam,just like our normal yam,som will come out gud and some will nt.