Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Singer Mocheddah Talks On Her Battle With Depression And How She Contemplated Suicide.

Wednesday, November 28, 2018

Singer Mocheddah Talks On Her Battle With Depression And How She Contemplated Suicide.

In a recent edition of the Dang Monologue, singer and rapper Mo'Cheddah opened up on her career, her battles and how she wanted to take her life at some point.

''I have been active in the music industry since I was 12,'' she said, ''When I say actively, I mean going to the studio...I always knew what I wanted to do... Music was my life, it was what I wanted to do and It was easy for my parents to support me.

The day I recorded 'Won Beri', my life changed in an instant. I was 16 and the lady that was supposed to record the song didn't show up, so they asked me to come record this thing pending the time she shows up, so I entered the booth and sang but nobody thought it sounded that good, until Sauce Kid » [now Sinzu] came and asked, who sang this hook.

I didn't need to be in the video, but Clarence Peters was like, the whole of Nigeria has been asking who is she and that changed my career.

Speaking on the part of the industry she wasn't prepared for she said;

''I was brought up to be very honest, to be very proud of my emotions, brought up to make my own decisions... I was coming from a naive, God-fearing family and I went into the world of adults and I was thrown into a jungle and people didn't care if I was 16, they attacked me.

The industry was hostile... I would be performing and they would turn off my microphone because the A-list artist doesn't like me. I didn't get it, i didn't know there was hate... I never knew hate...

There was one day I looked at my Mum and told her ''You taught me everything about love but you did not teach me to hate.'' I don't know why she did not, but the truth is there is hate in the world, so I went into the industry thinking everybody loved everybody. I didn't understand that hate.

The day I won the Channel O award, that was around when Twitter came out and people I knew started dragging me online. People started asking why I won the award, people starting questioning me and carrying stories around me.

How do I meet a legend and I kneel down to say hi to her and she is like ''Get off me'', a woman I have looked up to for years, the industry was hostile.''

What broke her;

''What broke me was that when I left my label... people chose to pick sides and obviously it wasn't mine.

I will never forget I was in my bedroom and I broke down. It was a week of shows and I was at home for that day, the next day I was to go to Ghana and I got a BBM that you had to come to the studio right now.

I just wanted to lay down, I was to go to Ghana the next day to record and perform, I just wanted to lay down... and it all dawned on me at that moment that I wasn't living and even if I got to that place I was going, I will be so sad and miserable.

I was crying and I told my then boyfriend, [my husband now] and I told him I didn't want to do this anymore.

There was a big family meeting and I told my Mum to get me a lawyer... so I have known these men since I was like three, I have known them, they were amazing to me and they came for me because of money, at that time I was 21 and I was fighting a legal battle with people I called my brothers.

That was when I knew the world was really messed up, that was when I knew I was on my own. I was poor, I won't say I was depressed because I was famous and poor because my parents didn't teach me to value money. I will be on a bus and someone will look at me like Mo Cheddah, why are you on a bus?

On depression and contemplating suicide

''I felt as I had failed, especially because I had thought that business will pick up. They had so much hate for me, they started bad-mouthing me to people to companies, to producers, so I was kind of blacklisted, so you know all that time people were saying, where is Mo'Cheddah, nobody wanted to work with me because they hated me and they wanted to do everything in their power to ruin me and I felt God forsook me, sadness consumed me.

I googled ''there is this darkness inside me'' and I saw a lot of people had it, they were talking about depression.

The only reason I did not kill myself, first I didn't know how I will kill myself. I thought about it so many times... I thought of drowning myself in the 3rd Mainland bridge, at times I wanted it to be quick, so I will be praying that God should just kill me.

All I had to do was understand that as long as I was at peace with this person, every other thing will be OK. I live to be happy.'' she concluded.
DANG/pulse

75 comments:

1. Thus entertaining industry is very tight. You have to really really be ready for it.

2. Everybody is shouting DEPRESSION!! Yes depression exist but the fake life most of them live on! cause depression to them. IG for example!! TOke and her gang setting it on fire with new yash buying trend!! House buying!! Material show off. By the Time you see all that na and you cnt met up. Depression and high blood pressure will set in. Depression is as a result of all these. Imagine IG close no show show. People go rest.

1. Very ignorant thing to say. Lots of people have been suffering from depression. The pain is real and it kills or hastens the death of many people everyday. It’s good that people are coming out to talk. If you don’t suffer from it, please jump and pass

2. are you minding the ignorant mofo...fake life my arse...social media has just made more people come out and speak freely. this culture of silence in Africa is terrible...STOP SHAMING PEOPLE WHO COME OUT TO SPEAK ABOUT THEIR ISSUES

3. Anon 13:18 May you never have it because it's people like you who kill themselves. I had depression after I was attacked by armed criminals. I wasn't a social media junkie. I lived my life off social media because I was way ahead of my peers and didn't want to rub it in I got depressed battling the trauma and thought of someone trying to lay claim on your body/power over you and your stuff just because he had a gun. I quit my job which millions will give an arm and leg for, left my apartment which still had a year lease with some of my property still in it, sent the landlord the keys and relocated to another city. I couldn't sleep with the lights on as I felt 'they' would see me. Couldn't sleep with lights off either. I would sleep between the bed and the wall. Thank God for his mercy, he restored everything I lost in tenfolds. So when people speak up about depression, keep mum if you have no sympathy and have refused to educate yourself.

3. It's a pity.
    So all these una Instagram posts na fake?
    I talk am, looks like depression is now a status symbol in Naija together with feminism.

1. Not really. The entertainment industry does tend to attract more troubled souls. They are very talented and can sway millions with their gift, but oftentimes fight great internal battles. A lot of entertainers has psychological issues and have dependencies on drugs and alcohol. Even in strict cultures the same issues surface among entertainers.

2. Spot on👍🏻

4. Aunty go sing better song. Depression go vanish.

5. This Dang monologues is run by who or what platform exactly?

1. The DANG monologues is by Diary of a Naija Girl (DANG).

6. She didn't mention the issue of her nude photo and eldee or this isn't the whole monologue..??

1. She skipped that one o.
      She hasn't told the real truth

7. Nawa o. It is well, no job is worth your life and your sanity. Even if you feel something is your calling and it's making you unhappy. Better leave that calling till you are in a better head space.
    I can remember I hated one particular job so bad because of my boss who from the first moment seeing me; didn't even give me a chance. Maybe it's my looks or that fact I wasn't impoverished.
    I will dread going to work daily. Weekend I will be happy. Once it's monday my heart will be racing.
    I left that job ;even though it was a good job with good pay. But my sanity was more important.
    I left that industry and entered another. The former job is still my actual passion. I believe later will go back. But another company.

1. I used to be in your shoe too.wicked boss with camera everywere. Omo this month never end I run.

2. This is me right now,my boss is bitch I feel so sick resuming every morning, God please provide a better job for me.

3. I used to be that person you described up there...smh

Olusweets

8. it was recently I learnt how to deal with the hate in the world too. it was hard. Growing up I wasn't used to people telling me No. I learnt how tu accept that too. I always do things my way, my time, when I'm most comfortable and my people corrected me with love, I wasn't used to being yelled at.

I grew up got into mixing with people and didnt know how to adjust to harsh, brutal, insensitive words. I'm so sensitive. I'm still learning to be thick and ignore certain things. Lord help me. it can really break someone.

9. Never envy anyone. In the mist of all the popularity, good cars and cloths, riches, money in account there is darkness somewhere. That person you want to be like is depressed. The world should put more effort in creating awareness about depression, enough of HIV and TB. May God help us all to find that inner peace we desire.

10. how can people be hating someone I love. I like her and her songs, the ones I've listened to oh!

11. Creating it by shutting social media our number one enemy. Yesterday my friend put up her husband pics. Thanking him for choosing to spend the rest of his life with her. I come dey wonder. To her is her biggest achievement. I wish her well. D marriage is not up to 4months. She don put that kind of post many time. U hardly see d husband doing same. But she does it to pepper her friends who are not married. O yes we slay more than her. Got a job and look finner than her.so marriage is her only achievement. My bottom line is cant u praise your husband inside house than changing your DP 7times a day. Am not JEALOUSY oo. God go give me my own but we human intentionally do tins to make others feel bad and we go to church lifting holy hands. Rubbish.

1. You are very jealous and it shows in your write-up.Is it a crime for her to appreciate her husband?What is ur prob my dear.Leave her let her enjoy her hubby in peace.She is happy of course abi u want her to be sad nii.You too go and get married haba!!This is wat my sister was telling me ooo wen I was uploading and appreciating my fiance on WhatsApp.She said I should stop that it is not everyone that will be happy with u.And me I am just doing it nii ooo cos I am happy.She said world people are no more around us,they are now on social media.She is saying d truth.Jealous people

2. Oh my dear, you are indeed JEALOUSY.

3. The worst kind of person you will find is the person whose situation has changed for the better. The mother who ttc'd for two decades will be the one who will look down on the woman who has not been able to give birth in all her life. The person who was able to crawl out of poverty is the one who will despise the one who never got out. The woman who find husband after how long is the one most likely to mock the spinster....etc. Never underestimate the evil that lies in the heart of the person whose life improved. I always say a lot of ppl step up so they can step down on someone else. In their suffering days they would paint themself as being compassionate and caring about the plight of others, but the moment their situation change they put on new clothes and start speaking with new tongues.

4. pure jealousy sister even if you say you’re not. Marriage is not a do or die affair. let her celebrate her husband anyway she likes. You too celebrate your slaying and achievements anyway you like. Live and let live. #mindyour business.

5. You and your friends too can show off in your respective houses and not go on social media to show off material things that will not do anything for anyone. There are a lot of marriages that do not survive 2 months, so let her celebrate. And why are you checking her husband post? her husband makes her happy and chose to show to her and she chose to show the world, none of your business. Continue slaying.

6. See all of them bitter house wives. Who cares about her and d husband. Poverty marriage.

7. 🤣🤣🤣🤣 see all the miserable house wives crying😭😭. Point of correction am not jealous of her. She is my friend but the day I knew she hate was the day she told me not to come to her wedding to steal her show. Haaaa I laugh eeeh. Ladies stop using marriage to pepper your single close friends. Well next yr am getting married so y I go jealous her huh. How you go warn your friend not to come to your wedding with make up to slay and sincerely I went there with no make up. Lolz abeg leave that tin who man epp. Most of u are dying in silence forming stupid MRS🤣🤣🤣🤣. E pain them wella. Oya make una talk

8. Anon 13:54
      You sound quite miserable and jealous in your post and reply. Smh! You say people are forming stupid Mrs yet, you’re dying to get married ‘next year’ as you put it. Better leave your friend to enjoy her husband or if the thing pepper you too much, unfollow her on IG

9. First you say ‘God go give me my own’, then you lie and say ‘I am getting married next year’... To an invisible non-existent man who hasn’t been given to you yet, I suppose? Lmao

10. Adabekee wat part of English u did not understand. Am not married yet so I no carry the man for head. Run along bitch. Keep the reply coming huh. 🤣🤣😂

11. Stella this is an experiment of how social media affect humans. Me that put up the write up. They dnt know if am a teenager trying to make these ones miserable. Nigerian women nd how they carry man matter for head. No wonder men treat u guys like trash. Rubbish.

12. Live and let live. Her husband, her dp, why are you bothered?

13. Wow see fight here oooo. Make una mind una business. God go help you people

14. JEALOUS IDIOT....LIAR. FROM GOD GO GIVE ME MY OWN TO I WILL MARRY NEXT YEAR....LIE KEE U DIA.....EWU

15. Anon 13:54 so you can slay and do pepper dem on social media but your friend cannot do pepper dem with her hubby on social media abi? You are a bitter and jealous person! Just see the tone you used in typing that comment up there tells a lot about you. What stops you from doing pepper dem with your supposed fiancée you are marrying next year? You have your career and slayage going well for you and she has her marriage going well for her so why the bitterness? Did she snatch your crush? Na wa o!! May God keep unfriendly friends like you far away from us IJN. Amen.

16. How did you know your friend was posting her husband to make you feel bad?
      Why are you monitoring her husband’s posts?
      Since her husband is not posting as much as your friend, why is that a problem to you then?
      You chose to slay, she chose to celebrate him... why is her choice your issue.
      See ehn, at the end of the day, people are dying, children in this part of the world are hungry... leave your friend alone!

17. Very Jealous human being...even though you won't accept it!

18. Omo see bad belle people fighting for unknown friend. Very funny.🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣. They dnt know if these stories does not even exist chai. Am popular already.

19. Wow stella you need to make this my post Chronicle ooo. See people tearing their clothes for my invisible friend. Lolz yes I refuse to be jealous. Is it your JEALOUSY.🤣🤣🤣🤣

20. Anon 16:31. Nne calm down and drink hot pepper tea. You sound stupid like a mad woman. Wow. I know friends hv treated you bad honey but am not a bad person ok. So stop barking.

21. I refuse to accept am jealous na. Is it your JEALOUSY???? pls let's continue this discussion in spontaneous post tomorrow morning. But really you miserable MRS need to calm down ok.... marriage is good and I wish myself and you all well😍😍. Stella abeg post ooo

22. So now you don change mouth say na experiment and made up story. Lmfao!!! I’m sure you didn’t expect people to bash you for your foolishness. Your lie dey ooz too much Abeg. First you said God will give you your own hubby later you said you have a fiancé that will get married to you next year now you change mouth say na made up story. Chai!!! You too lie!! I’m sure you have absolutely nothing going for you that’s why you have time to monitor what your friend and her husband post. My dear have a change of heart cus your heart is devilish!!! FOH!!!!

23. See finishing, next time you will think twice before you post stuff like this. You sound very jealous and hateful.People like you will rejoice and laugh if your friend's marriage packs up, God forbid.

Meanwhile, I can bet my left bum you will do worse when you get married..

My dear, if you want God to answer your prayers, rid your heart of hate and learn to forgive. For you to bring this here,you go don gossip about her tire.

24. You people should take it easy on her. I am married but alot of my friends got married before me so I know the feeling.
      There was one that will make comments like she's not even interested in going and dressing for weddings again that weddings are for seeking and searching like me. So many things. Just because I always dress so much for weddings back then and she didn't. So was that to belittle me for dressing and her not needing to dress.
      But what made me laugh was many of their husband's I won't even have even said yes to dating them, talkless of marrying them.
      The friend in particular that carried my husband this and that on her head. The husband is a family friend same age as me that I even saw as a child and out of being my spec as I don't like fat short men.
      People need to stop feeling every single girl is jealous of them because they are married.
      Marriage and spouse get level abeg. Rather I'm a single comfortable person that poor married woman.
      To each is own abeg. I get everyone's point. But I hate this notion of ppl feeling marriage is heaven. It's hard work. Just face yours. When the single girls get in they will understand better. But let's stop this married women against single girl nonsense.
      Iv been on both sides and I get what the 1st anonymous is saying.
      If she's not married. Pls leave her. If she marry next year, 5yrs time. All na marriage.

25. Omg!!!!!! Anoms 20:48 am scared already lolz see you. Am faceless so why will I fear bash. No be only bash! na birthday bash u go see. Go and seat somewere jare. I guess I got the longest replies ever huh. Am enjoying this post and I bet stella is too. Why cant u all haters just shut the fuck up........ you all sound miserable huh🤣🤣😂😂😂. This one think say na everybody they fear bash. Go ask toke if bash they feed her..

26. BEDS AND ROSES chop kiss. You be sabi girl jare. Dnt mind them. These people replying are people who obviously treat their friends like shit because they are bearing stupid MRS with one broke ass they even feed ontop. African women sha. Well if you all like kill yourself. Am having the time of my life here. 🤣🤣😋😋. Birds of a feather..... bash indeed. Una go tire. Yeye dey smell. Oya keep the replies coming. Haaaaaaa

27. Anonymous 20:48 YES have gossip about her alot just the way she gossip about me that I sleep around and of course I graduated with one of d best result. Lol....... so shut d fu*k up huh. Is it your mouth I use. Mad woman. Omg....🤣🤣🤣

28. I think I got more than 30 reply on this my gossip. Stella better employ me. I know how to open people mumu button. Hahahahahahah

29. Good night haters .hope u all hv cooked for your husbands and you have knelt down to serve him. Pls go to your status and thank him how you would have been miserable if he has not put a ring on your miserable finger. Lolz single life is sweet for me for now till next yr. But am a bitch.i dnt sing praises to men. Good night . Let's continue in the morning ok. But if anyone throw shade at me I swear am going to drag your miserable life down. Good night.

30. Bed and Rose please don’t even pitch married women against single girl cus the replies arent about them. They are about what the first commenter said about her “friend”. But Let me even ask this question; why do single friends always feel every post their married friends make about marriage is to spite them or means they are carrying marriage on their head? I don’t get it! Why are they always super sensitive when their married friend teases them about singlehood? You can’t even post your happy moments on social media again because you no want make your single friends vex. See Single friends should stop take things to personally Abeg. Friends that have this mentality are the type that are secretly happy when you have marital problems. No worry everybody go marry las las and una go see as e no easy, everybody just dey try cope. I’m unmarried by the way.

31. Cant find my first comment.
      B nd R, the anon is clearly hating on her friend. You can feel the bitterness from her post.
      She said she is finer than her married friend, she is got a good job, she slays. Thats like ‘3 big achievements’ why cant she celebrate her own several achievements? Why is she sad that her friend is celebrating her ‘only achievement’ which is her marriage?
      Is it not normal for new couples to be all over themselves for the first few months of marriage? I bet she wld be so happy if her friend was putting up dps of regret. She wld have been there consoling her nd laughing behind her. Buh feels bad that its all love from her friend’s side. How can u be hating on a marriage of 4months???? If she s changing her dp 7 times and praising her hubby, whats there to hate about? She even went as far as saying the husband does not celebrate her like that??? Whats her biz? This is pure hate on this her newly married friend. Lets be truthful.
      And to make it childish, she s coming up with several watery lies as defense. Even saying miserable married women are replying her. So all these replies under her comment her from married people right?
      Girl if you cant stand your friend’s happiness, block her. I wonder the hateful things you say behind her.
      Change your ways my dear. Everyone will get married at his/her own appointed time. Be happy for ur friend, your own husband too will come. Thats if you want marriage tho. Getting married is a choice. May we all find our true happiness.

32. First anon e don do. Everybody go marry last last. Whether you do it at 25 yrs or 40.
      But no point being fake with a friend though and keeping stuff in. We have different friends for different season in our lives. Maybe your friendship has run its course or either of you have outgrown eachother. It happens.

33. You don't need to get married, continue to enjoy your singlehood and slaying, who marriage epp. Bitch be soaking her pillow every night and be forming hardcore. Common run to mfm for deliverance, your demons are stubborn and rebellious, eleribu omo.

34. So you sleep around join all your vices, only you jelous, envious, gossip, bitter then you sleep around? Go and get tested joo, i am sure you stink.

35. Yes we have cooked for our husbands while you are cooking, cleaning and opening tohtoh for various boyfriends hoping they will marry you, Kwakwakwakwa in Droyalty'voice. This girl is deluded menh, madam bitterleaf slayer.

36. First anon, I pray your friend finds out you're an unfriendly friend. People like you have witchcraft spirit, you don't just know. Merely reading your post, the bitterness was oozing like a waterfall. If you get married next year like you claim with this kind of bitter heart, it's not a curse o but your marriage cannot last, you'll just be very miserable because you have an evil spirit living in you, you don't just know yet.
      O lord my Father, deliver me from unfriendly friends like this anon o. Friends that will be awaiting your downfall, so they can gloat. She's even everywhere insulting everybody. Please wake up tomorrow and come and continue the insults, we are waiting for you. We have arisen on behalf of your friend and if you raise your mouth to talk, we will help you shut it. Wicked soul.

12. Your career nosedived when twitter exposed the nudes you sent to eldee da don. Furthermore,since you started dating your now hubby you stop singing reason being that he is rich and capable of taking care of you. I must applaud you though! You turned to a thorough beauty over night. I love you mo.#NoHating the industry isn't friendly without fortifications you are nothing except God's grace is over sufficient for you.

1. Chai. I no hear that gist then ooo. Congratulations to her. She is looking good though.

2. Her husband is not rich though. Gbemi’s brother.

3. Wrong! Mo and her hubby have been dating since they were in the university. Since she was 17 years or so. Take that to the bank.

They had a couple of issues but everyone who knew them swore they would eventually get married. Bukuyin or whatever isn’t that rich but well packaged. Mo is from an equally financial stable home as he. Her family may even be wealthier than his. Just that he rode on his family name to achieve all he is doing which is admirable.

She retired from music because it just wasn’t working out for her and focused on beauty. She was also undergoing a lot of counseling and prayers that period and didn’t want to compromise her renewed faith by going the extra mile like Kelly Rowland just to fit in.

The nudes thing with eldee I really don’t know because no one close to her ever really wants to talk about that.

13. Everyone is fighting one battle or d other. U will be surprised that even d almighty toke is curently battling depression. Over the years I’ve learnt that if one is really happy, u won’t need to do too much or always be in people’s faces telling them how happy u are.
    Mo it is well. I like d fact that u are now on low key with everything about you. Just live your truth. When I’m not happy I don’t even post anything on the internet, I think about my life and look for ways to make things better not trying to deceive my self.

14. This life was much better before social media came. Then people had their life to themselves. You get to a stage in life when you are comfortable and happy with yourself but societal pressure makes you feel incomplete. They remind you that you are single while your younger ones are married and so much more. Olorun a wo wa o

1. You are so on point. life was far better. Now people are more depress. Social media is from devil

2. You are so on point. life was far better. Now people are more depress. Social media is from devil

3. This is why I don't keep social media. I don't want to fall into any temptation or do what I shouldn't to keep up with anyone's perceived good life. See big Nollywood star, Oge Okoye, found herself pretending that someone's dog was her own. Who would think that someone at that level of fame would fall that far. I am flesh and bones so instead of testing myself I keep away from it all together. Social Media like everything humans have ever created comes with a cost and that cost may be your sanity and peace of mind.

15. Ok but what about fans she gave attitude?.Your record label didn't force u too sex-chat with El-Dee and share nudes. How come everyone broke artiste with faded career are all coming out to claim depression? She always flash luxury vacations n trips online but she was broke..who is to blame for that. She was dating or was on a break with her bf (now husband) when her nudes leaked. Anyway, stick to the online boutique and focus on your new life as a married chic. Ps: She was like 18/19 when Wonberi was released. Still love girl

16. Why would any sane person be depressed? Stop having ambition and there will be nothing to be depressed. For me, every day na double double. Who ambition help?

1. Hahaha... this your 'no ambition' advice dey somehow oh.
      We should dream and work towards it.