Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Man Whose Bride Said No After He Paid Dowry Asks Court To Help Recover His Money

Friday, December 28, 2018

Man Whose Bride Said No After He Paid Dowry Asks Court To Help Recover His Money

A 32-year-old suitor Ahmad Sani, on Thursday, prayed a Sharia Court in Magajin Gari in Kaduna State, to help him recover the N340,000 he allegedly paid as dowry to his would-be in-law.

Sani told the court that the would be father-in-law, Alhassan Malam, should return his money because his daughter has refused to marry him.

The complainant said he had sought Sumayya Malam’s hand in marriage from her father, who gave his consent and demanded N20,000 as dowry, excluding other traditional expenses.

Sani said he was shocked when Malam cancelled the wedding due to “my alleged inability to provide a decent shelter for his daughter. “After paying the dowry and other traditional expenses which amounted to N340,000, I took his daughter to the house I rented, but I later learnt that she didn’t like the house,” he said.

Sani prayed the court to help him recover all the money he spent for the failed marriage since the defendant had refused him to marry his daughter.

Counsel to the defendant, Mr Alhassan Aliyu, argued that the court lacked jurisdiction to hear a case involving the recovery of money over N100,000 as stipulated by Section 22 of the Sharia law, Kaduna state. The Judge, Malam- Dahiru Lawal, transferred the case to an Upper Sharia court for lack of jurisdiction
NAN

*This looks like arranged Marriage gone wrong...They should his money otherwise the Lady cannot marry again...In Nigeria you must return one Dowry before you collect another...
I think this Dowry thing should be scrapped...

10 comments:

1. So she never knew where her boyfriend/fiance lived? They should give him his money mbok .

2. Dowry or bride price?
    He paid bride price not dowry and since they're not interested again, return his money. Nothing has spoilt as it is now.

3. I concur with Stella. in yoruba marriages, the bride's father returns the money back during the traditional marriage. The father will tell the groom he is not selling his daughter but giving her to him.

1. Very right, the bride's family do return the dowry with the statement that "we're not selling our daughter, just take care of her". So that's why when Yoruba divorces, hardly will you hear of anything like returning dowry

2. Different people, different culture. We can’t all be the same else it
      Will be boring

4. From the story, the bride price is 20k, and that is what they will give to him shikena! money he spent for drinks party et al is his business.

5. This one entered one chance bus in 2018. If I hear say he see the money collect. But after the Aure, se nothing happened at night ni? Abi the amariya refused to enter bedroom or house? Abi it was in the bedroom that she refused after she saw what Hanty Blecyn saw? They should coman complete this gist biko. Na here I dey throughout today.

1. I follow you dey await complete gist abeg

6. @Stella
    Dowry is biblical and cannot be scrapped. It is a token so it is greed that makes men inflate it to rip off the suitor; that is what is wrong.