Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Rejects NASS Approval Of N488.7bn Refund To States

Tuesday, December 18, 2018

President Buhari Rejects NASS Approval Of N488.7bn Refund To States

President Muhammadu Buhari has rejected the sum of N488.7 billion approved by the National Assembly as refund to state governments for projects executed on behalf of the Federal Government.

Buhari communicated the decision through a letter read by the President of the Senate, Sen. Bukola Saraki, at plenary on Tuesday.

The president said he rejected the National Assembly’s approval because it violated the provisions of the Public Procurement Act 2007.

He noted that whereas the Federal Executive Council (FEC) approved a total of N487.8 billion for the purpose, the National Assembly jerked up the figure to N488.7 billion. He said the amount approved by the lawmakers was N890 million higher than that approved by FEC.

From Daily Post

18 comments:

1. Election should come and go,let this man go and rest.
    I'm no more interested in Nigeria politics,my prayer is God to bless my hustle .

1. UNTIL 2023 so go and Rest Baba Wil WIN his Election

2. Stella, why thumbs down?
    Is the Senate approved to increase the figure without consultation with the executive arm?

1. Exactly! The state governors use these funds for personal treats. I work in the bank and interact daily with Snr public officers and govs. The guys wait for free monies to squander. They should begin to generate their revenues if the want to drive big projects. If this funds get to them now, it is campaign money. Well done PMB! I raise Beyoncé hand for you 🙌🏾

3. A good one by the President. What is the additional 890 million naira for?

4. Madam you should understand the workings of government before giving thumpsdown

5. Always rejecting,abegdy should call of d strike, I wan go back school

6. All these poverty impoverished looking states. Always executing pocket projects.

7. Made a comment some days back that she's been bought over by PDP and she didn't post my comment. She doesn't do research or ask questions of how things work. She just posts and give uninformed and unproven information, even when you correct her in the comment section she wouldn't post. Keep it up and later you will want people to believe th you're better than Linda Ikeji.

1. Haba Anon, it hasn't gotten to that, what if ur msg entered spam or something else happened, let's not be too quick to judge.

8. Why the thumbs down? He should have approved it abi? Who then gets the extra 890 million naira? Study and improve yourself . It's not just about owning a blog, you should be versed in so many things and ask questions too.

1. Did it occur to you that the thumbs down might be for what the lawmakers did?

9. Stella, yaou need to be reading news well before you react. This is a good action from the President. NASS has padded the payment sent to the President by over N800M. They also removed some states like Delta, Taraba,Kogi,etc which FG approved for payment without giving any reason. These states,apart from Kogi are PDP states, they will then create enmity which was not created by the President between Buhari and some states.

Buhari is the best we have since 1999.

NASS members are criminals led by Saraki and Dogara

10. @ Gbogbo biz girls, read like 5 news head line and go to comments section. There you find answer to the question you asked. It is typical, any wonder why 2050 isn't even a chance for them.

11. Forward thinking, Nice1 baba, this should be drag till after election. NASS and state governors are big fraud.

12. Lazy and useless governors. Saraki must not return next year, Dino as well.