Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actress Daramola-Salako Explains Whz She Stopped Spanking Her Children

Sunday, January 06, 2019

Actress Daramola-Salako Explains Whz She Stopped Spanking Her Children

Actress, Foluke Daramola-Salako, who has always shown undying love for her children on social media, says she doesn’t believe in using the cane on her children any more.

The actress told Sunday Scoop that over the years, she had realised that using the cane on children doesn’t mean they would be well behaved.

Daramola-Salako stated, “I have learnt that you don’t need to shout at your children for them to be better. As a parent, you have to understand the weaknesses and strengths of your children. If you need to apologise to your children, please do. With that, you will not push them outside and they will remain your friends.

In the past, I used to beat my children but I don’t do that again because it doesn’t solve anything. Whenever I talk to my daughter, she stays calm. But those times I used to whip her, I realised that she became tougher. I felt that she could stop telling me things about her and I didn’t want that for myself.”

Describing motherhood as fun and challenging at the same time, Foluke said, “When they become teenagers, you have to take your time to understand them. If care is not taken, they can grow away from you and you will not know them anymore. Also, I don’t want to do anything that will make my children have inferiority complex.”
From punch

43 comments:

1. Hmmmm.....i .huat wondering how spare the rod and spoil the child comes in here.

1. Mine just turned a yr Jesus she doest listen , I scream eheen jeezeeee. Its so horrible, this yr I said no more shouting, 4where. Once she carries her bottle ,fiam she disappears next u see is water everywhere!!! It drives me NUTS!!! I can't stand d sight of water,my house smells now,cos rugs couch even dstv machine, dis girl at any slightest chance empties her bottle, tea, water,juice name it,feed her by urself she will refuse,den the Tantrum will start. I don taya abeg .I used to hate children doing kpaka kpaka kpaka( being all over d place scattering things) mine is times 10 of that. Painful painful . I just want to stop d shouting cos na headache dey get me last last.

2. Anonymous 12:54, I don laff tire ooooo. That's the joy that comes with motherhood my dear at least she hasn't robbed Sudocream all over the TV or worse.
      It can be upsetting but we bless God.

3. Anon 12.54 u need lots of patience I think she is hyper active just reduce her sugar intake to the barest minimum and keep her busy with activities she loves .She will soon outgrow it. Energetic kids are like that

2. Of course when they are older there is no need to spank them again because you have already instilled the good character in them. From 10 years old and above, you just need to talk to them, scold them or take away something they enjoy,as punishment. Spare the rod and spoil the child.

3. I agree we don’ need to spank kids, lots of love and correct them by putting them on naughty steps, taking their favourite items as punishment will do and always explain why you are doing this to them.

4. Some people hide behind "spare the road and spoil the child" to become terrorists and inflict grievous harm on their children.
    There are lots of punishments that can install discipline in children. Not everytime flogging or spanking. May God give parents the wisdom to handle their children.

1. 'Instill'
      Ha! Na wa! What's with the many typos today?

2. Be more consigned about that ur husband, he looks like someone who will ABUSE ur teenage daughters

3. U r right. Punishment musn't be by flogging alone

5. Some kids need brain resetting strokes of cane, "spank" is mild word, just pray you have gentle kids that listen, ofcourse we all pray for that, i'd always have a cane nearby, gentle or stubborn kids, they need to know whats coming if theyre out of line after several warnings.... just as some banks send their staff to tour the prisons, it doesnt mean theyre criminals.

1. #Truth
      Just pray you have gentle kids that listen, if not na neighbours & teachers go help you flog that pikin.

2. Hahahahahahaha. She wont mind if people flog her kids. Brain resetting cane strokes are very necessary.

3. If you are intentional at raising your kids from when they are toddlers, there will never be such a need.
      Spanking might be necessary when they are much younger but as they grow and understand words, gestures, expressions, they should become less necessary.
      As parents, we just need to be more intentional. Know our children. Take time to talk to them. Learn about them as they grow

6. "Showing love on Social Media" does not translate to "loving people"
    It is all a sham, a ruse, a hypocritical elevation of falsehood to the
    a royal pedestal due to exuberance and unhealthy competition.

7. Yaba left escapee6 January 2019 at 11:57

Everybody, just do your own if it works for you, kids all behave differently, as for me, the flogging i will flog those children eh, i never even born them yet but i don buy cane de wait already, them sef know whats waiting for them outside that womb, but ofcourse only when they misbehave. When i watch foreign movies and i see children talking to their parents anyhow with disrespect.... even walking out on the father when hes still talking, i just wish i could bring that child from the TV screen & treat his/her fuck up, that their culture tire me no be small... all bcus they can call child services & the parent/guardian will be questioned for maltreating that child, abeg i like the Nigerian behaved child, bad as e bad, small respect still de.

1. My Goodness!!!!!
      I understood this comment at just one read.
      Please can you keep it up like this

2. Yaba left,go and read about early child education,I live in the best country in Europe where their education system is the best,yes..they don't flog kids.beating is abusing a child and it is same just like you rape a child. That child will be traumatised, the respect you think you get is fear ...the child will not have time to process things but just know the..I can do!!a child of 4yrs in Nigeria will know all the current affairs and can write it,they cramp it not learning.I can't talk much abeg..

8. Sometimes this children need beating. You don't ave to beat them all the time, kids are kids, once they know you can beat them, that fear will be there and you will still be their best friend. For me, I use both ways, talk to them calmly and still beat when there s need.

9. Akuko....come and collect the 3 cane wey dey my house....😏😏😏

1. Keep the canes dear her kids are grown. She didn't adopt this step when she was taller than them or little

2. Keep the canes dear her kids are grown. She didn't adopt this step when she was taller than them or little

10. The problem with spanking is that it can very easily turn to abuse

1. Them no flog you? Did it turn to abuse?

2. Yes it did and i swore never to spank my children, i can talk to them when they misbehave, and there are other forms of punishment that are more effective than spanking

3. The most effective punishment for me as a child was the removal of privileges, suddenly you cannot go to the party everyone is going to. You cannot watch TV, you cannot go out and play. That really hurt more than anything because it lasts way longer than the pain of spanking. Honestly to me, when ppl say they have unruly children I believe the children take those things from the parents own energy that they give off. Whatever state of mind and conduct the parents have will determine the way their children are. Unruly children are the product of parents who are internally unruly themselves.

My mom was very hurt when I stopped breast feeding on my own at four months old. I realized as an adult that I stopped taking milk directly from her because the relationship between she and my father was so volatile that sucking on her breast placed me in the path of all that negative and violent energy. Perhaps had I not I would be a disgusting and violent human being today. Parents are the ones who create their little Devils or Angels based on the home life they create and their own mental, spiritual, and emotional state of being.

11. One hot slap on d bumbum n they will stop practicing playing "5 little monkeys jumping on d bed", cos reality bump on d head is different from TV bump.

12. The "pain" you avoid "inflicting" on children by not flogging them (within reason), they will experience in future. If they don't cry and learn while they are still growing, developing and gaining wisdom, they will cry in the future when they are all grown and have made so many mistakes the rod of discipline would have helped them avoid... Caning-within reason is like sowing good seeds; they will reap the harvest later. Bill Gates is not stupid for leaving only 1% of his fortune to his kids...

13. Cane is very very important in a house but should not be used for correction always. I shook my head when a parent was telling me that she doesn't have cane in her house. this woman children lack serious manners and she's proud saying such.

14. I quite agree that there are ways of punishing a child without flogging but you can't rule out flogging totally. The only thing is u ensure the flogging is done with carefulness to avoid inflicting injury.

15. Pro,13v24.he that spareth d rod hated his son...22v15foolishness is bound in d hrt of a child BT d rod of correction will drive it far from him

16. Pls flog them when its necessary abeg, dem flog us and we no die,it makes you sit tight , Yoruba people used to say there is madness in a child's chest or something like that ... Just finished flogging my soon to be 5yo son, pushed his sister so hard against the fire place,with its sharp edges, she was crying badly and I pulled him closer,gave him ifase in Yoruba, with plenty abara on his bumbum, dragged him to where my mules are and started whipping his bum bum with it, he was seriously crying , did that to my satisfaction and let him be, what nonsense? You want to injure someone? If anything happens now, these social services people would come and story would start, God forbid bad thing . So these children need to be smacked when necessary or else they ll just turn you to a mad person with plenty shouts and you'll start having hbp that you never had .

1. Elderly adults can be quite rude and don't listen either. Should adult children flog their elderly parents when they are misbehaving and not listening and taking direction? If it is OK for you to flog your child then it should also be OK for your child to flog you when you are 70 or so and being a handful.

2. So what have you achieved now? You beat your son out of anger till you were satisfied. No explanation of why what he did was wrong or dangerous

17. Just listen to all these animals in human skin comfortable in beating another being. Putting your frustrations on another innocent human beings. Poverty mentality dey worry all of una. Only a poor person beats a child. A person who has no skills on handling issues eloquently and result to physical assault on a poor child. Do you realize that if you called the child and explain to him why pushing his sister could potentially harm her and also explain his duties to his sister in a calm manner would make the child aware of his responsibilities? Nooo you want to not spare the rod and treats the child like a criminal and then wonder why we have loads of abnormal crimes in the country. Studies have explained that beating a child harms the child's mental health. What kind of human being beats someone they profess to love out of some deranged love?

Why do you beat a child? To instill discipline? Like the slave massas used whip to put our forefathers in line? Or you beat a child because they did something they shouldn't do and you lose your patience and out of love to correct the child, you treats them like animals? Truth is you didn't beat the child to correct them. You beat the child out of your own frustration and the poor child is an easy target for you to vent your anger on.

Do you realize that when a child grows up in a setting where there are no physical abuse of any kind the child grows up to handle conflict without the need to raise their voice or use physical violence to handle issues? And then you wonder why black people are violent on a larger scale and why the black countries are behind. It is because we have all been beaten up to shut us up thereby reducing our mentality to almost zero compared to the white man.

If you talk to a white kid of 10 and a black kid of similar age, you will be shocked at how much differently the white kid is able to hold proper conversation with you compared to the black child who can't even look at you in the face because they have been brought up forcefully to always respect their elders.

This disgusting mentality has to stop. The government have to ban physically punishment in schools and bring in therapist to assist students. Studies has shown it works better and for those who will be talking nonsense, you are only talking from ignorance and from a place of stupidity no matter how much bible you quote. Yes I said it you are stupid if you think beating a child is the right thing.

1. You are one heck of a bogus fool,a high speed train,derailed and heading with reckless abandon for the mother of all wrecks.You are beneath pitiful,not even pathetic. Blissfully dumb though.

18. When a child is older, he/starts to understand advic,Not before pls. 1-5yrs need spanking