Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: President Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen And Appoints Acting CJN

Friday, January 25, 2019

President Buhari Suspends CJN Walter Onnoghen And Appoints Acting CJN

President Muhammadu Buhari has suspended Embattled Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Justice Walter Nkanu Samuel Onnoghen and appointed an acting CJN....

50 comments:

1. Finally, the election is rigged and delivered.
    Twp appointments today to abokis while sacking the southerners.

Next action is to deploy soldiers go dance python dance for Niger delta.

1. This shows the magnitude prevailing ignorance in Nigeria that people who ought to know the constitution are busy flouting it. Nigeria is far from being a sane clime.

2. The CJN plotted his own ruin, no one in his position should pretend to forget to do the right thing.

3. I guess you all did not know the constitution when Jonathan removed Justice Salami and the CBN governor? Be ranting all you like. Please ask the ex-CJN to explain to us where he got all that money from. What service did he render and to whom? Also, how come he has not touched his salary in years? He doesnt eat, doesnt have a family? Please lets stop being tribalistic and sentimental. PDP did worse in their time and is this the same set of people supporting a man in the minority in the Senate to be Senate President, damning precedent and best practices worldwide? Impunity is only allowed if it coming from PDP abi? And what is impunity about a corrupt custodian of law being removed? Pathetic nation

4. Yemi7up, no one has exonerated the CJN from guilt. The tribunal hasn't given a verdict yet. All what people are saying is for due process to be followed. Is that too much to ask for? The 'President' acted too hastily on a matter before the court. I believe it is as a result of the swearing in of tribunal judges slated to hold tomorrow that made the 'President' to act this way. So desperate for power at all cost. Don't forget that the judiciary is an arm of government on it own.

5. 22:01 and all those shouting GEJ removed Salami now look at this;

“President Goodluck Jonathan is in receipt of a correspondence dated 18th August, 2011, from the National Judicial Council (NJC), recommending the compulsory retirement of Hon. Justice Isa Ayo Salami, OFR, for misconduct in accordance with the provisions of Section 292 (1) (a) (i) of the 1999 Constitution of the Federal Republic of Nigeria, as amended, and Rule 1 (1) of the Code of Conduct for Judicial Officers of the Federal Republic of Nigeria”.

Do you now understand that GEJ never acted on his own but rather on the recommendations of the NJC. From the actions of this government, you will understand it is self serving. Why was the NJC neglected in a matter involving one of their own? What about the legislators being ignored as well. Isn't this a dent to the democracy will claim to be practicing?

6. Oga go and read the over 15 reasons Buhari gave for the man's removal...invluding a recommendation from the CCT. You expect him to wait for NJC thats headed by dame man abi? You all are fast to shout due process and rule of law
      My observation is that these are technicalities taken advantage of in this country by lawyers to delay justice

7. Teejay don't mind all this APC **Abgberos*** who are as uninformed & clueless like their master buhati. Pls educated the morons !!!!! ***Yemi7up*** can only be the name of a Lagos agbero!!!

2. Power as they truly say, must be a crazy aphrodisiac. There is no act of rascality this government haven't thrown to Nigerians that elected them in power.

The constitution rightly stated and its explicit on how the CJN can be removed from the office according to the 1999 constitution section 292 (1)(a). Why the hurry to get a new CJN before election? The case is yet to start and this act has been perfected. I thought the VP said Mr President didn't know about this whole issue of arraignment of the CJN? So who is now suspending and replacing?

This is a clear sign of a dictator and a tyrant. This is the last phase of the rigging mechanism they were planning all along. Nigeria is finished. You can now understand the cries of Obasanjo, that we are heading towards another era of Abacha. This is so bad for a party that rode to power democratically to abuse the system that brought them to power.

This is an abuse of the principle governing separation of powers. Nigerians should rise against this coming war looming, it will be so devastating if we all keep quiet now.

1. Pls shut your ignorant brain up.You are a pathetic and depressed social media warrior without any kind of knowledge about all of the things your numerous unintelligent epistles try to explain.You have such low insight about things that I begin to wonder what you do with your life.Stop displaying your outright stupidity here,I am tired of it.

2. Chai, you just won yourself a fan. Nice one

3. Shut up! Emotional commentator..GEJ approved the suspension of justice Salami, even this CBN guy, Sanusi...thank God for the constitution, the CCT can recommend the suspension of CJN..

4. b) in any case, other than those to which paragraph (a) of this subsection applies, by the President or, as the case may be, the Governor acting on the recommendation of the National Judicial Council that the judicial officer be so removed for his inability to discharge the functions of his office or appointment (whether arising from infirmity of mind or of body) or (for misconduct or contravention of the Code of Conduct.")....forgetting to declare 55 houses and many bank accounts with thousands of foreign currency is gross misconduct....corrupt justice!!

5. Get education...u can't even get a PRO job with this ur small brain...read my friend!!!

6. Annoy 21:16, you are bless.

7. Anonymous 21:00 you are welcome. I keep saying it the way it is, not minding whose ox is gored.

8. 21:19 were the NJC and Senate communicated about this act of the CJN before calling for his head? Doesn't the law state that two third of the Senate can pass for the removal after being discipline by the NJC? Is this a military rule that the executive will exhibit such rascality?

9. Anon 21:16, Did you omit the part that says on the recommendations of the National judicial council? Is such a recommendation in place? How come the resident's cronies get a benefit of doubt irrespective of the strength of the evidence but others can be expelled without due process?

10. This 7up agbero and like will NEVER understand. Pls go face the dead-on-arrival campaign by your mental case sanwoolu!! This post is for intellectuals like Teejay and co. Teejay pls educate this APC morons!!!!! What buhari has just done is like *****suspending Saraki, and appointing a new Senate President **** this is a coup . you all know that buhari is used to coups !!!!

11. God bless you anonymous 23:22. Another sane individual spotted. You see, he purposely omitted that part to show how decietful these people are in twisting and bending the rules. In the case of Ganduje one of their own, it becomes the president not knowing the technology used in the captured video. You see how the Nigeria politicians reason with their anus.

3. Thought Osinbajo said Buhari isn't aware of the case?

1. God bless you dear... You see how lieing and deceitful that man is. It is such a disgrace to his professorship as a lawyer that things like this is happening in his presence and he keep mute and couldn't explain explicitly the interpretation of the laws to his party faithfuls and Oga. If truly he has a conscience, he would resign from this shambolic government. I doubt the true pastor he is, having watched and listened to his remarks lately. It's a slap to the Christian faith and to whatever he hold dear as a pastor.

2. The disgrace is on as many that know the truth and won't stand by it because their tribe is involved. The man should have done the honourable thing by resigning. He has admitted his guilt so why staying in such honourable position

3. Yemi7up what does the constitution says about trial of a judicial officer? Please tell me I want to know.

4. Long over due. Good you kicked the yeye PDP CJN out of that office

1. The good thing is that people like you will end up being the casualties of this government. You think religion will save you? Your state has recorded one of the worst levels of suffering so far yet you sit on your bigoted high horse to spit thrash.

2. Eesah, You are a fool. Big fool. It is because of people like you we cannot move forward in this country. Country comes first. Party affiliation should be second to Country. Do you think APC, will be in power for ever?
      The CJN, is not the only corrupt official in Nigeria. Almost everyone in APC today is corrupt. All the past Governors that have ruled this country in any political party is corrupt. So are the Ministers, Perm Secs. etc.
      As your President has appointed over 80 percent of Northerners in this country to his administration and replaces one Southerner with another Northerner, you are happy. Nigeria belongs to us all. Fool!!!

3. Eesah, you are a bigot.

4. Anonymous 21:20 if only the person you are talking to will be reasonable enough to be sincere and truthful to himself at such age he is, to see the atrocities being committed by the very people he is supporting.

5. They thought they can intimidate the government.,even in the face of the truth they are still holding on to corruption.

6. Who is this one again?

7. Yemi7up I want to ask again, do you know the EFCC boss wasn't approved by the Senate during screening due to corruption charges associated with him. Even the former DSS boss who was with the government also indicted him. He was imposed by the 'President' and today he is there fighting one sided corruption fight. Isn't that corruption from the people you claim are fighting corruption. Do you know the judge handling Orji Uzor Kalu has hands off citing order from above. Tel me who are the corrupt people here?

8. The action buhari on Onoghenbis a **journey in futility*** this is democracy, we will challenge it by protest and in court, all case brought and judged under the new Thief Judge will be null& void!!! Dumb illiterates arguing blindly !!!!

5. Been hearing born to rule from the northerns now I have witnesse it played out.

6. The democracy of our great nation is being threatened and people are still supporting Buhari?
    My heart bleeds!
    Can due process be followed?
    The way they quickly brought this man down shows they're not leaving no stones unturned to rig the coming elections.
    Nigerians, please pray . Only God can remove this tyrant of a Buhari.

1. And you think OBJ didn't see the hand writing before crying out to the world about the sinister plans of rigging this election. The CJN is not an office that a president can just pronounce a suspension on, for Christ sake the judiciary is an arm of government delegated with their own right and there shouldn't be an interference from either the executive or legislature. This is absolutely rubbish of what the government have done. An abuse of the nation democratic process, an infringement of the principle guiding the seperation of powers as enshrined in the constitution.

2. Ode ni bobo yi,because it is a different arm of government, the judiciary who should be the custodian of the law should be breaking it? Or you want them to be using the court process of postponing judgement to save this corrupt man who is so shameless he cannot resign honourably. Or are you suffering from amnesia to forget the abuse of power and corruption carry out by Obasanjo when He was president.You are a very sentimental fellow and you lack good sense of judgement,quoting constitution up and down does not mean you know how to interpret them.

7. Buhari remember that God is watching you.

8. So much rot in every facet of d nation. You think the president would have acted the way he did if he didn't have intelligence report of gross atrocities. Maybe even phone recordings of illicit deals. Let d man shout pim. .they will expose all. But I know these people will support their son. Hiding under rule of law. But supporting impunity if it's from their person. 55 houses? Lions of USD? And shamelessly some people are saying naija will burn. Not where we are. Maybe for your side.i pray God gives Buhari life to clean at least some of d rot. He has d balls. It's so sad people are so used to abnormality they defend it. Smh

1. Rubbish, cock and bull tales. Buhari the bigot and his people are no different .

2. YOu don't use Illegality to fight Illegality !!!!!! Buhari goofed , we should say it as it is. What amazed me is the fact that we have a law professor for VP, yet this this blatant **rape of justice***

3. To clean some of the rot as you said on just the opposition alone. So what happened to the corrupt people in APC? Oh I forgot Adams Oshomhole have already canonized them saints. Nigeria can never be redeemed with people with this mindset you just shown.

9. This is pure rape on our democracy. For those saying the president acted on the order of CCT, now listen and understand this, for I have seen the level of ignorant you are  on judicial matters. The tribunal has not ruled on the matter, but granted a controversial ex-parte order for the president to suspend Mr Onnoghen from office indefinitely.

The Court of Appeal, which has powers to review the actions of the tribunal, ruled this week that the tribunal(CCT) should cease further hearing on the assets declaration charges, which were brought against Mr Onnoghen by a former aide of Mr Buhari and a senior member of the ruling All Progressives Congress in Enugu State.

So why will an appeal that supercede a tribunal order be truncated? Do you see the man you called president doesn't obey orders unless the one that suit him. Isn't the court of appeal ruling a clear case of stay of execution? Why seek and resort to self help on matter already before a court? So many abnormality in the system.

1. Be deceiving yourself. Does it make sense if you day you are not guilty to be going for court orders to stop yourself from being probed? I dnt know if you understand the import of what you are saying. The judiciary is stinking. They will support their own to save their own neck. A beg

10. @Yemi 7up or whatever is your name will you shut up and stop ranting like an idiot? You can pick up a copy of the constitution to educate yourself. Esah is a tribalistic and religious bigot and I'm not surprised intelligence is scarce where he comes from

11. no one is saying the CJN is not guilty but all we r saying is that a due process must be followed. half of PDP members are in APC so are we saying those ones are not corrupt.. how did they all get the money they have. we know all this things but APC is too desperate because of the election.. follow due process is all we ask..

12. if we support what Buhari has done then our democracy is at stake.. due process must be followed.