Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Actor Mercy Johnson-Okojie Explains Why She Stopped Acting Love Roles..

Saturday, February 09, 2019

Actor Mercy Johnson-Okojie Explains Why She Stopped Acting Love Roles..

Nollywood Actor, Mercy Johnson-Okojie in this exclusive interview she granted at a film location recently,talks about the ups and downs of marriage and the sacrifices she had to make to sustain a happy home......

What excites you about the role you are playing in this new movie?

First and foremost, everybody knows that I love movies that treat vices, and also entertain and educate at the same time. When I’m picking a script, those elements must be there. It must be part of the spices. Reunion preaches the real value of true friendship and rails against rape. People watch movies and have different interpretations. The movie is about friends coming together to help one another. It also tackles deceit. You must not trust anyone; people have their dark sides irrespective of how they look outside. It’s a national anthem that people have three faces, the one they show the world, the one for the family and loved ones, and the one they keep to themselves.

If you have issues, you have to come out and say it as it is, so guilt won’t kill you inside. That’s the summary of what the movie is all about. It preaches against one wearing the attire of a Rev. Father and doing something else underneath.

What role are you playing in the movie?

I’m playing Amaka. Amaka is a bubbling girl, who used to be a good girl but turned bad. She’s like a two-face character who tries to heal wrongly.

How do you put yourself up to play different characters in different movies?

Every character I play in any movie is challenging. But I try as much as possible to be new character. At any point in time, I try to get better. I also play a lot and draw inspirations from people around me.
For example, if I am asked to play a journalist, I’ll adjust myself to the way you are seated, grab the mic and begin to ask all these similar questions you have been asking me. I learn from everyone around me, including environment, nature and happenings.

In terms of movie making, what’s next for you?

I have my TV show, the cooking show, coming up pretty soon. It’s a different kind of talk show. While cooking, we’ll talk about marriage and it’s challenges. The spices of marriage and all that surrounds it.
It’s not just for celebrities, but also for people from different walks of life. Even divorced and single parents can come around to share their experiences, so others can learn.
The talk show has a slogan of ‘You won’t be honest about it, then don’t talk about it’. The married ones can come and tell us how they spice up their homes.

How do you spice up your own marriage, as we see more of you and your husband on Instagram?

I don’t want to talk about my husband. Everybody knows that my husband is very cute. So, don’t let him take the shine off the interview (laughs).

How do you cope as a mother and actress?

I have kids, they always see me like the role model they have. So, everyday I try to do better to cover up the mistakes I made in the past. I try to make better diaries for them to avoid embarrassment, the Internet never forgets. I wouldn’t want them to grow up to see any embarrassing thing about me on the Internet. One day, I asked my daughter what she wants to become when she grows up, she looked me in the eyes and said: ‘Mummy, I want to be exactly like you’.

Are you happy with what you have achieved so far as an actress?

Yes, extremely happy. But I can still do better. We are never satisfied. I have goals to accomplish. Some are fulfilled, some I’m working very hard to accomplish. As long as you are alive, you always try to do better.

What kind of role you won’t play at this stage?

I think it’s nudity, any form of nudity.

What if your husband allows you?

He will never give me that consent. My husband is an Ishan man. Yes, he wouldn’t like that kind of thing. But I have to be very careful with everything I do now, because I have kids. I have to live right for them; and do everything within my comfort zone to maintain a clean slate. I have stopped doing romance roles; I now do more of comedy. I think I have enough of romance movies.

Is it because your husband gets jealous watching you kiss in movies?

From the minute we started dating, I stopped taking body contact or body touching roles. I had to move to the next level.

The Sun

*Hmmmmm a woman has to change in Marriage while the men remain the same..I have not seen any Male actor say they stopped certain roles for reasons like this....It is well Nigeria!

41 comments:

1. Hmmmm.....the moment you started dating him. Really!

1. Stella an american actor did. His name is Neal McDonough. He don't act kissing or any romance role because of his wife and catholic religion .

2. Jim Caviezel (Jesus in The Passion of the Christ) also.

2. In Nigeria, its the women who keep homes.
    Reason they get blamed if d home crashes.
    We will get there. Slowly but surely.

3. Cooking show and topics on how to spice up the marriage? Better invite men to that show.
    Cooking and all forms of ‘spices’in marriage are not exclusive to women only.

Btw, What are Ishan men like? I don’t understand that part.

1. She says that Ishan man thing a lot.like other tribes dont mind nudity.I am yet to understand

2. Lol, apart from male ego, there are usually some traditional implications attached to marriage with men from certain places. And if the man has some kinds of positions.

For example, when the Ooni of Ife was married to Wuruola, she had to start covering her hair - which she wasn't doing before. I'm not using the current Olori as an example cos it's like she's been covering hair before. But look at her predecessor.

I doubt I'm mistaken cos she has said this before - the Prince in Mercy's husband's name is actually a title, not a birth name. She knew this before she married him. Look very well at women in the public eye married to particular men. You can't get married to certain men unless you're already a certain kinda way, or willing to adjust/negotiate a bit. If you disagree, you'll just find yourself out of the marriage cos nobody wants to suffer some kinds of repercussions - including that the man may die untimely.

3. Iphie dearie, if one is married to an Esan(not Ishan)man, you cannot indulge yourself with another man either playfully or intentionally. It backfires on the man. A woman married to an Esan man committing adultery is either digging a grave for the husband or things will start going down for the man.

4. Mercy is a seasoned actresss that knows her Onion, any day...anytime

If it helps her to sleep well at night💁‍♀️💁‍♀️💁‍♀️

I just remembered her sultry role in the movie 🎥 THE MAID.

When her body was FIREEEEEE 🔥

5. Welldone Mercy. I love the fact that she is controversy free. She put her family first above any other thing. But then, why does the society expects a woman to conform to certain standards because shes married?

6. I always see mercy as the girl who changed to keep her home. Extremely humble and hot woman. Mehn Mercy johnson has changed o, mercy of then, those are roles was what made you MJ. There will not be another MJ. While i agree you have to grow to another level in terms of role, mercy please you dont have to stop romantic movies abeg. I use to enjoy your roles with nonso diobi and mike ezuruonye then with your hot gowns. I miss you MJ. You have actually grown but trust me playing romantic roles doesnt make you a bad mother or irresponsible woman. There are some classy romantic roles. I love how you respect your husband and family, that man knows he got a jewel with a good heart. I always saw you as the girl next door who just wanted to survive and became famous and even with the fame you never changed. I really love Mercy o but dont be too uptight, free yourself for some roles.

7. Anyway, she's even too old now for those kind of roles when we have so many good actresses to fill those roles 😎😎😎

8. As long as someday you never regret the decisions you made down the line.... then I believe we are good...

9. women need to do everything to keep a man. are men babies babies or what. even the jobless one's want to be kept

1. Even babies sef are very independent, they don’t bother you until they are hungry or have wet diapers....... babies love to run around and scatter everywhere, to keep them down na problem.

10. See her testing her totoh yearly to give birth. let trouble come now the kids will be taken away from her and access to the kids barred sef. women we have suffered in marriage

1. I don't think you have much sense

2. So bitter eka can see a senseless comment when all her comments are always senseless and bitter. life hardooo.

11. Nice interview Mercy Johnson Okojie.... A happy woman makes a happy home. A happy mother is most likely to raise happy kids.

There are male actors that rejected playing sex scene roles too. Especially in Hollywood, I was surprise reading about it too, just that it doesn't make much fuss like that of female actors.

12. Let that career ends today and let see if this same husband she is trying to keep will not move on. That man is always standing aloft when with mercy.

13. I hope your husband made some sacrifices too and loves you as much as you display on social media.All the best.

14. World pipo, were you not the ones that called for Omotola's head for her role in Alter ego? Mercy ride on joor, nothing do you.

1. There is no pleasing human beings!!

2. As in I just tire, see that one up there saying rubbish, you people when you get married continue to do what you always do as a spinster, walk naked on the street, cook for your kids at anytime of the day especially when you are hungry not when they are hungry.. Mtcheee

15. Stella am with u on this, men get too jealous and try to make us into what they want but they won't change into what we want.Acting just a role not real life and he knew she was an actress bfor he got involved with her,y get jealous but man can flirt and even cheat and they get away with it ,it's well o

16. You don't want to talk about your husband. But you want others to come on your show and tell you about theirs. Rubbish!

17. I don't know about the other things she talked about in the interview cos whatever. But any woman whose daughter can look her in the face and say, "Mummy, I want to be like you" has legit made it in life.

18. She is over doing her comedy roles. @Blessed Princess

19. Pray your kids don't stumble on any of your mistakes in pictures or on link search.

You were doing well until you started appearing at Lagos events (red carpet events) in full slit floor length gowns without underpants. Sit wild with your pubic hair showing.
    ThisDay Style newspaper's Centre spread kukuma displayed you wella.

Kai Mercy you lived carefree,it wasn't about acting. I wish honestly they don't get to see them.

Congrats on your new tv show. Will watch.

Good interview though.

1. Madam good afternoon ma, hope you do not have a past? St XP.

20. Hmmm. women always sacrificing but nothing comes out of the men. The only reason Mercy is celebrated today is because of her marriage. Mercy represents over 90 percent of an average Nigerian woman who would do anything to keep her man. Meanwhile, Years ago when mercy just married and had her first baby, my neighbor who use to work for her husband told us about how Mercy rebuked him for calling her by her name mercy. She insisted that she's now married and have a baby and she should be called Mama Purity. We laughed it over but I guess it just shows how she sees marriage as her greatest achievement

1. But you weren't there when the supposed altercation happened between Mercy and your neighbour. How can you be so sure it's true? Shebi you know there are people who get locked up abroad because they actually believe they're in a relationship or marriage with a celebrity? People make up all kinds of stories in their minds for all kinds of reasons. May that neighbour not go and tell a lie against you somewhere that will affect you without your knowledge, and people will believe "cos they are neighbours".

21. I wish her well in her soon to be aired talk show

22. Beautiful actress 😍😍😍

23. That neighnor didnt lie mercy said it.shes a pretender.i laugh wjen people say shes humble.mercy doesn't do chores in her father inlaw house.she carrys herself so high and her inlaws bow to her.she doesnt cook for her inlaws when they visit.she only cooks once a day.husband snatcher her sins are gradually catching up with her.shes having issues in her marriage but cant shout cos shes ashamed.after snatching someone husband you cant cry out when your marriage is having issues.