Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: INEC Returning Officer Says He Was Forced To Announce Okorocha As Winner Of Senate Seat

Tuesday, February 26, 2019

INEC Returning Officer Says He Was Forced To Announce Okorocha As Winner Of Senate Seat

Sunday night’s melodrama snowballed into a full-blown controversy Monday morning when the returning officer for Imo West Senatorial District, Innocent Ibeabuchi, said he was “detained at the centre for days.”

He said this while announcing the results of the senatorial election for the zone.

Before reeling out figures at the district collation centre in the Independent Electoral Commission (INEC) Office in Orlu, Mr Ibeabuchi, a professor, said he was being held “under duress” to announce the results.

“My name is Ibeabuchi Izuchukwu Innocent, a professor at the Federal University of Technology Owerri (FUTO), the returning officer for Imo West (Orlu) senatorial zone”, the official said.

“My area commander; my P.Os; the party agents here present; members of the press; ladies and gentlemen.

“I have been held hostage here for days so I’m trying to ease off and take my life home back to my children and for the sake of that I am calling these results under duress,” the returning officer said.

He then reeled out the results.

The Drama

After announcing nine out of 12 local government areas that made up the zone, Mr Ibeabuchi paused. The time was 9:45 p.m Sunday.

Three LGA results were being awaited to finalise results for Imo west district. They are Oru West, Ugwuta and Orlu.

The outgoing governor of the state, Rocha Okorocha who ran under the All Progressives Congress (APC) won in eight of the nine local governments announced earlier.

Mr Ibeabuchi said he received an urgent call from the state’s Resident Electoral Commission (REC), Francis Ezeonu, to return to Owerri and continue the process Monday morning.

But Mr Okorocha’s supporters insisted the returning officer “must complete” the announcement, “otherwise, he is not going anywhere.”

They blocked the professor from leaving the building. They refused to yield even when police officers intervened.

For hours, the APC agents who initially hauled verbal threats at the returning officer resorted to pleading. But Mr Ibeabuchi stuck to his guns.

He remained unmoved even after Mr Okorocha and his closest rival, Jones Onyeriri of the Peoples Democratic Party visited the centre at different intervals Monday morning.

Mr Ibeabuchi would later yield and declared Mr Okorocha winner of the election. He said the governor polled 97,762 votes while Mr Onyeriri returned second with 63,117 votes.
Mr Okorocha’s old rival and a former senator, Osita Izunaso, came third with 30,932 votes.
From Premium times

43 comments:

1. Adonbilivit! These people will do anything to discredit whatever good is coming once they hear A...P...
    They don't even want to know if it's APM, APT or something.

1. This is the season of praying for me o,the next four years must be great for me and my household, we will continue to fine favour in the eye of God and man.. amen

2. One million likes for this comment...

2. Can you imagine? This people have turn themselves to Good

3. Lips sealed. @Blessed Princess

4. Imagine!this country is messed up

5. And the truth is coming out. After the disaster this man has visited on Imo State, how can Imolites agree to let him represent them again?

1. they dint vote for him afterall

2. I was really surprised ohh, that after all this man did IMO people still voted for him

6. Evidential and factual proof of a staggered elections. How on earth could Rochas have won in Imo state after all the atrocities he committed there? Imo people aren't that stupid, exactly the same thing Godswill Akpabio almost did in Akwaibom state but the youths stood their ground and resisted him. I saw some of those youths brutalized and wounded but at the end, they won a just course. APC really came prepared to rig the election.

1. Sharrap there. Always arguing blindly. You know nothing about politics boy.

All those videos are people thumbprinting the umbrella logo with so much speed is not rigging right? It is very norlan right?

2. I agree with you this time. When I heard the news, I knew there was no waaayyyyyy Imo people voted for him.

3. Anno 8:52, shut up your stupid and stingy mouth. Stop attacking TeeJay unnecessary. Imo people did not and would never have voted Rochas never. so stop spooling trash just because you want to attack someone. Yes I am not Teejay, come for me and I will give you. Nitwit

4. Tee jay,did they rig Kwara election too?

7. My pity is for people who lost their lives. This election not worth it at all.

Okoroawusa congrats oo

1. My mothers childhood friend lost her son through stray bullet here in Lagos. The news didn't spread. Hoodlums in his area were fighting and shooting. He had gone to buy smthn from a neighboring mallam kiosk.
      He was 35 with 2 young kids. He was quietly buried by his siblings/friends the next day. They couldn't face telling the mother till after he was buried.

2. Ewooo Chi m
      May his soul rest in peace

8. So many thoughts on my mind concerning Nigerians since Saturday of this election. Seeing people dying and all sorts.....

Una good morning.....

chim-oma aka Miss Kapusu

1. The deal breaker for me was when I saw the youth corper who was killed on the floor, covered in his own blood!😢😢😢

9. I heard Rochas slapped this man on the face and forced him to declare him the winner. There should be a rerun of this election.

There's no way anyone in his right mind will vote this man!

10. Lets see if they will investigate or cover up

11. Replies
    1. 😁😁😁😁😁😁😁

2. 😂😂🤣🤔 how long will the adoption process take?

12. Hmmmmmmnnnnnn. When matter pass cry na to dey laugh. Shey na like this he go dey dey?

13. Alternative Facts26 February 2019 at 08:01

Nigerian politics is extremely dirty! However, this could be fake news. Fake news resides in Nigeria

14. Did I just hear somebody say fake news, this news is so true who in his right mind will vote for these demon.

15. God no dey sleep, na that one i know.

16. Fake news alert!

17. I knew there was no way people could vote this man, as in how? After all he did? No way.

This story must be the real truth.

This man must think he is a god.
    Onwu na egbu nwa nkota anaghi ekwe ya nu isi nsi.

1. Onwu di njo na eche Rochas...

18. This is one complaint out of so many in APC states

19. Teejay, pls stop talking nonsense. Which atrocity did Rochas commit? Are you from imo state? When last did you visit there? When did knocking down a market to expand road become a crime. Prior to now, you will spend hours trying to cross that road. If a taxi stops to drop someone, all movement stops. Rochas really tried in imo state. I saw for myself, what will you say about Abia where the governors did nothing? It's clear imo people are really ungrateful. They can give us Rochas and take deadbeat Ikpeazu. Nonsense. See how fine owerri now looks, it's clear you cant just please people

20. I am from Imo state and will tell you categorically that NO well meaning IMO indigene voted Rochas,infact so many elderly persons came out to vote specifically,to ensure this demon of a sell out doesnt gain a foot. Same way Kwara voted out Saraki,IMO voted out Rochas,but alas here we are with a false result. Onwu na echegi Rochas...

1. You people don't trust each other and are greedy. What makes you think people did not vote for him. Stop comparing kwarans with you guys. Can you people work in one accord like the kwarans? Excuse me!

Until you guys learn how to play politics..... OYO

21. I tuwale for APC