Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Presidential Candidate Atiku Officially Rejects Nigeria’s Presidential Election Results

Wednesday, February 27, 2019

Presidential Candidate Atiku Officially Rejects Nigeria’s Presidential Election Results

The presidential candidate of the Peoples Democratic Party, Alhaji Atiku Abubakar, has rejected the presidential election result by the Independent National Electoral Commission, INEC, where President Muhammadu Buhari was announced as the winner.

Atiku in a statement made available to newsmen on Wednesday said he would not call Buhari to accept defeat because the presidential election was not free and fair.

He rejected the results, describing the presidential elections conducted on February 23, 2019 as a ‘sham’, declaring that he will challenge President Buhari in court.

The full statement reads: “I thank the Nigerian people who trooped out in their millions to perform their civic duty this past Saturday. The patriotism of Nigerians is heartwarming and affirms my oft-repeated statement that we are brothers and sisters born from the womb of one mother Nigeria.

“With regards to the Presidential elections that took place on February 23, 2019, it is clear that there were manifest and premeditated malpractices in many states which negate the results announced.

“One obvious red flag is the statistical impossibility of states ravaged by the war on terror generating much higher voter turnouts than peaceful states. The suppressed votes in my strongholds are so apparent and amateurish, that I am ashamed as a Nigerian that such could be allowed to happen. How can total votes in Akwa-Ibom, for instance, be 50% less than what they were in 2015?

“How can total votes in Akwa-Ibom, for instance, be 50% less than what they were in 2015? Another glaring anomaly is the disruption of voting in strongholds of the Peoples Democratic Party in Lagos, Akwa-Ibom, Rivers and diverse other states, with the authorities doing little or nothing and in some cases facilitating these unfortunate situations.

“The militarization of the electoral process is a disservice to our democracy and a throwback to the jackboot era of military dictatorship. In some areas of the country, such as, Rivers, Akwa Ibom and Imo states, troops deployed for the elections turned their guns on the very citizens they were meant to protect. This is condemnable and should not be associated with our electoral process in the future.

“I am a democrat and there are democratic avenues available to present the truth to the nation and the watching world. Already, many international observers have given their verdicts, which corroborate our observations. I am sure more will come in the coming hours and days.

“If I had lost in a free and fair election, I would have called the victor within seconds of my being aware of his victory to offer not just my congratulations, but my services to help unite Nigeria by being a bridge between the North and the South.

“However, in my democratic struggles for the past three decades, I have never seen our democracy so debased as it was on Saturday, February 23, 2019. 2007 was a challenge, but President Yar’Adua was remorseful. In 2019, it is sad to see those who trampled on democracy thumping their noses down on the Nigerian people.

“Consequently, I hereby reject the result of the February 23, 2019 sham election and will be challenging it in court. I want to assure my supporters and the entire Nigerian people that together, we will not allow democracy to be emasculated.”

From Daily Post

45 comments:

1. I really feel for Nigeria with the way things have been going. When are we going to get it right? I still maintain my stand that whoever thinks that Nigeria problem can be solved through the ballot box is the most unrealistic person live has ever produced.

The system is bad and can never produce a desired result. Atiku like I said in the morning has the fundamental human right to approach the tribunal for his case but truth be told, nothing good may come out of it. APC planned ahead of this with the removal of the CJN to a favorable one. So which court is Atiku seeking redress? It will be an exercise in futility.

1. Well said Teejay, but the rate in which APC rigged this election is too alarming. The videos are in public domain. Atiku is doing the right thing. I wish him well. You can not beat a child and tell him not to cry. @Blessed Princess

2. APC planned it all along,thats why the Chief Justice was removed,and their own person replaced..

3. This is Laughable!!! Like PDP did not rig..rig pass rig now loool. Let him go to court now and spend his last Kobo there RUBBISH. Where is the Integrity for someone that bought his Presidential ticket for Billions of Naira???? PDP rulled for 16years, APC have juat spent 4 you lot are crying. Epeele oooo!!!

4. I'm excited he has rejected the results. Even me sef I rejected it as well.

5. Yes see Nigerians in Court.

There is anger in the streets. So sad

6. In as much as l support that the malpractices on both or one side needs to be investigated l feel like it is a lost battle. Nigerians are raised on sentiments not idealogies, there is not a single bone of Patriotism without personal gain in a typical Nigerian. The level of illiteracy is alarming, people dont think and reason intelligently even when presented with facts. We are raised not to question things but accept them, its just sad. Nigeria is not ready for change not by a slingshot.

7. Teejay my brother after the elections on Saturday, I just wept for Nigeria !!!!!!!!!!! In the North, 2 or 3 people will just seat down in a polling unit and **Thumb Print ** for 500 to 3000 people, all for APC , but they will always allocate a few for PDP so that it will not look like ....... Any day there is a post on this blog of people being killed in the North , and anyone trys to sympathize with them , I will personally come for that person!!!!!!!!!!! The worst kind of person is the type that has a problem, and refuses to admit !!!!!!!!!! The North is suffering but smiling !!!! The level of rigging is definitely from another planet !!!!

8. ATIKU/OBI your head dey there !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! We are with you 100% , anything my President , just say , we are at your service !!!!!!!!!! This daura cow loving dullard must return to daura !!!!!!!!!!!!

9. Well said Teejay.
      He won't even win in court. They had it all planned out very well.

2. Story! When rigging jam rigging, one must win naa.

3. Enter your comment...You are free to challenge the election with evidence in a court of law

4. Everyone is moody, truth be told, it was rigged but papa please leave them let them enjoy their next level. God win.

5. Mschwee rubbish. My dear you all rigged, the best rigger simply won. I guess his highness hasn't seen the video circulating of a man thumbprinting on multiple ballot papers under the umbrella. You better accept defeat and move on

6. Ogbeni at this point you are on your own o. Which court do you want to go to? The one being controlled by Bihari or which one?

7. If you like, tear pant. You will never be Nigeria's President.

8. I was just looking at the video of buhari when the result was called he looks tired and old.
    May God's will be done.
    Amin.

1. Lol. He has one foot 6ft below

2. Shooter gyal many young ones like you who mock old age have dropped dead suddenly,a word for the wise

3. And you too will get to that 6ft below.

9. Oga.. Sorry. We d igbos don't fight, we do our best and leave the rest to God.

If you expect us to come out in "large numbers" to protest.. Hehe.. It won't happen sir.

We accept fate easily, we adapt and adjust easily.

We have moved on sire. With long sad facesand fast thinking brains on what next to do.

10. Eku rejection,by the time bigbrother starts everyone will forget about you and move on.

11. Atitku don't waste your money paying lawyers who will keep asking for more money. The judiciary is controlled by Buhari, the military is controlled by Buhari. It's a sorry situation.

12. Gbam!! @PurpleArc. It's not worth it. Moving on...

13. I reject it too. APC is a scam! Buhari is a scammer. He knew he would find his way back through rigging

14. He who must come before equity must come with clean hands
    Atiku are ur hands clean ?
    We all saw video of both apc and pdp rigging
    Buhari has his loyal fans I must say but the best rigger won

15. yen yen yen yen

As if you can ever win Buhari in any type of election in Nigeria

16. Yes! Yes! Yes!!!!! Atiku is in order we CANNOT continue like this!!! If we allow this to pass that's how we would NEVER be able to conduct a free and fair election in this nation. Please Atiku should go to any length for this. This is getting out of hand in this nation. Look at the people that died, where is justice for them? Why would people come out and vote yet you deprive them of the right to choose their leader? Becausr you think you can rig? If we dont get it right now, when is the time? When I ask? We cannot continue like this period! Even if it means forming a parallel govt let it be, enough is enough!!! Tinubu has swallowed Lagos, now like play like play Tinubu has also taken over the whole nation. Aaah God you will forbid this oooo. God please Arise for the sake of your remnants in this nation, please Arise God!

1. Cry me a river. So it is only Buhari that rigged ? Atiku is a saint ba?

17. We have a new president and his name is Osinbanjo. Won't say more than that. 🚶🚶🚶🚶

18. The real electorates have spoken sir, you were deceived by internet warriors who don't come out to vote. Reason you didn't do your homework well. How many states did you go to campaign? The broke politiciaan and wannabe politicians around you (ffk and co) only deceived you and chopped your money.

Sothe elections was rigged in your village and mother's village, in saraki's state, ffk's ward? Etc

Oga, Buhari is not perfect but we trust him.

Please go to court already.

19. He is crying over split milk. who wants to handle the tribunal?

20. Don't mind them the economy will flog them this time around, it has started with the fall in the stock market immediately it was announced that Buhari won

21. Lon hiss.... Bring out your children and your entire to go and protest na...

Check the margin between you both in Katsina and the one in Adamawa.

Katsina:
    APC: 1,232133
    PDP: 308,056
    Difference: 924,077

ADAMAWA
    APC: 378,078
    PDP: 410,266
    difference: 32,188

Now tell why on earth will you and Buhari struggle to win ur own state with just a margin of 32,188?
    Did APC rigged it in ur own state too?
    Why did you lost your own polling unit, your matanal home, and your native village to Buhari I guess Buhari came there to rigged it too abi?

They say charity begins at home, if your own state can not came out in their massive numbers to support you in such race, then u need to check yourself.

1. Omg your grammar is appalling. Horrible

22. Don't call the killer at all. A lot died for him to still be the president. They used sacrifice to get there.

That is why I sorry for people who don't give in church but expect miracles.

I like Muslims they are giver and they can give anything to be where they are.

Christian keep praying. Don't give ooo

23. Oga Atiku ought to known the outcome of previous electoral tribunals. No need to waste more resources on well perfected machinate.

24. They all rigged, but the party that rigged most won.

25. Daddy Atiku Please Am Begging Kindly Let it Go ooo is not the End Of The world.. karma will Caught up with him Soonest,Going to court to waste Money pls Abeg give it to the Poor suffering Masses.And pray for a Better Nigeria..

26. Good you rejected the results, I did too. But as for going to court, please forget, "they" control the judiciary

27. APC do wayo, dem BLOCK ballot box snatching, BLOCK political thugs, dem also take card reader BLOCK rigging.
    Wayo people.