Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Suspended CJN Onnoghen Pleads Not Guilty And Gets Bail On Self-recognizance

Friday, February 15, 2019

Suspended CJN Onnoghen Pleads Not Guilty And Gets Bail On Self-recognizance

The suspended Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Walter Onnoghen, has been docked before the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) over allegations of non-declaration of assets.

He pleaded not guilty to the charge when it was read to him. However, at the resumed hearing today, upon his presence in the tribunal, his lawyer, Chris Uche (SAN) asked that the bench warrant order be discharged with the defendant having appeared voluntarily without the execution of the bench warrant.

Earlier, the tribunal chairman asked Onnoghen to sit down in a chair provided for him inside the dock. “My Lord, sit down”, he said.

However, Onnoghen remained standing, adding, “I thank you for the privilege. When I need it I will sit down.”

He remained standing in dock throughout the proceeding.

After the plea, Onnoghen’s lawyer applied for bail on self-recognizance for his client, to which the tribunal chairman replied, “Granted.” The tribunal adjourned the matter to March 11 for hearing of all pending applications.

From Daily Trust

5 comments:

1. If he finally present himself to be tried, why then the noise all along? What was it all about with the whole drama and resistance?

1. The warrant of arrest is the beginning of wisdom. He recognized that after Atiku’s loss of election, there won’t be anyone to save him from the corruption charges on his head.

2. APC una don see am? What's nex?

3. I have nothing against Buhari, but I keep asking myself why people support him, if the only thing his government did in my life was move fuel from 87 to 145, my monthly light card from 15 to 35k, the purchasing power of my salary from 180 to dollar to 360 to dollar after the escalation of even up to 1 naira to $500, I just wonder on what basis he needs another four years... I feel pained when I see APC campaigning and people supporting them, it just shows people have no conscience in this life. I am convinced that anybody supporting Buhari is directly or indirectly being enriched by this wicked government. Look at the worst governor in Nigeria, okezie Ikpeazu collecting award from DAAR, someone who didnt do a single thing but return all state money to TA ori and himself of course. Collected Paris club funds and paid no salary. Workers and pensioners starving in the state. Because he and his principal TA Orji, knew how they used one Mrs Nwafor a former INEC National commissioner to rig election in 2015, and who they compensated by using his first son for all Abia projects, they are also relying on that than doing any tangible thing for that state. And of course, justice Mary ofili helped in bribing supreme court judges to retain unmerited victory for them. Look at how developed ebony of yesterday is,my pain is you can still eat money and still work for the people but greed wont let them. my prayer is that all these evil leaders who inflict hardship on us this way with no conscience at all, would sleep and not wake up. It will surely happen one day if they dont change except God is not God.