Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Veteran Nollywood Actor Francis Duru Gushes Over Beautiful Wife Adokiye

Sunday, February 24, 2019

Veteran Nollywood Actor Francis Duru Gushes Over Beautiful Wife Adokiye

Nollywood actor Francis Duru is one of the renowned actors in the Nigerian movie industry

He came into prominence after featuring in the 1994 Amaka Igwe’s action movie, ‘Rattlesnake’. While as a student at the University of Port-Harcourt, Francis Duru met his wife, Adokiye, and by the time he was graduating from the university, they already had a baby girl to show for their relationship. The lovebirds married in 2003, and, today, they are blessed with four kids.

Duru narrates what it takes to marry a friend and soul mate. He describes his marriage as one that is made in heaven.

I met my wife while I was an undergraduate at the University of Port-Harcourt. We started dating until I graduated in 1992 and we got married in 2003. I would say I married my friend.

What has changed about her?

Life evolves, so many things would change. Then she was a girl and now she’s a mother. There are psychological and physical changes. A lot has changed about her. As we face the challenges of parenthood, things are bound to change. But the most important thing is that she remains the woman I married 19 years ago.

Sustaining marriage

My wife and I were friends back in our university days and we remain friends till date. We have been able to understand each other’s weaknesses and strengths and tolerate them. But what has made our marriage strong is simply the foundation upon which we built it. Foundation matters in every successful marriage. Most marriages that were not founded on a very strong foundation don’t last. Marriage has its own dynamics; it also has its own ethics. We were well tutored and that’s where parental obligation comes in, spiritual foundation also comes in. We attended the best pre-marital counselling at Family Worship Centre, Abuja, under the watch of the late Pastor Eno Omaku and his wife. We attended the programme and it really helped to enhance our marriage. It laid the foundation for my marriage. Since I married my wife, we have never had marital crisis for one day. We would quarrel one minute and the next minute we have settled our differences. This is because we understand the place of quarrel in marriage. We know how to relate to our family members, in-laws and our friends coupled with the fact that I married my friend. My wife knows me as well as I know her properly. We talk about everything and we don’t do anything to impress people in order to prove a point. That’s the mistake many people make in marriage. That being a celebrity does not stop me from giving the desired attention and mutual respect to my family. It has been a sustaining power for my marriage.

Crashing of marriages

It’s not about celebrity marriages because marriage is marriage. The truth is that nobody has it all, nobody knows it all. But I always advise couples to build a strong spiritual foundation for marriage. It’s very important. People think that marriage is just to come together as husband and wife. No, it is beyond that. Sometimes, things get horrible that one needs spiritual direction to be able to weather the storms associated with marriage.

Early marriage

I didn’t marry at the time I was supposed to marry. But I believe marriage is all about when the couple is mentally ready, not when you are going into marriage because you want to please a particular person. That you married early or late is not important. Rather, what is important is how prepared is your mindset to go into marriage.

Building our relationship on campus

Of course, we sustained our relationship while we were in the university. I was the person that made the first move that we should get married after our graduation. As a matter of fact, we had our first daughter when I was graduating from the university. My wife was in the Theatre Arts Department. So, she shouldn’t have been jealous that other women would snatch me from her. I was already a superstar on campus before I joined Nollywood. There is this tendency that once you are in the entertainment industry, you are to be promiscuous. It’s not so, it’s a mindset thing.

If she’s older than myself

It wouldn’t have changed anything. The most important thing is that, did I really marry someone who loves me and whom I love too? My wife is not an Igbo woman, and I am an Igbo man. You know too well that those of the Igbo extraction, there is always this culture that you must marry an Igbo woman. If that did not come up when I wanted to marry my wife, then age difference shouldn’t have been an issue to us.

Describing wife

She’s a beautiful angel, helper, joyful and happy woman; a gift from God to me.

What has marriage changed about you?

Marriage has made me to be a very responsible person. It has also given me a sense of maturity as well as bringing tremendous respect to me. It has opened new doors for me, in line with the biblical saying that ‘he that finds a wife findeth a good thing and he shall obtain favour from the Lord’. That word ‘favour’ extends to every aspect of our lives. When people know that you are married with kids, they tend to look at you from a different perspective.

How romantic are you?

Romance is relative. If my wife insists that I must eat Amala and that’s what makes her happy, why not? If it means taking her to a five-star restaurant, why not? I will do everything to please her. The whole idea of romance must be an open-ended thing. I believe couples should find out their own way of expressing romance. Every relationship must have an aspect of romance. You return from work and your wife welcomes you home, and the next thing she’s massaging your back and your legs, that’s romance. It’s more or less her own way of expressing deep affection. If she prepares a delicious meal for you and you eat and derives sense of satisfaction, that’s romance. That’s why I said it’s relative.

Wedding day

What I can remember is that Basorge Tariah Jnr. was my best man. When I arrived at the church, lo and behold, my shoes had not been brought to me. Basorge had gone to polish the shoes and never returned before I hurried down to the church. I had to wait until he brought my shoes.

What wife hates

Sometimes, I have the tendency to shout, and when I do, she has a way of making me to realize what I have done.

From Vanguardngr

41 comments:

1. Beautiful family.

I like Francis a lot. He's also a romantic actor.

1. Francis make we hear word abeg. I remember what she did to you in Uniport. Someone that burnt your project work all because she saw you and a female student. She never gave you peace in Uniport so how you ended up with her is still a mystery to most of us. There was even a gist on campus then that she always beat you. You were the woman then, while she was the man. Them no born you were the Ikwere girl dey

2. Haaaa world people abeg throw gist oo

3. Hahahahaha she truly resemble man.

4. Adokiye no b ikwerre name liar

2. Nice one. He sounds very matured and responsible. May God continue to bless their beautiful home

3. Rattles snake my all time favourite nollywood movie.

Congrats Francis, you really got your family together and a soulmate.

Amaka Igwe was an icon.

4. Francis heeenn 😃 when d 3 kids were small he used 2 hide his family as people were laughing at him.
    He said he don't know how his wife bore such creatures, wen d last one came he became happier, marriage come blend. They fight for years he never was seen in public with Adokiye.
    Before before na so so fight with wife.she senior Fancis with 4 years, used Portharcourt juju wash his head. As belle show he was forced to marry her.
    Pidgin knacking things..

1. Oshey baddest. Reporter of the universe. Radio without battery. I hail sir/ma.

2. Everything is not juju my dear. I have lots of younger guys coming at me for relationship, and when i tell them i am older, they be like "age is just a number".
      If two ADULTS love each other, age shouldn't be a thing of consideration.
      On the part of cute kids; everyone needs to consider their children when getting married. Marry a man or woman that will complement you, don't comman be hiding children who didn't ask to be born.

3. 🤣🤣🤣! Bia SDK....I fear your BVNs o

4. Chai see HIS 101,history of Francis and wife! BV's and Intel are 5&6🤔🤔🤔🤔

5. He was living with a girl in school for yrs,I think she went for some program or she went for nysc before you could say jack Robinson he present wife became pregnant,

6. 😂😂😂😂😂😂.
      Chaiiii SDK beefees I hail.
      Was already thinking. Awwww what a lovely story. Not knowing.....

5. 1st Ahana in rattle snake

6. Wonderful actor , lovely interview. God bless you both.

7. A bv once said this dude is very rude.

1. More like very strict/disciplined

2. He was extremely polite when I met him. We asked him what happened to Ahanna from rattlesnake and all..... He was very chatty and polite. No air around him.
      Maybe age made him better. Who knows🤷‍♀️

8. Is the wife older?

1. How will knowing that help fix your miserable life?

2. Ahannna Ahanna👍👍👍. The story was just too Deep

3. The way people insult on this blog ehn is alarming.

4. Anon

The whole thing tire person

Na was
      Make we take am.easy

9. This guy sef. A friend of mine saw him wearing a very nice suit. He said it was 50k. The guy sent 50k to this Francis. Na so the money enter voicemail. Francis, this happened years ago. Return the guy's money or you send the suit... Oops the suit is outdated I guess. Return the money osiso.

10. The name Adokiye rings a bells... yes stella's blog boo. Been a while SDK featured her

11. Beautiful, I love Francis Duru 🙌😊

12. I don't like his movies but I like his response in the interview.

13. No mind them. Insult na their way of life & na this same set of people de analyze who get bad character .Just simple question or honest comment,na abuse dem go take reply u.. Brilliant actor .

14. His wife’s name reminded me of that virgin musician, Adokiye. Where that one dey sef?

15. Adokiye is a very amiable lady and a great cook too. She used to cater for me before in Abuja

16. There's nothing wrong with this children, is it because the girls are not fair in complexion. This kind of mentality is why lot of mothers are killing their children with FunbactA.

Rubbish

17. Wonderful family.

18. As long as you both are happy, GOD bless your home .