Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Court Orders Actress Monalisa Chinda’s Arrest Over Tax Evasion

Monday, March 04, 2019

Court Orders Actress Monalisa Chinda’s Arrest Over Tax Evasion

A Lagos High Lagos in Igbosere has issued a bench warrant for the arrest of actress and producer, Monalisa Chinda Coker, over a tax evasion charge.

Justice Adedayo Akintoye made the order on January 21, following an application by the Lagos State Ministry of Justice, alleging that Coker had repeatedly failed to honor a court summons.

The application flowed from a two-count charge accusing Coker of a six-year failure to file annual tax returns and failure to pay income tax in respect of her company, Monalisa Code Productions.

Monalisa Code Productions carries on its business from Lekki in Lagos.

Prosecution counsel, Y. A. Pitan told Justice Akintoye that Coker had not appeared in court since 2017, when the charge was filed against her.

“The defendant has been served with hearing notice. The proof of service is in the court’s file,” Pitan said, while making an application for the bench warrant.

Granting the application, Justice Akintoye adjourned further proceedings till February 2. But on February 2, the court heard that the bench warrant had yet to be effected.

It ordered that the warrant should continue and adjourned till April 1.

From the nation

21 comments:

1. She's so beautiful . When Ikwerre girls want to be pretty eh, they go all the way through .

1. Agreed; very beautiful.
      And when they want to part legs asunder, it is like motor park gates.

2. Awon ndi shop rite doors..

3. Wow. We all see things differently. I have never thought of her as beautiful, not even close. But like I said, we all see with different eyes.

4. Exactly
      She has an impeccable skin but minus that, I see her as a regular chick.

2. Hi Mona Lisa. Na today? @Blessed Princess

3. The tax business people pay in the Lagos Is something else especially the igbos!!...
    We keep winning...
    The more they try to frustrate us,the more we keep soaring highhhhhh!...

1. No be small, give us sea port and standard airport and see if we will still remain here.

Our state governors should work together and get these things done, the insults is getting too much.

2. Nigeria can never be great with this kind of mindset from everybody from leaders to grass root. I wish we can all eschew tribalism, racism and work together in love!

3. Anon 11:53 , I believe this your message should be directed to Tinubu that hired Agberos in Lagos to attack IGBOs who did Nothing wrong and seriously, we need to divide Nigeria so this Nonsense can stop

4. why are they not targeting the Indian companies in nigeria?
    They pay peanut as tax and bribe the tax agents to look the other way.

1. Is it NOT TINUBU and co ????? Their beef for Igbo will kill them !!!!

2. Anon 15:20 it's because of people with mindset like you that's why Nigeria is the way it is. You attach sentiments, e.g religion and tribalism to everything. So if it were Bukky wright that was sued it woulf be ok cause she's Yoruba right? If Messi and Christiano Ronald can be sued for tax evasion, why not our Nigerian Celebs? Abeg una matter taya me!
      And by the way, Monalisa is from PH not Igbo.

5. why are they not targeting the Indian companies in nigeria?
    They pay peanut as tax and bribe the tax agents to look the other way.

6. She should honor the invitation

7. Na this one dey reign now o.. Going after some perceived big names for tax fraud. Na now FIRS wake up Abj?? everything is abused in this country. They are now using this as a money making venture instead of doing their job normally. Everybody dey find settlement. It's appalling.

8. Na wa....o,this people are out for celebrities

9. So it's ok for 8 to 4 workers to pay taxes but celebs that make millions should not pay, then some turn it Into tribalism saying igbos are targeted, I am sorry for us in this country, we deserve the leaders we get.

1. I swear down! Nigerians are too fucking sentimental that's why corruption and baf leadership will continue to thrive because we don't like to do the right thing and when someone tries,they accuse the person of witchhunt.