Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Federal Government Closes Case Against CJN Onnoghen After 3 Witnesses

Friday, March 22, 2019

Federal Government Closes Case Against CJN Onnoghen After 3 Witnesses

The Federal Government, on Thursday, closed its case against the suspended Chief Justice of Nigeria, CJN, Justice Walter Onnoghen, after it produced only three witnesses that testified before the Code of Conduct Tribunal, CCT.

Though FG initially expressed its intention to produce a total of six witnesses to substantiate all the allegations it levelled against the embattled CJN, however, shortly after the third witness was discharged, the prosecution counsel told the tribunal that it would be unnecessary to call further witnesses.

The prosecution counsel, Mr. Aliyu Umar, SAN, told the tribunal that the defendant was at liberty to summon any of the listed but uncalled witnesses to testify on his behalf if he so wished.

He was immediately overruled by the CCT Chairman, Mr. Danladi Umar, even as Onnoghen’s lawyer, Chief Adegboyega Awomolo, SAN, rejected the offer.

The case was subsequently adjourned till next week Friday for hearing of the no-case application by the embattled CJN, as well as for adoption of the final written addresses.

From vanguard

19 comments:

1. I dont understand what this people are doing,dancing upandan

1. Why didn't they bring all six witnesses if truly they have a good case at hand? Which prosecutor will leave a stone unturn to prove a point and nail his opponent?.

They stopped at three because they know they goofed on this matter. Their initial charges were all lies hence the need they withdrew the other testifiers.

2. APC knew from onset that they will rig the election knowing fully well that the masses are suffering. So they removed him so that Justice will not be served if Atiku take them to court

2. Stella with the way this case is going, this man could be discharged and acquitted without any crime found against him. Where is that self acclaimed 'political anonymous' that lied about Justice Walter Onnoghen possessing fiftyfive houses and billions of money stash in foreign currencies over different countries? Hasn't it been proven that the embattled Justice has only five houses, which one among them was a gift from the federal government. If we are to go by this, that means it is just four houses he has. So why the lies from the federal government before now that guilible Nigerians fell for?

Stella there is a new development on this case on the last hearing. The federal government has a poor case on this man I can strongly tell you that.

The ex CCB chairman rightly proved that there are three stages in verifying access declaration and all three stages hasn't been met. So I wonder why the federal government decided to place the cart before the horse. We are watching closely. *continue sipping my zobo*

1. Madam Vertu device told you Political Anonymous is Festus Otobo Keya amu.. rest the attention you give him by calling him to respond, as he returned back to his chambers the day rigged results got announced..
      The celebration is past and over that's the reason why he exited. You won't find his comments anymore dear bro teejay.

2. It’s quite sad, which way Naija. Will he been reinstated?

3. Don’t mind them Teejay. They weren’t able to prove any of those spurious figures they were churning out then. The effect of the harm this people have done to our democracy will not be understood now.

4. A retired Director at the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB), Awal Yakassai, on Thursday, testified as a witness in the ongoing trial of the suspended Chief Justice of Nigeria, Justice Walter Onnoghen.

Yakassai told the Danladi Umar led three-man panel of the Code of Conduct Tribunal that contrary to what was alleged in the media, the suspended CJN owned only five houses.

He said it was not true that CCB investigators linked the ownership of 55 houses to the defendant.

The witness made the disclosure after he was shown copies of Justice Onnoghen’s asset declaration forms, which the Federal Government tendered in evidence before the CCT.

The embattled CJN was said to have submitted the forms marked as Exhibit 2 and 3, to the CCB in 2014 and 2015.

Answering questions under cross-examination, Yakassai told the tribunal that he served at the CCB for 29 years before he retired in April 2018.

He said the CCB was yet to verify Justice Onnoghen’s assets with a view to finding out if he made false declarations.

Holding the two documents in his hand while responding to a question from Onnoghen’s lawyer, Adegboyega Awomolo, the witness said: “My lord, according to exhibit 2 and 3, the defendant has only five buildings and not 55.”

Awomolo noted that one of the five buildings was given to the defendant by the federal government itself.

Continuing his testimony, the witness, told the tribunal that verification columns on Onnoghen’s two asset declaration forms were still empty.

He said: “As indicated here, the column for verified assets have not been signed as at today”, adding that it was standard practice at the CCB that returned asset declaration forms must pass through three stages of verification.

“My lord we have three stages of verification, the first is at the time of submission of forms, the second is what we called conference verification whereby we invite the person. And the third is physical verification of the assets.

“Until these three stages are completed, we cannot say that the assets have been verified”.

5. Anonymous 10:52 I didn't read the comment where she made that remark. Are you serious on that lolzzz.

Now let's read another angle from another Nigerian on this issue.

A CCB ex director testified today in court over the Onnoghen case.

Under cross examination, he said that CJN Onnoghen owns only five houses and not 55 houses as was alleged.

He also said that the CCB has not verified the assets of Onnoghen before he was charged to court and that the verification column of Onnoghen’s CCB Asset Declaration Forms are still empty.

He admitted that Onnoghen was charged to court before it was even verified that he committed any infraction.

You will also remember that an earlier CCB official had said that Onnoghen had no foreign account but he only had one domiciliary account.

The level of wickedness perpetuated against this man is nonpareil.

The Buhari govt hates this man and brought him out, told lies against him, disgraced him and charged him to court even before investigations over his asset were yet to commence.

Today also, the bankers of Onnoghen released details of his domiciliary account and the account shows that Onnoghen as at January 2019 when he was accused of the Buhari govt of being a thief, that his balance was $56,000 .

That money is not up to N17million .

Not only his bankers, the witness for the prosecution, PW3, testified and said that Onnoghen has only one domiciliary account which he opened in Abuja, and that it was not a foreign account.

See injustice.

And from the evidence released by his bankers, the dollars in the Domiciliary account are loans he got from the govt which he used his shares and govt guarantees to secure. It is not even his money per se.

On the purported admission, the evidence here is that in 2005, he swore a CCB form.

Then in 2016 when he was made CJN, he was reminded that he need a new form and he admitted that he forgot to swear a new form, and he swore the new Assets Declaration Form. That is why they have two forms for him.

It is not even a crime under section 3 of the law.
      No wonder Onnoghen refused to resign and said that he must go into trial.

You find less than 17million in the account of the Chief Justice of the country and you went to town to call the man a thief.

If I were the lawyer to Onnoghen, I will file a no case submission and if the case is dismissed, I will commence a case of malicious prosecution against the federal government and anybody responsible for that useless trial.

This is evil.

This is wickedness.

Yet Buhari is said to be a man of integrity.

As I said earlier, Buhari and the word integrity should not be in the same sentence unless if the word ‘NOT’ is separating them.

6. The people that removed him should be taken to court asap. Teejay thanks for your input

3. I am pleading with the govt that will succeed this present govt to frustrate him n drag him through the lire.

4. Buhari is just very corrupt and lacks integrity. Fake ass liar of man. Made up lies to remove this man,put his own man in and then closed the case. So obvious

5. Dear Bvs, our leaders are so so playing us. I bet it with you all that the CJN will be found not guilty and he will resign immediately. What that tells me is that a deal has been struck. A win win for both side.

I think the testimony of the witness is so so watery and in my opinion adds nothing to the case of the prosecution. And I know they know

It's all about acting the script
    Did you notice that Wole Olanipekun is no more in the case? Are you aware that he is the lead counsel for the Buhari team in the election petition case?
    Onoghen's case has been settled all u see now is drama.

1. Exactly, I noticed that too about Olanipekun. In law there is what we called 'Prima facie'. This hasn't been established by the prosecution as we can rightly see but the government had already sentenced the embattled chief justice guilty medially with trump up charges embedded on lies and falsehood. I share same view with you @ the win win for both sides deal reached. But one question to be asked is, will the embattled justice allowed this humiliation, disgrace and desecration of the judiciary to go unchallenged?

*continue sipping my zobo*

6. Dear Bvs, our leaders are so so playing us. I bet it with you all that the CJN will be found not guilty and he will resign immediately. What that tells me is that a deal has been struck. A win win for both side.

I think the testimony of the witness is so so watery and in my opinion adds nothing to the case of the prosecution. And I know they know

It's all about acting the script
    Did you notice that Wole Olanipekun is no more in the case? Are you aware that he is the lead counsel for the Buhari team in the election petition case?
    Onoghen's case has been settled all u see now is drama.

7. There’s a compromise.the cjN himself didn’t deny the charges ,he said he forgot to declare them. Is he not the same person that said it was proceeds from his farm in Nasarawa state. The NJC that queried him was suppose to meet in 7 days time since February,it’s over a month now,they have been silent. There’s a plea bargain, a compromise.do you think the cjN would want to loose those billions and 55 houses all because of atiku that lost the election.he thought atiku would win . He’s going back to the Supreme Court to do the dirty work for APC now that Atiku has gone to court.the man is guilty has charged so also the NJC members, they played into the hands of APC.

1. Where did you get your information of 55 houses and billions? Didn't you read the prosecution witness statement yesterday? Even the five account of the justice was laid bare yesterday, where the opening balance and current balance was given out. Please get updated with happenings before commenting on sensitive issues like this.

8. naija, theatre of the absurd

9. Most of you just make comments without understanding the write up. It's a shame.
    If you don't understand, why making comments. Try and ask questions before coming online to disgrace yourself.