Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Gala Seller Who Gave Away All His Wares To Prisoners Has Been Blessed With Own Store...

Sunday, March 24, 2019

Gala Seller Who Gave Away All His Wares To Prisoners Has Been Blessed With Own Store...

This is the present reality of a Ibere Ugochukwu, though being a gala seller on the streets of Lagos who decided to render help to some prisoners 

The prisoners were being transported in a Nigerian Prison Force van heading to Ikoyi Prison but were stuck in traffic.
An act of kindness which was witnessed by someone in traffic in Lagos, who shared it online made him an internet sensation.

Here is his story according to the Humans of New York, an online platform

“A few years ago I worked as an apprentice in a cosmetics shop. I was supposed to receive a payment at the end of my term. But I was warned by the other employees that the owner would find a reason not to pay me. He’d always invent reasons to fire his boys right before their payment. So I made the decision to quit. But when I told him, he dragged me to the police. He told them lies about me. He told them I’d stolen so much money. And they tortured me. They tied my hands and legs and they hung me from the ceiling. They beat me. I went deaf from all the slaps.

For ten days I was given no food. My fellow prisoners would share little bits of their meals when they were finished. But some days I saw nothing. Honestly I was about to die. And I started to pray to God. And on the tenth day, the guards decided that it would cause too much trouble to let me die. They told my employer: After what we did to him, he must be innocent. Because he’d have confessed if he was guilty.

They released me into the world like a madman. And I’ve carried the memory ever since. I promised myself that if I ever found someone in a similar situation, I would help. So when I learned that prisoners pass down this road, I chose to hawk in this location. I waited until I finally saw the truck, and I pushed all my food through the bars. My fellow vendors couldn’t believe it. They asked me who would pay me for the food. I told them: ‘I didn’t do it for any man. I did it because of what God did for me''.

Ibere hopes to enter the seminary one day. He’s selling food to save money for this goal, as well as to support his family back in the village. In the meantime he wants to open his own shop selling foodstuffs. Alongside the donations from inspired Nigerians who heard his story, $3000 was given to him

22 comments:

1. Finally, one Nigerian man wey dey good at heart.
    Men are scum. 😁😁😁😁

1. Heros do not wear capes, I love compassionate people mehn, now the heavens have smiled upon him, his fomer boss should be ashamed

2. Compassion pays more than anything in this life. Kindness

3. Waooooooooooooo

I love this

2. the more you give, the more you are given. its a natural law.

there was a set up somewhere though...

come to think bout it, there are still several innocent prisoners out there..

3. I remember this story. Such a genuine,kind guy. May God continue to bless him.

4. I love this!!!!
    I remember his story.

5. It pays to do good always especially if you have been there before

6. Blessed is the hand that giveth. May God continue to bless him.

7. His experience has changed his mentality rather than being evil jos decided to be good and has earned a reward.

8. The reward of good deeds. This gladens my heart

9. Touching,may God continue to bless him

10. God who sees in secret rewards openly.

11. What goes around comes around ...learn to give out givers never lack well thank God for you dude

12. Awww.... So touching. God bless this man plenty plenty.

13. Givers never lack...
    Act of kindness works wonders..

14. I love this.
    May he make progress

15. Woww... This is so touching.
    God blesses those who are merciful, for they will be shown mercy.
    Matthew 5:7 NLT