Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Elder Tanko Says Embattled Former CJN Onnoghen’s Conviction Was Scripted

Tuesday, April 23, 2019

Elder Tanko Says Embattled Former CJN Onnoghen’s Conviction Was Scripted

Na wah!!!

Elder statesman, Malam Tanko Yakasai, has faulted the conviction by the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT) of former Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN), Walter Samuel Nkanu Onnoghen.

In a statement yesterday, he maintained that the ex-CJN’s ordeal, prompted by petitioner Dennis Aghanya, was politically motivated.

Juxtaposing the pace at which the Federal Government prosecuted Onnoghen with that of erstwhile Secretary to the Government of the Federation (SGF), Babachir David Lawal, the senior citizen accused President Muhammadu Buhari of double standards, insisting that the anti-corruption campaign was targeted at perceived enemies of his administration.

He said: “It will be recalled that the matter started with a petition written to the Code of Conduct Bureau (CCB) by a political gladiator called Dennis Aghanya on January 7, 2019.

“The man was a political associate of President Muhammadu Buhari from their days in the defunct Congress for Progressive Change (CPC) in which the president was the candidate while Aghanya was national publicity secretary.

“After the collapse of the CPC into what we now know as the All Progressives Congress (APC) under which platform General Muhammadu Buhari became Nigeria’s president, Dennis Aghanya has been in the corridors of power.

“The man wrote his petition on January 7, which he submitted to the CCB, after two days. It took the CCB only two days to investigate all the allegations the man made against Hon. Justice Walter Onnoghen and concluded the investigation, and forwarded the matter to the Code of Conduct Tribunal (CCT).

“It took the CCT one day to prepare their charges against Justice Onnoghen. He was asked to appear before the Tribunal in a matter of six days from the first day the petition was written to the CCB.”

The elder statement further alleged that the whole scenario was scripted to achieve a pre-determined end.

From Daily Post

14 comments:

1. Who doesn't know it was scripted for self serving interest and purposes? I read an interview given by a Senior Advocate of Nigeria and couldn't have agree less with him. Now read what he had said about the case of the embattled CJN

Umeh who spoke with Daily Sun yesterday on the implication of the trial and conviction of former Chief Justice of Nigeria (CJN) Justice Walter Onnoghen by the CCT  condemned the process and procedure that lead to the judgment.

The lawyer who was among Justice Onnoghen’s legal team faulted the judgment of the CCT which he maintained had some political coloration as it was not based on any legal principle.

According to him, ” the trial of the former CJN has nothing to do with fighting corruption as it was purely politically motivated.

“You can’t fight corruption when you have a corrupt intention. The trial was ill-intended aimed at achieving a political goal and not a national goal.

” Corruption should be fought for the purpose of eradicating corruption and for achieving a predetermined political agenda.

” The rule of law was thrown to the dustbin at the tribunal and the judgment is most unfortunate and collaboration to the fact of achieving a predetermined goal.

“From the formulation to trial, arraignment, wherein court orders were thrown to the dustbin and judgment which was based on no evidence known to law show that the whole act was set at a point of no-return. Like a plane, once it gets to its final acceleration, there is no going back.

” The political motive was set at a point of no return. It does not matter how the soul of the nation bleeds, however the constitution, democracy and judiciary is thrown to the mud as all that was at stake was the political interest.

” But what to an extent can a country grow when individual political interest supersedes national interest. That is why Nigeria which is the 6th largest producer of oil does not have a refinery,” Ume lamented.

Umeh expressed fear that “soon, the constitutional provision for the recall of elected members of the National Assembly who are in the opposition political parties will be thrown into dustbin and the CCT will be used to recall them by their constituencies.

1. ๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘๐Ÿ‘
      Oya wey them?

2. Castle, you won't see them for they have no defence. They only choose comment that suit them to comment and attack. The one that claimed to be learned ran away yesterday when I challenged him to an argument on the post of Atiku clarifying his nativity. He thinks it's all about dropping big grammar. Could you imagine he insulted a PhD holder but couldn't defend a point I raised to him.

3. Teejay we just no longer have time for your stupidity to reply u so u can stew in your own ignorance

4. That Dennis Aghanya deserves to be stoned... Enemies every where, God please deliver us from this kind of enemy.

Mao Akuh

2. Even the blind knows it's a script written by jihadist Buhari,acted by Efcc and Umar Danladi.

3. Aptly put๐Ÿ‘Œ. The speed and alacrity with which it all happened calls for questioning. The Buhari administration is like a wounded 'bulldog' hunting for perceived political foes. A nation governed by nepotist and tribalist.

4. Scripted or not thevl CJN allowed himself fall into the trap.

5. Why did he attend Dubai meeting

1. The CJN admitted his error or was he part of the script from the day he became the CJN to conceal some truth in his asset declaration. If the answer is no then was no script but a prompt action to correct the the judiciary before he ruined things the more.

6. I don’t doubt that it was scripted. I also don’t doubt that the fight against corruption is a one sided fight. Procedure and all, hasty and due process wasn’t followed but it was coming to that verdict no matter what anybody says. Onnoghen said he forgot to declare those monies. The number judicial officer? Come on!

7. We the smart people, know this.