Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: FG Implores Court To Mandate Arrest Of Innoson Chairman

Tuesday, April 16, 2019

FG Implores Court To Mandate Arrest Of Innoson Chairman

The Federal Government on Monday, April 15 urged the Federal High Court in Lagos to issue a bench warrant against Innoson Nigeria Limited’s Chairman, Innocent Chukwuma and two of his employees.

They were charged with alleged fraud before Justice Ayokunle Faji.

The police charged them with an alleged N2.4 billion shipping fraud, but the Attorney-General of the Federation later took over the matter.

Others named in the charge are Charles Chukwuma, Maximian Chukwura, Mitsui Osk Lines and Anajekwu Sunny.

The prosecution is praying the court to order the arrest of Innoson Motors Chairman and his workers for failing to take their pleas in a criminal charge.

Chukwuma and his employees were not in court yesterday.

However, the prosecuting counsel, Julius Ajakaiye, moved an application for the court to order the arrest of the defendants.

The lawyer said the charge was served on them through a court-ordered February 8, 2016, substituted service, following the AGF’s take-over of the matter.

He said since then, the third and fourth defendants had been coming to court, while the first, second and fifth defendants “have refused, failed and neglected to appear in court till date”.

Ajakaiye said the defendants were yet to take their pleas and should be compelled to appear.

The lawyer added that an April 12, 2016, amended charge could not be served on the absent defendants.

He urged the court to grant his application by ordering their arrest.

But defence counsel – George Uwechue and Prof. C. Mbadugha – prayed the court to dismiss the application.

They argued that the court lacked jurisdiction to issue the warrant against the defendants “because they were not properly before the court”.

The lawyers said the application contradicted Order 6 of the Federal High Court Civil Procedure Rules, adding that there was no proper service on their clients.

The prosecution accused the defendants of conspiring to unlawfully falsify shipping clearance documents.

They were also accused of “uttering” (presenting) the allegedly falsified shipping documents as collateral to Guaranty Trust Bank Plc to allegedly obtain a loan of N2.4 billion.

The Federal Government claimed that the defendants committed the offence at Apapa Wharf, Lagos, on October 10, 2013.

The alleged offence is contrary to sections 1(2) (c) and 3(6) of the Miscellaneous Offences Act, Cap M17, Laws of the Federation 2004.

Justice Faji adjourned till July 3 for the ruling.
from 1stnews.

32 comments:

1. teejay thé grammar master must comment here in defence of his master.

1. Anonymous you think saying that will stop me from commenting? You know I was gonna comment the truth, so you want to play a mind game on me not to drop my comment but you failed, for I already did.

2. Come shut the mouth up, please! Stupid!

3. What do you mean Castle? What’s wrong with you? Can’t people comment? Who made you an authority here. Shior. Na you sabi tell people to shut up. Something do your head?

4. This anon get you teejay. Your comment below no get any truth men. You didn’t even read the post well to digest the content. And your so-called ‘truth’ looks too one-sided. Pad it better.

5. This comment has been removed by a blog administrator.

6. Shut up anon! Shut up Jackie! Shut your trap!

7. You people supporting anonymous 07:43 are insane. So it was right to spew thrash about me and not have someone to shut him or her up? Castle thanks a lot. Jackie who couldn't show his face when the shit from his incompetent president hit his face suddenly reappeared on this post hahahahaha

8. Wow! I have always and will always be here, mr grammar student. No shit from any president has ever hit my face. Rather, it is on you. You will torture yourself ranting and making irrelevant noise for four more years. That’s the shit on your face. Apart from your grammar shit, your lies and poor analysis feed your empty stomach everyday. You have not defended your recent lie about el Rufai. We are still waiting. Or your extremely daft sense of political analysis of comparing Saraki as a smarter politician than Tinubu. That’s the shit rubbing on your face that I am talking about. For as long as I remain on this blog, not your baby clueless and ignorant comments will push sound thoughts aside. I will continue to school you on how to address issues with soundness, based on sound methodical insights. Check the dictionary if you don’t know what that means. Not the VILE versus VIE you typed below. Or your use of ‘theirselves’ 😂 I hope you haven’t forgotten that. As for the one barking ‘shut up’ there, I have no time for your new sense of vocabulary. Is that construction your new nightmare? If not, learn to use it appropriately.

9. Shit in your trap, you littering this comment section with ‘shut up’

10. 10.53 u must be crazy aswear!🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣🤣 it's raining "shut up"!
      @Castle come and shut d mouth up na make i see😏. Teejays voltron.
      yeye dey smell!

11. Jackie ko, Jackie ni. You better zip it and stop following TJ upandan. See epistle on top of what exactly?

12. Stella's blog is not an English class or forum. If your sole purpose is to come and pick on a person's errors, then you are a bully. Let people express themselves as they so wish, eod.

2. Na wa... O, what has this man really done

3. This drama is getting serious.... Last time it was Innoson getting a supreme court judgment against GTB over 8billion naira debt.

Today, the Federal government is ordering for his arrest through the court. I hope all these happening isn't by any means trying to frustrate Innoson judgment against GTB?

Innoson should go for his case and if he is innocent he will be vindicated but if not, he will face his punishment. This is my candid opinion in this.

1. Frustrate Innoson’s judgement against GTB you say? Did you see the date of the proceedings? Where is it mentioned that the FG is ordering for his arrest? The FAg is SEEKING from the court not ordering. These are two different things, Mr English. Did you see since when the case started? Why has he refused to honour the court for over two years now on a serious allegation against him? Himself and two other accomplices. But he wants another to give him the way out to his request right? You can’t eat your cake and have it. That’s what this man wants.

2. Supreme Court judgement? You must be off your meds.

3. 09:00 so you didn't read when supreme court gave that verdict at Ibadan? Obviously almost all the blogs refused to blog it so I understand why you are uninformed about it. A simple search on Google will help you.

4. @anonymous 8:32am. Well I wouldn't go to a court that is federal government motivatated. Who has trust in the Nigerian System anyways ? When they are all influenced by money and what not. Please!

5. Thank you anon 8:32. I see that he couldn’t respond to your comment. God bless you.

6. Now look at the tweet of FFK shortly after the Supreme court verdict.

"Last year I warned my aburo Segun Agbaje, the former MD of GTB, about allowing himself to be used against Innoson Motors by the barbarians. Now the bank has been taken over by Innoson and Segun has lost his job,his reputation and his name and he has been taken to the cleaners." - F.F Kayode.

He still went further to say;

" I have known the MD of GTB, Segun Agbaje and his two older brothers, Femi and Jimi, for close to 40 years. I urge him not to expose himself to the shark infested waters of politics by allowing himself to be used by these barbarians to destroy Innoson. If he does he will regret it."

"Why should anybody be surprised about the arrest of the owner of Innoson motors? They did the same to Cletus Ibeto about a year ago. These people come from the "wrong" part of the country and they are providing a service and employment for Nigerians. They must be punished for it!" 

7. How did Innoson take over the GTBank please. Segun Agbaje the former MD?

4. They should leave inno alone na

1. They should also leave Anenih and Shina Rambo alone.

2. Mr president andFG leave igbos alone.

5. Innoson, GTB, FG drama, abeeg let the man keep producing cars and quit killing people's dreams. Drag Dangote et Al too. Are they all saints. One 9ja

6. All these drama is another way of frustrating the supreme Court judgement. Either way, we are all Nigerians the trio of Innoson, F.G and GTbank will find a way to drag the supreme Court judgement further.... In this case it might take another 10years! This is Nigeria, anything goes.. Our judicial system is freaking porous and everybody (including the Fed. Govt) will naturally take advantage.

1. Thank you!!! God bless you Stan. If you were a woman I would have go on my kneels and propose to you this minute. They know what they are doing to frustrate the supreme court judgment. Nigerians aren't daft on happenings going on. Last last GTB will pay the debt or do they have another court to upturn supreme court verdict?

2. Ignorant TJ, how are you sure GTbank is owing Innoson? Were you there when the transaction took place? Oga ITK, biko read that information above. Do not allow tribal sentiments becloud your sense of reasoning...e kwusiam ka oha m na onu.

7. Hand of Esau but the voice of Jacob. GTB pls pay up.

1. Remember it was this same case that made EFCC slapped the wife of Innoson at his Enugu residence and picked up Innoson with boxer and singlet to Abuja.

If the supreme court case was against Innoson, by now I can imagine the heat that would have been on him to pay the debt.