Stella Dimoko Korkus.com: Nigerian History....

Friday, April 26, 2019

Nigerian History....

Wealthy Igbo women with ivory anklets (1940)...

from Nigerian facts on twitter.....

33 comments:

1. These are not Igbo women

1. Read your history notes dear ..they are igbo women and to get that leg bracelet was a high honour ..at that time there was no Tura and emily millionaire cream or horsetail wig ..just raw beauty

2. Emily millionaire, my late grandma's beauty store item. Ultra sheen relaxer, Blue Band, Planter butter,
      Bintu, Six flower, Uku cream, Stella pomade, Simba cream, Tetmosol soap, Rpberts soap, Crusader tube and soap, Dan fulani scent, Deemovate cream and Gel, Mercury soap, Joy soap, Similac baby food, Ribina, Moon and star powder, Saturday night powder, Imerial soap, Sixth scent, Mosquito coil, Limica, Dry
      Gin Ginger Ale, Greensand sandy drink, Alabukun powder, etc memory lane express.

3. πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚πŸ˜‚what and what did you steal from amongst those?

2. Wow!my grandmother had those,never knew it was a sign of wealth.

1. Hahahahahahhahahah....hope u inherited them??

2. They cost close to a million and above these days depending on the grade I think. Worn only if you are initiated into the otu odu society in Onitsha and Obosi. I don’t know of other places.

3. Yu are correct... Otu Odu Onitsha to be precise... Now its much more modernized and elegantly worn...

3. Damn, those look heavy...but with style.

4. Igbo women are hard working and great Hustlers since Adam

1. In fact they are the only women in the world who work hard

2. Really?? you try

5. This comment has been removed by the author.

6. So its true that Ibos don't use to wear clothes in those days. See their mama olowos tying only wrapper on their chests in 1940 when my grandma was wearing complete iro and buba. Nawa

1. And where has your iro and buba taken you to?
      This was 1940 for goodness sake...20 years before independence. You expected them to wear Gucci and Fendi to show they were civilized.

Iron and Buba were your cultural clothes and not Igbos'. Therefore, live and let's live OK.

2. Anon, if not for Lagos oh their story will remain the same.

7. Ndi "Lolo" Given to them by their wealthy husbands.

Igbo Amaka 😎

8. Wow!!!!These are wealthy women?
    This life eh!!!! The only thing one needs is God
    Vanity upon vanity

9. Me too my grandma still wears them. It was given to her as an iyom

10. When people lived in peace without looking at your neighbor as a witch or wizard. Those days without big walls or fence yet no one looked for his fowl or goat.

11. The women here are not even looking wealthy

12. Igbo women are chubby especially during the date in question. Not even one of these women is.

1. Not all o. My mum and her late sisters are slim like these ladies even after having so many kids. Na slim ones dey do 'Oru Ugbo' wella as them no dey tire.

2. They werent chubby. They were petite and slim due to a combo of hardwork and childhood malnutrition.

Chubby only started when we started sitting on our asses.

Those anklets are ivory. My mum wants them,i ll get her some this year.cant see the need for it myself

3. They werent chubby. They were petite and slim due to a combo of hardwork and childhood malnutrition.

Chubby only started when we started sitting on our asses.

Those anklets are ivory. My mum wants them,i ll get her some this year.cant see the need for it myself

13. Those things are pure Ivory. Very heavy and expensive. Till date titled women wear it in my place. Iyom

14. this is what they call "ichi ozo"